Depends on how you view being elite is.Originally posted by pikamaster:So... u come from the elite? exactly which section?
i think elite is not quite the term here. i suppose we're more "educated liberals" than real elites. most of us "elites" are really just slighty above average where wealth and education is concerned, the difference isn't that great. No i think the distinction here is our ability to look at things in a more liberal manner.Originally posted by pikamaster:So... u come from the elite? exactly which section?
LaserLordz,Originally posted by LazerLordz:Depends on how you view being elite is.I would say from the cultural upbringing and educational viewpoint.
If you are talking about wealth as an absolute measure of elitism, then I'm not that high up.![]()
But I do believe that the higher up the social strata one is, he or she should use that elevation to inform the rest about the better and clearer view that he or she has.
Originally posted by lotus999:ndsef,
If you had done marketing, then you shouldn't be disturbed by the "shooting down" for this is considered positively as feedback which could be used to improve, or even to save, a product or service.
"Then why do we grumble on something based on our own perceptions"
We do not grumble based on our own perceptions but based on actual hardship (usually financial) we endured. E.g.hikes in bus fares and university fees
"If you are great at finding faults, you should be just as great in providing solutions.This, my dear friends, is one of the characteristics of a leader!"
Really? Then Singapore must be flooded with leaders!
"There are countless reasons why a certain policy is implemented, and one reason which is often rejected here is the govt's reason."
To be fair to forumites here, most of the govt's reason rejected were those unconvincing or blatantly idiotic ones. E.g. bus fares hike not because SBS was or almost loosing money(on the contrary the company has been making handsome profits) but because of the idiotic reason that fares had not been adjusted for several years.
"So instead of asking what has the govt done to resolve the high cost of living. You should be coming out with the solutions."
I thought we pay them gargantuan salary to solve problems for us?
"And this is the reason why I believe the minority ruling party has failed so far. They are always grumbling or complaining about the majority ruling party's actions on problems facing Singapore, and not coming out with their own solutions."
If this is what you believed, may I suggest you listen to the grumbling here more as that could help you find out the truth.
Unlike you, most of us are not here just to make this forum interesting by offering different views. We are here to exchange/find out information on social, political, economical issues affecting us which we couldn't get from the local mainstream mass media. We are here so that we don't get brainwashed by anybody and we certainly wouldn't want to brainwash or sway anyone either.
Are you really a property agent? Not from the entertainment industry?
Eventually we will all becomes the donkeys...Originally posted by HENG@:simple. read George Orwell's 'Animal Farm' and u can draw parallels between sg and the novel. And ironically, the novel was written as a satire of Communist Soviet Union.
...ridden by the monkeys?Originally posted by diggo:Eventually we will all becomes the donkeys...
no. we become the "boxer"s(the horse)Originally posted by diggo:Eventually we will all becomes the donkeys...
Originally posted by ndsef:Mai gong jiao way lah...sure kena fark jialat jialat wan....
I find that my recent posts have drawn much responses from both Atobe and Robertteh. And correct me if I am wrong, but I find this forum to be filled with grumbling about govt policies and directions, which by right should be the way since its Speaker's Corner anyway.
But what I find disturbing is the number of people who are trigger happy at shooting down Govt policies and pointing out the flaws in this system and the errors that the ruling party has done over the last 40 years. I mean, everything is pretty clear on what has happened and what "flaws" present policies have.
Govt policies are formulated by HUMANS, and being humans at the receiving end, we tend to have our own perceptions on what these policies are meant to do. There are countless reasons why a certain policy is implemented, and one reason which is often rejected here is the govt's reason.
Then why do we grumble on something based on our own perceptions and in the process of it try to sway other people's thoughts? Instead, the unhappy lot may wish to come out with their own solutions to the problems.
So instead of asking what has the govt done to resolve the high cost of living. You should be coming out with the solutions. Why do we always expect the govt to do this and that for us? If you are great at finding faults, you should be just as great in providing solutions. [b]This, my dear friends, is one of the characteristics of a leader!
And this is the reason why I believe the minority ruling party has failed so far. They are always grumbling or complaining about the majority ruling party's actions on problems facing Singapore, and not coming out with their own solutions. I believe Singaporeans will be most glad to hear the solutions to their problems from the "opposition party" [/b]