sim wong hoo has a fortune 1% of that of gates', jack neo makes crap movies that are local variations of foreign films, fandi is simply a has-been who never really made it anywhere.Originally posted by Archie_boy:Actually, Sim Wong Hoo was supposed to be Bill Gates. Jack Neo was to be Steven Spielberg. Fandi would have been Tiger Woods. But our selection sucks. They missed by one point and was asked to do a next best course close to their interest. hehehe![]()
sorry hor..most countries only take in skilled immigrants below the age of 35.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:That is right.
Come to think of it, everyone will make a serious mistake. That mistake is growing old! Once you hit 35, you better pray real hard that you will not be retrenched because of your high pay and that your company think your are not modern thinking enough.
This narrow-minded thinking seems here to stay.
That is why I am choosing migration. I want to migrate to another country where I will not be discriminated because i am 35 years old or older.
Totally heartless at times.Originally posted by ShutterBug:It's ALWAYS been like that with our Govt.
Everything, from CPF to HDB to Education, its as dead-fixed as a door nail.
Totally inflexible, non-negotiable, and Un-feeling.
So, courtesy and graceousness anyone????
Depend on what subject you missed by one grade. English, no choice. Usually they don't accept. So are Maths and Science. The rest, they can accept if you missed by one grade.Originally posted by redstone:Imagine getting good results for most of the subjects required for poly entrance. But 1 subject missed by 1 grade.
NOTHING you can do. They only see your results and nothing else!!!
Appeal, rejected. Academic excellence certs and prizes no use too....
And the govt is promoting the 'recognition of young talent'. You can get into some secondary schools by talent, into uni by talent more than results....
But post sec entirely different story?!
The system is this.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Depend on what subject you missed by one grade. English, no choice. Usually they don't accept. So are Maths and Science. The rest, they can accept if you missed by one grade.
unfortunately there are many people who cant make it in the local selection system cant afford going to US to try their luck...Originally posted by Shenanigan:Try seeing your MP. I don't know if this works.
Take heart, my friend. You know the guy who is in great demand after he successfully created the computer graphic effects in the Lord of the Rings? He is a S'porean. He was rejected by all the schools he enrolled in SG. He went US and now he is well known and sort after. See how stupid our selection system is.
Look at the guy show tried seeking E*B's help to launch his design for the sand castle mould. He was turned away. Then he went US and sold the pattern to Waddington. And Bingo! It's selling like hot cakes world wide. It simply prove how silly things are happening in S'pore.
Don't give up, yeah, keep trying...![]()
Why is that so? Aren't passing English, Maths and Science the minimum requirements for poly? Why they so bad? Inside SP booklet, they even say those with D7 for English will be considered on a case-by-case basis. Are they lying?Originally posted by redstone:The system is this.
Let's say....
Student A:
A1, A1, A1, E7
Student B:
C6, C6, C6, C6
Entry requirement is C6....
Student B will be accepted, by theory. And Student A will be rejected.![]()
If they can do the same for English, why not for Science or Math?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Why is that so? Aren't passing English, Maths and Science the minimum requirements for poly? Why they so bad? Inside SP booklet, they even say those with D7 for English will be considered on a case-by-case basis. Are they lying?
What do you all think about this?Originally posted by redstone:The system is this.
Let's say....
Student A:
A1, A1, A1, E7
Student B:
C6, C6, C6, C6
Entry requirement is C6....
Student B will be accepted, by theory. And Student A will be rejected.![]()