I expect him to grow some b***s and make some noise. Do his patriotic duty as the President of Singapore.Originally posted by LinYu:Frankly, with the ex president who tried but still unable to do anything, what can you expect from him.
He couldn't even bother to reply to the petition for the casino send to him.![]()
Originally posted by theoronin:IMHO, the BIG QUESTION we should be asking is whether President Nathan has been performing his duties to ensure checks and balances? How do we as Singaporeans appraise him?
All I know about him is that he jogs around the park and learn Chinese. Okay, big deal. So what?? What about his REAL job as President?
Unlikely. If you recall, they will only be canversing on the TV.Originally posted by the Bear:could it be that because of such questions that will be raised if there was an election, the main other candidate was railroaded?
conspiracies abound!
The reason given by the Presidential Elections Committee for the rejection of Andrew Kuan is rather lame. Okay, not enough "seniority and responsibility." So is President Nathan, for the past six years, putting his vast years of "seniority and responsibility" into poring through the finanical accounts of Singapore? That's my BIG question for which I have no answer.Originally posted by the Bear:could it be that because of such questions that will be raised if there was an election, the main other candidate was railroaded?
I think it will be raised indirectly by Andrew Kuan if he keep emphasizing on the duty of the President to maintain checks and balances.Originally posted by LinYu:Unlikely. If you recall, they will only be canversing on the TV.
We may put on black shirt, black ribbons, black pants, black blouse or whatever blacks to celebrate Nathan re-elect on the 18th August.Originally posted by LinYu:The Demise of democracy!![]()
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):wow.... never know that sg population is now standing at 3 singaporean only and 4million FT.... our elected president is elected by 3 person nia....![]()
hmmm wait..... knn i served my ns but i am still not a sg citizen ar?
Best case of lip service if I've ever encountered.Might as well just say, "on our terms".Originally posted by theoronin:"Our people should feel free to express diverse views, pursue unconventional ideas, or simply be different. We should have the confidence to engage in robust debate, so as understand our problems, conceive fresh solutions, and open up new spaces.
We should recognise many paths of success, and many ways to be Singaporean. We must give people a second chance, for those who have tasted failure may be the wiser and stronger ones among us. Ours must be an open and inclusive Singapore."
- Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong
does helping the japanese's secret police during WWII count???Originally posted by BillyBong:Apart from volunteering to be held hostage along with other civilians during a past hijack case, what are his credentials? Some please refresh my memory?
Actually, S R Nathan is qualified to run for president.Originally posted by BillyBong:I can't really say that the presidential committee was wrong to drop the 3 challengers, in truth none of them held a suitable CV worthy of the presidency, but what did NATHAN do to get earmarked for the post in the first place?
Apart from volunteering to be held hostage along with other civilians during a past hijack case, what are his credentials? Some please refresh my memory?
He helped the jap secret police in what way?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):does helping the japanese's secret police during WWII count???![]()
u do some research lor....hint.. something that ah neh is usually very good.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:He helped the jap secret police in what way?
Originally posted by cornyfish2000:How come he switched jobs so fast? How come LHL did not raise this question on Nathan? Was the Ministry of Foreign Affairs satisfied with his performance? Want to ask his former employers to give press interviews?
Actually, S R Nathan is qualified to run for president.
His CV as taken from Weekend Today:
- Director of the Security and Intelligence Department in the 1970s
- [b]Permanant Secretary for Ministry of Foreign Affairs for 3 years (1979 - 1982)
- Executive chairman of Straits Times Press 1982 - 1988
- High Commissioner to Malaysia 1988-1999[/b]
can only have holiday if garmen candidate sure to win. don't understand !? i.e. in mahjiong, u can only start to play when garmen have 13 wonders or sup san u. in poker, garmen must have Ace pair, u must have 3 & 7. no 50-50 chance ok!?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:There goes the public holiday...
It was either that or get stuck in the concentration camp. He was caught between a rock and a hard place. I can't really fault him completely.Originally posted by Weirdo80:Another 6 years for an ex-Kempeitai translator to rule the nation. He has helped the nation by weeding out many anti-Japanese elements in the country! Isn't that praiseworthy? In fact, your own forefathers may have been tortured with the assistance of this roti prata.
Let's assume that in spite of our armed forces, Singapore is conquered by an enemy country and President Nathan is captured, what do you suppose President Nathan's actions would be? Would he say, "You can pry Singapore's secrets out of my cold dead fingers" or would he cooperate with the enemy? Would he act differently from the past?Originally posted by iveco:It was either that or get stuck in the concentration camp. He was caught between a rock and a hard place. I can't really fault him completely.
Because all his jobs were assigned by the govt lah...Originally posted by theoronin:How come he switched jobs so fast? How come LHL did not raise this question on Nathan? Was the Ministry of Foreign Affairs satisfied with his performance? Want to ask his former employers to give press interviews?