What if malaysia sends a few commandos and hijack SIA planes and use its own MAS planes to do a pre war preemptive strike against singapore.... hitting all the major infrastructures like power, camps, Command center and telco centers...Originally posted by Heartlander:Singapore is a small island and may be it is much easy to manage compare to one big nation like America or China. If you listen to how a US Senator bombarded its own security complacency which led to such tragedy, you may rethink or like to re-examine our own security system. Precaution is always better than cure!
Yes, Singapore may not have much enemy at the moment and no matter how, no matter what, Singapore should tread a cautious route to remain humble and not to offend anybody, especially those concerning religion or those sensitive issues of any of our neighbouring countries. We can uphold our principle and yet remain friendly to any citizen of the world. Singapore may be well off but should remain humble and pragmatic.
It may be practical to set up a radar detection system along the southern corridor(around Marina Zone) to detect some low flying commercial jets and it should always be on high alert on any commercial airline hijacking around the world and especially those from the neighbouring countries!As the commercial districts along Shenton Way area are more vulnerable from the south and south-east which are facing the open South China Sea. A terrorist jet approaching from the northern corridor is hampered most probably by the forest of HDB flats across most part of Singapore.
if they say yes..... would u believe them and give them weapons??Originally posted by NYPD^blue:To all local Muslims:
In case of a holy war, which side will u be on? Will u shed blood for Singapore, if we get into trouble with an Islamic nation?
It's up to the political bigwigs to decide. Personally, I have faith that the muslims will aid us, if we gets entangled with Malaysia or Indonesia. However, nations like Saudi Arabia has extremely strong ties with the local muslim population. Therefore, I will trust them to a certain extent.Originally posted by tripwire:if they say yes..... would u believe them and give them weapons??
what if a few of them rebeled..... would you still trust the remaining majority??
Lets face it.... in view of the way islam work..... its idealistic to think that they would risk going to hell by killing their brothers instead of the infidels(unbelievers) since in their mind.... country dont exist forever.... but ALLAH is forever.
to a certain extent??? that is not trust... that is cautiousness....Originally posted by NYPD^blue:It's up to the political bigwigs to decide. Personally, I have faith that the muslims will aid us, if we gets entangled with Malaysia or Indonesia. However, nations like Saudi Arabia has extremely strong ties with the local muslim population. Therefore, I will trust them to a certain extent.
As a Singaporean, I am inclined to have faith in all races and creeds.However, even ministers have reservations abt the loyalty of the local Malay Muslims due to one incident. I remember reading abt an Israeli minister visiting Singapore, creating an upstir among the local Muslims. This is a minor incident, compared to a full-blown jihad. Therefore, I also have doubts that they will support us in such an incident. Please correct me if I am wrong.Originally posted by tripwire:to a certain extent??? that is not trust... that is cautiousness....
if to a certain extent..... would that include arming them??
The question is never about israel..... now do you see your folly???.....Originally posted by dexter:I do not get that point. Just because we are opposed to Israel's occupation of Palestines does not mean that we would not defend our country.
so.... what is your communities view??? americans.... deserve it?Originally posted by dexter:>>The question is never about israel..... now do you see your folly???.....
I was referring to NYPD previous post about loyalty.
** well... read the question and your answers and see if u can see the light of ur answers to NYPD....
>>And if israel's occupation of palestine is your bone of contention..... pray telll.... why does israel's occupation of palestine a concern of yours??
Becuz I am a citizen of the world and I would like to contribute my opinions on what would make the world better and more just.
** i gotta pinch myself senseles.... ahahahaaa.... where is your 'opinion' when the chinese were butchered in indonesia??? where is your 'opinion' with regard to the pro-malay policy of malaysia, which the chinese malaysians are forced to accept?? where is your 'opinion' when bombs went off on isrealis' road???
** who u trying to kid??? ahahahahaa......
>>if the concern is not born out of your religion... are you telling me that malays are palestinians???
No..but we think that they are being unfairly mistreated and thus we express our views.
** so...... you will voice your disapproval of the bumiputra policy of malaysia??? sure took you a long time to come out.... didnt it?
>>But as naive as many malays in singapore and the muslims round the world.... for your kind information.... Israel has cause the death of many palestinians.... BUT do you know that 30,000 palestinians died under the guns of jordanians??? under the former king hussein???
SO.... are you gonna kick jordanians butts?? seriously..... while you see the isrealis pit themselves against the palestinians...with rubber bullets.... u felt anger....
what did you feel when the jordanian armed forces are gunning down palestinians with LIVE AMMUNITION!!??
Great, you know exactly how we feel. I didnt know there are psychics in Singapore.
** what?? i am issuing the question... you didnt answer it....
** u trying to avoid the question??? or is it so hard to point a finger at brothers of the same faith???
I think you made one very big assumption: That we support whoever is Islamic. That's not true. We support those who are being wronged. In this case, the ones we're supporting happened to be Islamic. And do not assume that even though we support Palestin, we support everything they do. Many people support US but do not agree on US policy. And if your read my previous posts, I do support a US attack.
** ...... but if america should give you the rifle... would you pull the trigger yourself to kill a brother of the same faith?? and..... what would your community think of you then??? do you think..... you will be excommunicated??? isolated i mean....
And please note that my views are mine alone..and not representative of my community.
...... I pray..... that the day will come.... when people of all faith and race can live in peace, understanding and love.....Originally posted by dexter:I think the problem herein lies in the fact that some pple fail to differentiate the Islamic extremists and normal Muslims. We do not condone the violent acts that they have done and do not justify it in any way. People tend to forget that there are quite a number of Muslims in the WTC since Islam is the fastest growing religion in the US. We grieve for the live losts whether Muslim or not as we place the same value on each live no matter what their social status is. I also pity the terrorists who had lost their lives because they will not go to heaven as they are led to believe but will rott in hell. Muslims may not be afraid of dying but they are afraid of going to hell.
I also like to point out that the attack is not an act of jihad. The word has been misused by the public and the terrorists in their bid to recruit more pple. There are many aspects to Jihad and one of them is war in Allah's cause. Since Islam specifically condemn this terrorist act..this is not a jihad as it is not in Allah's cause. To prove that Islam does not condone these acts, heres a quote from the Qu'ran:
Who so ever kills a human being for other than manslaughter or corruption in the earth, it shall be as if he has killed all mankind, and who so ever saves the life of one, it shall be as if he had saved the life of all mankind," (Al-Ma'dah:32).
To further reinforce this, several Arab states has pledged support to US and Pakistan will assist US.
And I think that it'd be better for tripwire
to lower his tone a bit to facilitate a better and rational discussion without the excess baggage of emotions and prejudices.
I do not know or claim to know my communities view. But if you had read the thread by Silverwing in the Chit Chat forum..I had defended the US and do not think they deserve it.Originally posted by tripwire:so.... what is your communities view??? americans.... deserve it?
Then...... while i respect your courage.... i am afraid.... you might end up dead by the hands of those in your own community.Originally posted by dexter:Sorry..missed that post since everything was in bold.
** well... read the question and your answers and see if u can see the light of ur answers to NYPD....
dunno what you mean
*** nebbermind then....
** i gotta pinch myself senseles.... ahahahaaa.... where is your 'opinion' when the chinese were butchered in indonesia??? where is your 'opinion' with regard to the pro-malay policy of malaysia, which the chinese malaysians are forced to accept?? where is your 'opinion' when bombs went off on isrealis' road???
Just because you didnt hear the tree falling, does not mean that a tree never fell. Oh.. I forgot you're a psychic. You knew I dun have any opinions on this issues. You wanna hear my opinions? Open up another thread cuz its veering from the main topic.
*** isit so far away from the main topic??? all you need to say is whether you approve of it or not.... dont tell me you need a whole thread to say a few word.
** who u trying to kid??? ahahahahaa......
try harder to be more open-minded.
*** i am open -minded. i am discussing reality... you?
** so...... you will voice your disapproval of the bumiputra policy of malaysia??? sure took you a long time to come out.... didnt it?
How did you know I din voice it out last time?? Oooh..I underestimated your psychic powers.
*** then i must have underestimated the size of your position that you would need a new thread.... or you trying to avoid the issue here?
** u trying to avoid the question??? or is it so hard to point a finger at brothers of the same faith???
Did I feel anger? No. Sadness? Yes. becuz I believe this issue can be resolved at the diplomatic table without loss of lives.
*** after the terrorist have done the killings??? you expect the americans to go to a diplomatic table and talk it out??? who is the naive one?
** ...... but if america should give you the rifle... would you pull the trigger yourself to kill a brother of the same faith?? and..... what would your community think of you then??? do you think..... you will be excommunicated??? isolated i mean....
Again I must repeat that the terrorists does not have the same faith as me.
If you're asking me whether I would kill these terrorists, I would.
Of course, you know my community better than me...CUZ U'RE THE PSYCHIC!!Originally posted by tripwire:Then...... while i respect your courage.... i am afraid.... you might end up dead by the hands of those in your own community.
you are avoiding my questions and side stepping on your position......Originally posted by dexter:Heh.. your argument just showed why US previous foreign policiess has not done well. Action without sufficient preparation or proof. I'm glad now that the President George Bush had mentioned the word 'patience' it one of his addresses. They have to ensure that Osama is indeed the mastermind or not they would suffer a global backlash...not just from the arab states but the rest of the world. People want to see with no doubts lingering that their war against Osama is indeed justified and not just an act of revenge. They would not go into war and waste lives without unnecessary proof. They had blamed the Middle East for the Oklahoma bombing yet it was their own citizen that did it. Though this time it is probably from the middle east, my point is that we should not jump into conclusions and act impulsively on emotions. Investigations is yet to be completed and yet you call out for blood? The Secretary of State General Colin Powell has not issued an attack and yet you have?
Why hasnt the Arab states acted?? Wheres the proof? Why did Pakistan take so long.. You think this is a school project?? Think before you act. Things are not as black and white as you might want it to be. If you read the news carefully, America did demand assistance from Pakistan and Pakistan agreed to the WHOLE list of demands. Check your facts.
Americans defending the good name of god?? Arent some of those Americans Muslims too??
And though I admire your spirit, dont be so naive in your thoughts and make some ignorant sweeping statements. This isnt Red Alert.