I think beef is also ok for them.Originally posted by iveco:Hmm, I was just wondering. IF some Buddhist monks consume meat, what about beef?
Monks from Thailand and the Lamas are non-vegetarians. They ask for alms and it include food and meat.Originally posted by iveco:Hmm, I was just wondering. IF some Buddhist monks consume meat, what about beef?
At a funeral wake, I saw a "monk" in his robe, wearing earrings and he drove a Mercs. I found out at the wake, he was a businessman performing the rituals for a fee.Originally posted by vito_corleone:i've seen monks wear gold watches and driving mercedes..man monking is a good profession as long as you can pretend to be a compassionate sod.![]()
these days its no surprise to see monk or nuns driving big cars leh, and also shopping at shopping centre in orchard.....Originally posted by Archie_boy:At a funeral wake, I saw a "monk" in his robe, wearing earrings and he drove a Mercs. I found out at the wake, he was a businessman performing the rituals for a fee.![]()
He had tarnished the image of a real monk.![]()
i dont think buddha will agree.Originally posted by a_splash:Monks and Nuns also must move with time i guess
Originally posted by dragg:i dont think buddha will agree.
he is probably the top 10% earners in singapore.Originally posted by a_splash:dont' agree mah bo pian.....unless 'pu sa sian ling' show up and scold them...and revamp...
i rem one monk set up those place to put the ash of the death and allow bidding? he is for sure out for biz mah.....wonder how is his biz now....
I remember seeing a monk eating at equinox... and he looked quite drunk too... dunno if its the same one...Originally posted by makiko:i remember last time i used to eat at shangri-la hotel, i will get to see a monk who eat pork, give treat using credit card n i heard tat he is a regular there![]()
If you read the book by the Dalai Lama "Freedom in Exile", the choice of diet was briefly mentioned. If I remember correctly, in Tibetan Buddhism, meat is not strictly forbidden simply for practical reasons, because it is difficult to grow sufficient fruits, vegetables and grains in the high altitude and dry terrain (they were living among the Himalayan mtn range). Hence, the people have to be practical about it, and the monks are allowed to eat some meat, so that they would be able to get enough nutrients. In the book, he also related about how he wanted to go totally vegetarian, which he did for a few months, but then his health suffered much. His followers could not bear to see him in poor health, so he was kind of forced to include some meat in his diet.Originally posted by teekh:dalai lama also got eat meat one FYI...
Maybe they are just Ah Beng who happen to shave themselves botak.Originally posted by Wanda:As to those 'monks' who flaunt their expensive watches and eat at expensive restaurants, I'm not sure if they are Buddhist monks at all.
you are Buddha meh?Originally posted by dragg:i dont think buddha will agree.
Now durai resigned already. Do you think he brought the gold tap along with him, when he left?Originally posted by aiki_gal:at least he don't have PRIVATE toilet with $1k goldtap installed la....
dat durai also too much got gold tap to use must share rite...tsk tsk tsk