Tell me again, who is the person that makes the decision to vote?Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Tell me again. What are GRC zonings for?
In western countries, westerners usually pay higher wages to offset the higher income taxes and inflation. In addition, the indirect taxes are slightly lower than here.Originally posted by TooFree:Honestly, I only know a bit here and there lar... but living standard is dependent on few factors. You can tell by their currency rate measured against US dollar.
Yeah. I do agree that SG is hard to survive... but if you chose to get out, it really depends on where you want to go. To live comfortable, you can only choose those developing country. (like Msia) Developed countries (like Aust, US & UK) are roughly the same in SG.
Originally posted by timothytsgsg:If you work in Singapore, and earn $3000 a month, your wage is only worth 1000 UK Pounds in UK.
In western countries, westerners usually pay higher wages to offset the higher income taxes and inflation. In addition, the indirect taxes are slightly lower than here.
And while living standards are higher, the interest rates from the bank are slightly lower than interest rates here- from both the local banks and CPF compound interest rates.
Plus a HDB average price can be also be equal to the price of a one-storey private house with a car garage in the sub-urban areas(which is actually bigger in size) in some areas of Australia and US.
But I do believe the UK is much more expensive, firstly due to the conversion currency rate. Each pound is worth S$3.00- so it's damn expensive- even if you decide to stay in Scotland or Wales rather than London, Oxford or Birmingham.
Originally posted by Atobe:a typical macdonald's meal costs 5.95 euros at least in paris..so don't complain so much because you ain't seen the most expensive yet.
If you work in Singapore, and earn $3000 a month, your wage is only worth 1000 UK Pounds in UK.
However, if you work in UK, you will probably be earning 3000 UK Pounds and will probably find that living in UK is not that expensive.
Travelling around, I always visit the MacDonalds, and find that a Big Mac is probably the best measure of the Cost of Living, AND in some [b]narrow way an indicative of the Standard of Living.
A Big Mac set meal in Singapore cost SGD5.95, in Malaysia - it cost RM8.75, in UK today it probably cost 3.85 Pounds.
It should cost the Malaysian more, as the average salary in Malaysia is probably between RM1,000 to RM3,000.
The value of the meal when paid in the respective currencies that you earn is more important.
Originally posted by Atobe:If the UK company pays you 3 times the amount that the Singapore company pays for the same amount of work...I say the UK company is going to go out of business. And the cost of living in UK depends on which city. If you live in London.....
If you work in Singapore, and earn $3000 a month, your wage is only worth 1000 UK Pounds in UK.
However, if you work in UK, you will probably be earning 3000 UK Pounds and will probably find that living in UK is not that expensive.
Travelling around, I always visit the MacDonalds, and find that a Big Mac is probably the best measure of the Cost of Living, AND in some [b]narrow way an indicative of the Standard of Living.
A Big Mac set meal in Singapore cost SGD5.95, in Malaysia - it cost RM8.75, in UK today it probably cost 3.85 Pounds.
It should cost the Malaysian more, as the average salary in Malaysia is probably between RM1,000 to RM3,000.
The value of the meal when paid in the respective currencies that you earn is more important.
What are you talking about?Originally posted by kheldorin:If the UK company pays you 3 times the amount that the Singapore company pays for the same amount of work...I say the UK company is going to go out of business. And the cost of living in UK depends on which city. If you live in London.....
For every Hong Kong where people pay more, there are 30 or more nations who offers cheap / value for money housing..Originally posted by TooFree:You mention the labour and materials cost are cheaper than the cost we paid for the flat. Yeah you are right .... but what happen if you compare it with HK, KL where people pay even more.
Hmm.. its never wise to compare among countries, as each has its own unique identity.. but HK is a closer proximate of SG than any other to compare with woh..Originally posted by loosefuse:For every Hong Kong where people pay more, there are 30 or more nations who offers cheap / value for money housing..
30:1 ratio... So..
Still think it's wise comparing Singapore with the minority that offers more expensive housing?
You see, I was just wondering why SG is unable to model themselves after the majority rather than the minority like HK.. By the way, if HK is a closer proximate of SG, so are the big cities in developed countries where "land is scarce and the population density is high, blah blah blah". Now, why then are the cost of housing in these cities not as high as SG's?Originally posted by TooFree:Hmm.. its never wise to compare among countries, as each has its own unique identity.. but HK is a closer proximate of SG than any other to compare with woh..
Originally posted by geran76:Even though the tax rate in Australia maybe high, much of the tax money goes to provide low-cost medical services and social support schemes that do not tax the Australian any more.
in fact, developed countries are no better then us.. As for australia, their income tax is up to 47% taxable and their GST is at 10%.. So everyday, about 57% of their hard earned money go to government pocket.. As for their properties, it is quite cheap.. a landed property can cost $200,000 in a sub urban area.. a global finanical consultant can earned up to $130,000 but about $70,000 goes to the government and the rest have to pay for food, transport and so forth.. i could guess that how much they can really get back..
UK have the same situation but they are more on GST..
Thse countries have humanitariun values. They respect human rights and welfare. Unlike in Singapore where the selfish Rich only care about their own stomachs.Originally posted by Atobe:Even though the tax rate in Australia maybe high, much of the tax money goes to provide low-cost medical services and social support schemes that do not tax the Australian any more.
An Australian will not pay as much for medical attention when they visit a public hospital, as the bulk of the bill will be TRULY subsidised - unlike in Singapore, where the bill is inflated and will show a subsidy of 70%, while one has still to pay the remaining 30% that can wipe out one's Medisave Account.
There is a safety net to help Australians get through natural disasters, and economic crisis that result in retrenchments and joblessness.
Singaporeans cannot even draw on our own CPF to help ourselves during retrenchment, and long term joblessness; and there are no similar social security net to cushion us during the crisis period.
Sweden has the highest tax rate on earth, and it is not even a Communist Country; but its Citizens enjoy a very high standard of medical and social welfare schemes that protect every Swede from cradle to grave.
Ya.Originally posted by Love Story:Thse countries have humanitariun values. They respect human rights and welfare. Unlike in Singapore where the selfish Rich only care about their own stomachs.
You absolutely right~! The richest and most powerful men in singapore only care for their own stomachs and power corrupted.Originally posted by Love Story:Thse countries have humanitariun values. They respect human rights and welfare. Unlike in Singapore where the selfish Rich only care about their own stomachs.
As far as I know, you have every legal right to appoint your own lawyers. After all, your lawyer is there to ensure your interests are adequately protected. Similarly for the bank, they will usually have their own set of lawyers handling the legal documentation for your mortgage loan.Originally posted by taurian:Anyone understand the logic behind tis?
I am buying a house & applying for housing loan. I was just told by the bank tat I cannot use my lawyer (small lawyer firm, have been with me for >10 yrs), must use Lee & Lee. I turn to another bank aso same condition. they are two of the big four banks in Singapore.
tis is not the case leh. i was just told by the banks I applied for the loan tat I HAVE to go through their lawyers who are L n L. I'm still calling a few banks to check. My lawyer is resigned to tis.Originally posted by charlize:As far as I know, you have every legal right to appoint your own lawyers. After all, your lawyer is there to ensure your interests are adequately protected. Similarly for the bank, they will usually have their own set of lawyers handling the legal documentation for your mortgage loan.
However, in order to save costs, you may request to use the bank's lawyers as your own ie. they will be acting for both sides. In this way, some legal costs may be waived since the lawyers are acting for both parties. Note also, that since the lawyers are acting for you too, they are legally required to make sure everything is done properly for you.
As it is, the mortgage documentation / mortgage loan terms and conditions are usually pretty straight forward and standard.
It is ultimately up to the individual and the bank to negotiate and decide what they want. Go check with them on the norm.
If you have millions of dollars kept in their banks as fixed deposits, you think they will insist you use their lawyers?Originally posted by taurian:tis is not the case leh. i was just told by the banks I applied for the loan tat I HAVE to go through their lawyers who are L n L. I'm still calling a few banks to check. My lawyer is resigned to tis.
Is it the new rule for mortgage loans now, tat y must use the banks' lawyers?
to show the developed world that we are democratic... that's all...Originally posted by shade343:Tell me again. What are elections for?
nothin'.. for show only...Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Tell me again. What are GRC zonings for?
But they own the land after it is paid.Originally posted by vito_corleone:in japan, you have to take a 90 year-3 generation housing loan to afford a house.![]()