Durai this kind of ppl will exist in Singapore becoz our dear PAP leaders set a "bad example".They openly corrupted by giving themselves such a "high salary".When coming to election,whether it is General election or presidential election,they disqualified opposition candidates as they pleased.So that they can continue rule Singapore n corrupt as much as they want!!!Originally posted by Elfred:I thought with optimism we can work wonders...?
PAP will remain, at least for this round, that's the most critical part we'd need to know. How then from here... it's all up to fate...
Remember, PAP, WP or SDP are just names. It's always the people behind those pees. You curse PAP and PAP dismantles itself, gone, no more PAP... but you might find BCK or Mr Durai and such quietly gathers at WP or SDP or SPP... or under a new pee...
So?
Who to blame? PAP? Or the people?
Now, PAP members, including meself, are also part of the state, part of the people. Don't just blame PAP PAP PAP. What if Clinton kena reborn and lead PAP later on after 100 years? Hahahahahaha...
Still don't get it, Drawer?
Drawer, people as Durai the Greed everywhere, un-discovered or discovered. In the end, people like myself would end up risking grey areas because of these pests in society. You probably don't know the self-proclaimed white knight who claimed all th big sh!ts whom I went sought help from threatened me.Originally posted by drawer:Durai this kind of ppl will exist in Singapore becoz our dear PAP leaders set a "bad example".They openly corrupted by giving themselves such a "high salary".When coming to election,whether it is General election or presidential election,they disqualified opposition candidates as they pleased.So that they can continue rule Singapore n corrupt as much as they want!!!
If i am Durai,i will think that if the PAP leaders can be so rogue n corruptive,why cant i?????As a matter of fact,i believe more n more Singaporeans are learning from PAP leaders their rogue behaviour n their corruptive mindset,and thats including me!!!!But dont blame us,PAP leaders taught us that.Still dont get it,Elfred?
Why do you need a 2nd key? Ans is check and balance.Originally posted by loosefuse:The problem is, the opposition parties have not been given any chances to prove themselves capable of doing better than our gahmen. So how do you know they are not capable of better?
If we have had them rule, and if they had not fared well, then it would be more justifiable to dismiss them.
Many Singaporeans derive their conclusions before even allowing others a chance to prove themselves.
Basically, it's all down to perception.
You had an apple. It was sweet. There is another apple on the table. It doesn't look sweet but you don't know. You do not intend to try either because it doesn't look sweet. So how will you ever know it isn't just as sweet, if not sweeter? That's basically what's happening here.
Having a good product doesn't mean there aren't superior ones around.
And I do agree with the bit about the subjectiveness of our media. Why else do you think it was ranked 147th in the world for?
It would be easier to believe a convicted serial killer trying to plead innocent. Heh!
agree wif u - +1Originally posted by loosefuse:Besides, if we have no opposition, why hide behind that mask and call ourselves a democratic nation?
Might as well call us a dictatorship, if it isn't so very obvious yet..
Sorry if I misunderstood you though, didn't quite know what you meant.
Originally posted by ndsef:Yep, that is the question... that I hope forum members here can answer...
I am waiting...![]()
Originally posted by ndsef:Yep, that is the question... that I hope forum members here can answer...
I am waiting...![]()
If they are competent, well, they should join PAP.Originally posted by ablazegal:yeah true. Some healthy competition would be nice. for the PAP. But COMPETENT Competition.
Would have to agree with Atobe though. Chee and the likes could definitely use some PR help. So could JBJ. But JBJ's established himself as a respectable political opponent and what that the PAP's reveres, to some extent. Unlike Our dear Dr. Chee, whose being demonized. To demonize him further, just hire a lousy photographer and capture him at all the worst angles.
Oh yes, and he could do well to shed the glasses and engage in some calm, coolheaded debate instead of ranting and raving, or so our media tells us. If you ask me, the best way to change our government is perhaps not so much to toe the government line or be so outrageously against them but to slowly goad them and persuade them into change. Change is inevitable and time is needed. Like Atobe said, Chee's greatest flaw is, perchance, his impatience.
And let the opposition pick up scraps? I believe they deserve equally good people.Originally posted by Elfred:If they are competent, well, they should join PAP.![]()
Jeez Elfred,Originally posted by Elfred:If they are competent, well, they should join PAP.![]()
Like what'd you be meaning?Originally posted by iveco:And let the opposition pick up scraps? I believe they deserve equally good people.
I not objective meh? Hehehehe...Originally posted by pikamaster:Jeez Elfred,
I had hoped you were just a tad bit more objective...
Well, we already have the SDA, which is an alliance of SPP (Chiam See Tong), NSP (Steve Chia), PKMS and JPS (both of which are Malay-dominated).Originally posted by delonicdevil:I think the best way to make the opposition parties better is to form a coalition and pool all their resources together. Then, hire publicist and put up advertisements in television and hire economists to come up with a good economic plan to rival that of the PAP. This will convince the people to vote for the opposition without worrying that their rice bowls will be affected. Most importantly, elect a leader who is a good orator,( someone like Winston Churchill) and promise the people political reforms.
The point is to increase the awareness of Sinagpore's political problems.Moreover, the opposition should not try to gain support by visiting the residents all the time because it is a waste of time as it ultimately comes down to their ricebowls.
You prop up circle-and-lightning too much.Originally posted by Elfred:I not objective meh? Hehehehe...
Like how?
we hv CSJ and SDP too, u noe, in the SDA. I sorta think CSJ is pulling SDA's reputation down. Which party is the leader of SDA, incidentally?Originally posted by iveco:Well, we already have the SDA, which is an alliance of SPP (Chiam See Tong), NSP (Steve Chia), PKMS and JPS (both of which are Malay-dominated).
Really, I thought CST would never allow that backstabber to join his coalition. Hasn't he forgotten the acrimonious manner in which he was ousted from the party he built?Originally posted by pikamaster:we hv CSJ and SDP too, u noe, in the SDA. I sorta think CSJ is pulling SDA's reputation down. Which party is the leader of SDA, incidentally?
Originally posted by iveco:Backstabber ?
Really, I thought CST would never allow that backstabber to join his coalition. Hasn't he forgotten the acrimonious manner in which he was ousted from the party he built?
Hi,Originally posted by Atobe:From all the Political Parties in Singapore, which political party is truly practising 'Democracy' in Singapore ?
Hi,Originally posted by iveco:Really, I thought CST would never allow that backstabber to join his coalition. Hasn't he forgotten the acrimonious manner in which he was ousted from the party he built?