I called it the UFO building. Luckily the world wun bother abt our NDP parade...otherwise it'd be very embrassing to those who have friends overseas.Originally posted by FireIce:spaceship?
My God, so expensive and yet it was built by foreign contractor.Originally posted by crazy monkey:even AntKF building cost 21 million only. knn how they spent 200 million on such a structure ?![]()
Well... Self study should be OK, but not until those teens take out MP3 player and play loud music... And keep the place clean.. I mean those eraserOriginally posted by LazerLordz:The main aim of a library is for people to sit down, check out some books for either pleasure, study or work.
Since when do libraries chase students out for doing work?This is going against the hallmark of a place that is supposed to be a repository of learning and knowledge.
NLB, please learn more about the definition of a library before you even ask for such a extravagant waste of money, if it is spent to be a display and lacks a soul, and a heart for learning, not to be chased away fom your books.
Too grand? Maybe, but, for books... I dunno...Originally posted by 798:i dun mind if the new library is big... but the new building looks too grand liao.
my only wish is they can setup more study areas for students.
Sorry... Last time in 1980's, even contractor give low bids, job can be done properly... Now is because times are really bad, govt dun pay contractor in a prompt time, now made worst with the 5 day banking transcation for cheque transcationOriginally posted by ditzy:Remember what happened the last time underground works went to the near lowest bidder?![]()
Haiz, even if it looks grand, and nice, and bla bla bla...you don't need to spend so much on what should be a library. Even a 5 storey building that houses the HQ of NLB and a library can serve the same purpose without costing so much.Originally posted by browniebaobao:I was there yday, and I like the view from the library.. I think they chose the perfect location where u can see the v modern singapore and also the old buildings.. I wonder how much they spent on the library.. $200m is a lot..but I muz say..it's really very well done.. the collection of research materials they have is really huge..
So can, we just go back to the normal lib..Originally posted by timothytsgsg:Haiz, even if it looks grand, and nice, and bla bla bla...you don't need to spend so much on what should be a library. Even a 5 storey building that houses the HQ of NLB and a library can serve the same purpose without costing so much.
In times of economical hard times, spending S$200m is wasteful, it's pointless and it's not worth it. The govt. shouldn't resort to pork barrel politics in times of economic crises because it only diverts attention of the people from the real issues to something that is artifical and pointless after a while.
Originally posted by timothytsgsg:Haiz, even if it looks grand, and nice, and bla bla bla...you don't need to spend so much on what should be a library. Even a 5 storey building that houses the HQ of NLB and a library can serve the same purpose without costing so much.
In times of economical hard times, spending S$200m is wasteful, it's pointless and it's not worth it. The govt. shouldn't resort to pork barrel politics in times of economic crises because it only diverts attention of the people from the real issues to something that is artifical and pointless after a while.
Well, people who went and visited it said only one floor was open to public. The rest of the 13 floors were closed off and only accessible if you have a pass.Originally posted by sbst275:So can, we just go back to the normal lib..
Later your dun come and say your need a better library
Me.Originally posted by dragg:makes me wonder how many people in singapore actually do research.
it is now opened to the public. but only books from the basement can be borrowed. the other 12 floors serve no purpose unless you are into research or enjoy reading books in the library.Originally posted by timothytsgsg:Well, people who went and visited it said only one floor was open to public. The rest of the 13 floors were closed off and only accessible if you have a pass.
So does the public benefit when only 1 floor is open and the rest are closed? Don't forget the S$200m dollars are taxpayers' money- it's their money so the majority should be able to go to other floors too.
So why?
Wouldn't it be better off and cheaper if we just have an NLB HQ of 5-6 storeys which of at least 3 or 4 storeys in front accessible to the public, while the HQ is at the back of the building and at the top 2 levels?
It wouldn't even cost S$50m to build that building.
And as for improving the facade of Marine Bay...well, tourists have been shunning Singapore for yonks. Improving the facade only has an tiny impact on tourism numbers.
The reason why tourists has been coming to Singapore less and less is because this place is boring. So even if u improve the facade, as long as it remains boring, pple still won't come.
Didn't you read properly... 13 levels are set aside for reference library... Ref library books can be borrowed meh?Originally posted by timothytsgsg:Well, people who went and visited it said only one floor was open to public. The rest of the 13 floors were closed off and only accessible if you have a pass.
So does the public benefit when only 1 floor is open and the rest are closed? Don't forget the S$200m dollars are taxpayers' money- it's their money so the majority should be able to go to other floors too.
So why?
Wouldn't it be better off and cheaper if we just have an NLB HQ of 5-6 storeys which of at least 3 or 4 storeys in front accessible to the public, while the HQ is at the back of the building and at the top 2 levels?
It wouldn't even cost S$50m to build that building.
And as for improving the facade of Marine Bay...well, tourists have been shunning Singapore for yonks. Improving the facade only has an tiny impact on tourism numbers.
The reason why tourists has been coming to Singapore less and less is because this place is boring. So even if u improve the facade, as long as it remains boring, pple still won't come.
Reference Library the books cannot be borrowed. If you want to go in and to read the books you cannot bring backpacks in but small handbags can and must put them in the locker or else the guard standing at the entrance will tell you to put your bags in the locker. So must plan out on what to take with you before going to the reference Library.Originally posted by sbst275:Didn't you read properly... 13 levels are set aside for reference library... Ref library books can be borrowed meh?![]()
Well, why do they need 13 levels just for reference books? Do you really believe that those 13 storeys are truly for what they had said?Originally posted by sbst275:Didn't you read properly... 13 levels are set aside for reference library... Ref library books can be borrowed meh?![]()
In this time of digital information and internet, anyone can do research- and even download sensitive information from the net(just as long as you have a password and stuff)- at the comfort of your own home. You don't need to go to the library many times to do research.Originally posted by dragg:anyway many floors are empty.
i went in with my backpack but the security guard didnt say anything.Originally posted by gorby107:Reference Library the books cannot be borrowed. If you want to go in and to read the books you cannot bring backpacks in but small handbags can and must put them in the locker or else the guard standing at the entrance will tell you to put your bags in the locker. So must plan out on what to take with you before going to the reference Library.
No need. Just a $50m structure will suffice.Originally posted by sbst275:Fine... So we just go back to last time, mobile library if you want just a simple library...
i have the impression the library is just another tourist attraction. with 13 floors why dedicate only 1 to books which can be borrowed. how many people actually do nothing but spend time reading there.Originally posted by robertteh:The government has failed to realize the following important facts when it was planning to build the new national library:-
(1) The world is entering the information or internet age where all the information much more than traditionally catered to by a national library of the old is available to anyone who possess a computer at home.
(2) Books borrowing is getting out of fashion and the total journey time and borrowing hassle incurred are outstripping the costs of the books.
(3) With the above-mentioned two constraints our national library will simply become the 8th wonder - building costs of S$200 millions will never be justified on economic ground at all.
This is another wasteful durian not worth spending citizens' hard-earned monies. The poor the sick and elderly need helps more than more lavish spending just to show off.
Originally posted by iveco:No need. Just a $50m structure will suffice.