It is a very interesting and sharp observation!!Originally posted by Medicated Oil:For Every Head of State, the basic requirement is to sing the National Anthem when it is played during the National Day Parade.
As telecasted live on National TV, the existing president DID NOT sing the National Anthem when it was played.
Even MM Lee was singing the national anthem.
If a President cannot set an example in singing the National Anthem, he is NOT FIT to be re-elected.
ppl tri-langual cannot meh?Originally posted by CoolMyth:that they are announcing that President Nathan has been learning how to speak Chinese for 5 years now? And the hint that he might use Mandarin in his speech....
Is there a lingering fear that S.R Nathan might lose the Chinese vote and hence "this card" comes out in an attempt to gather more Chinese votes for him?![]()
Did you sing it?Originally posted by 3Rabbits:Did President Nathan sang The National Anthem during the past NDPs?
Forgive the old man lah. What if he ran out of breath while singing the national anthem. Then a bithday party will turn into er.........Originally posted by Medicated Oil:The People-elected President is representing Singapore People.
He should set an good example for the People.
He DOES NOT represent Singapore or any political party.
Singapore Belong to EVERY SINGAPOREAN, regardless of race, religion, sex or party.
Our forefathers, fathers and us have created Singapore to be what it is today.
To sing the National Anthem, it is show your love and your pride to be a Singaporean.
If Mr Wee Kim Wee can sing the National Anthem during his term, I really dun see any logical explanation for Mr N not to sing, except that he does not know the lyrics or he is just not bothered.
I am not writing this observation to find fault.
I am just disappointed and dishearted to see such a sight.
Please lah, you know what I'm talking about.Originally posted by c0ol_blu3z:ppl tri-langual cannot meh?