who pay for the dinner ?Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:i support PAP this once , i once attended a dinner like this and we ate shark's fin soup , i drank 3 bowls.
So this is okay.
I think part of my income tax just went into your tummyOriginally posted by SMAPLionHeart:i support PAP this once , i once attended a dinner like this and we ate shark's fin soup , i drank 3 bowls.
So this is okay.
i got pay income tax oso wad.Originally posted by miss_soojung:I think part of my income tax just went into your tummy![]()
This acticle was written by the same person who wrote abt the lack of 'justice' against the convicted molester who had a low IQ of 58. Indirectly, it was gentle attack on the judiciary and CJ. As a measure of the stir he has created within the ranks of the judiciary, this article has still not been answered.Originally posted by crazy monkey:Aug 15, 2005
NATIONAL DAY CELEBRATIONS
No need for lavish constituency dinners
THE Upfront report 'Grassroots dinners go big, with 620 tables' by Peh Shing Huei (ST, Auggave me much food for thought.
It seems National Day constituency dinners, a major part of the celebrations, are getting out of hand. They get bigger with each passing year, putting pressure on grassroots leaders to find buyers for tickets and manage the logistics, and on corporate donors whose budgets must be spread ever so thin.
While these dinners strain resources, the citizens consultative committees (CCCs) seem hellbent on outdoing each other in organising the largest dinner, which makes no sense.
According to one CCC chairman, 'it's a loss-making business', but it seems the show must go on regardless. But must it?
Such dinners are usually rather impersonal affairs. Thousands turn up to dine for a couple of hours under a cacophony of chatter and inapt music. They dig into their hastily prepared dishes, almost never get into a good conversation with each other, and, after dessert (and often before), leave as unceremoniously as they came.
Many attend the dinners not because they want to but because they have been coerced to buy a ticket. Thus they come nonchalantly, taking little interest in the proceedings. Some don't even bother to show up, resulting in empty tables and chairs.
Where the gathering is large, it is sometimes difficult to hear the speeches amid the din. Disrespect for the speakers is common and irksome to watch.
Is this any way to celebrate National Day?
However, I'm pleased to note that some CCCs have replaced or supplemented dinners with other crowd-pulling activities such as concerts, art competitions and school performances. I hope this will become a trend so constituency dinners are eventually a thing of the past.
Indeed, Hong Kah GRC MP Ang Mong Seng said it all in his observation that people nowadays don't want to come to the dinner, preferring to donate money instead. Grassroots leaders should take note.
Lee Seck Kay
Incomplete post.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:i got pay income tax oso wad.
i was just drinking what rightfully belongs to me.
I think it's good stuff.Originally posted by ditzy:Ever since the nkf saga, any use of funds come under heavy scrutiny.![]()
What's the point of having sharks fin soup at the first place, anyway? Waste of time and money, these dinners are. I dun even wanna bother attending such dinners that only promote such blatant kiasu-ism.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:i support PAP this once , i once attended a dinner like this and we ate shark's fin soup , i drank 3 bowls.
So this is okay.
That's the precise point. Just look at all of your replies...its astounding how easily the PAP has bribed some people through their stomaches. It's so obvious and yet so blinding, it's stunning.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:what the hell is wrong with 1 dinner?
just 1 simple meal and you view it as something with hidden intention?
my stomach is happy , if you don't believe , you go for 1 constituency dinner next time.guarenteed to make you happy.
got live hokkien singers they bring in from taiwan , somemore.
During chinese new year.
the dinner area its like fit for a VIP.
you all never go before of course u all will say it's a waste of money.
PAP give out free goodies and freebies , who don't want?
Those who volunteraily attend such dinners can never fully comprehend the scope of coersion, the immoral use of public funding and the intrinsic propaganda machine at work.Originally posted by taurian:aiyooo, why so hot hah?
I have been going to ND dinners every year since 1990. I don't like what I see but I'm there for my share. I pay income tax leh. I don't eat also other people eat. sometimes PAP subsidises 50% of the dinner, sometimes I get free dinner. Where can you drink sharksfin soup, eat fresh steam fish & prawns...etc for S$15 in Singapore? The caterers dare not give lousy food one! PAP leh! siao, siao! Some more got local & foreign artistes perform leh! Also got lucky draw & sponsored goodies!
Last week I went to two ND dinners at Neptune theatre. Got half naked women perform some more!
You think those people who go for such dinners so easy to be bribed ah! We go every year but we don't care for the party's s***. we curse & swear them also wat. what morals? morals don't worth even half a peanut these days. you want to talk morals with the elite & privileged?
we small fry, do what is expected of small fry. got free things - take. whatever you earn - save. earn enough liao, emigrate & become foreign talent in other countries. this one - one elite teach me one!
tell me - what is the difference between a singapore citizen & PR? What singapore citizen got, PR also can get, except vote for ruling party. I only vote once & no more chance oredi. Marine Parade GRC leh! who dare come?
I hope more people go to ND dinners next year huh! eat ah! drink ah! take ah!
this month also got 7th month dinners, waah... some more jia tok!
smap?Originally posted by taurian:can u all take me as being undercover or not. I tell all of you the 'inside story', kena loot. you all do the big things mah, you aso need people like me do the dirty jobs like being called traitor lah, no backbone lah, immoral lah....etc.
black cat (I), white cats (people with morals) - can catch the mice are all good cats!![]()