Those aunties and uncles take those breakfast but some of them is really poor. Those food stuff is provided by the food company which is FOC (think so)Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Who normally take the free breakfast? Are there many very poor residents in Hougang?
Also wonder who is funding these free breakfast? Tax payer's money?
Hi,Originally posted by gorby107:Oh I see Thanks a lot. By the way the TC is under the MP controlled right??? I have noticed in Hougang that TC and the RC or CC had some rivarly or "cold war". Like eg happened a few months back RCzone5 want to organise barbecue party and to organise it in the park opp the TC(Blk 701) and go and apply from TC and they rejected why is this so??? Having this type of situation is bad and good for the residents as for the good the residents benefit from both of them. While the bad thing is the residents will surely get involved in this type of political situation and there would be mistrust and suspicious arouse in there which can be quite chaotic.
Siao ah you??? A PERSON'S RIGHTS NEED NOT BE FOUGHT FOR, GET IT? IT"S HUMAN RIGHTS!!!!Originally posted by goh meng seng:Many forumites keep talking about wanting to vote, just want to exercise their vote, regardless it is Presidential Elections or General Elections.
The PAP government would have satisfied your desire to exercise your constitutional right to vote by having a real Presidential Elections but it didn't. So you are not happy.
Thus, you want opposition parties to contest "ALL" seats so you could have a chance to exercise your vote. Now it is the problem of opposition parties to provide your constitutional right to vote?
Everybody wants to do ONE thing, to vote, BUT NOBODY wants to do ANYTHING to make this happen! That's strange isn't it!
I am not even asking forumites to become candidates in the coming GE. To run a successful campaign, we need alot of manpower! Polling agents, election agents, counting agents, helpers... etc. For one small single SMC, we need at least 100 helpers in various position. For one 6 seats GRC, we need over 300 helpers! Any volunteers here?
If not, then please, don't just "DEMAND" your right to vote. Nobody owes you a living or anything at all. You want your rights? Fight for it.
Goh Meng Seng
Blog address: singaporealternatives.blogspot.com
Originally posted by HarryPussy:Fight to defend your rights...
[b]Siao ah you??? A PERSON'S RIGHTS NEED NOT BE FOUGHT FOR, GET IT? IT"S HUMAN RIGHTS!!!!
FIGHT FOR ENTITLEMENT!!! YOU NEVER BEEN TO ARMY RIGHT? YOU AH_GUA SOLDIER RIGHT???[/b]
Originally posted by gorby107:Thank you very much but I hope I won't be involved in this matter as I just suggested it or else I will be in big trouble.........
Actually, if that's true, I'd support it. Desperately poor people, especially those who are old and of retirement age need all the help they can get. In my opinion, taxpayers money spent in this area is well spent.Originally posted by gorby107:Those aunties and uncles take those breakfast but some of them is really poor. Those food stuff is provided by the food company which is FOC (think so)
Hi,Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Gorby,
Don't be "fearful" about anything! As a resident of Hougang TC, you have the right to know how HGTC manages the estate! You will definitely not "get into trouble" just because you ask a few questions on HGTC's operations! We don't work on "FEAR" tactic you know else we will not improve at all as there will no longer be feedback from residents!
As for your question on the barbeque, we have checked with Mr. Low and the HGTC GM, Miss Aw. She has confirmed that there isn't any request from RC on wanting to have barbeque. I think your information is incorrect and you may refer to the source. If there is any discrepancy on the facts, please let us know...i.e. if they have any document proof of the said application, please let me know. We also do not like people to "spread rumours" like this...not that we are saying you are spreading rumours as you are just saying what you heard. And it is right for you to check with the main parties involved to know the truth. We thank you for that as now we know there might be rumours being spread.
Again, I assure you not to be "FEARFUL", we don't practice politics of FEAR!
Goh Meng Seng
But sometimes both sides also have quarrel, remember that time when mine blocks of flats of area Blk 701-720 were having repairs and decorations during last year. The RC notice board in that area had gone missing being taken off left only the one at RC area At Blk 704 the RC board place was taken off and replaced by the HGTC one. The RC chairman was angry with us and went report to the police and after that I did know what had happened. Can Mr Goh or someone else tell me why is it like that and what happened after the situation????Originally posted by SGLoyalist:Hi,
To add on to what Meng Seng said, I hold the view that the Hougang Town Council (HGTC) under Workers' Party has for the last 10 years been very objective in its management and handling of the PAP-affiliated "national" grassroots (namely CC, CCC and RC).
Despite the fact of how the partial and partisan "national" grassroots treat the Workers' Party's presence in HougangAnd HGTC is definitely far more impartial than the PAP's treatment of Workers' Party nationally
There are several instances I know of that I am not able to reveal; however I may reveal the following 2 instances:
1) When Workers' Party members put up a poster containing the Party logo in some new notice boards specially for Hougang Constituency Committee (Workers' Party's party grassroots body in Hougang), the "national" grassroots lodged a complaint against Workers' Party to Hougang Town Council on the basis that the HGCC should not have notice boards since it was a party arm and if the notice boards were under HGTC, they were not supposed to be used for non-political purposes. HGTC promptly asked Workers' Party to remove the notices.
2) There was a broken and abandoned RC notice board left in its state for a long time which the RC zone committee did not bother to do anything about. HGTC estate surveyors found it an eyesore and highlighted it to the HGTC GM, who bothered to write a letter to People's Association (PA) to repair the notice board, doing the RC zone a favour.
I am sure since you know Hougang situation pretty well, you may have heard of these instances
Regards
The RC had really organised the barbeque and wanted to be held it in the Realty Park opp the TC and also want to set up a stage. But the chairman asked for approval from the TC or maybe others but it was rejected. So no choice the barbeque was held at the RC centre. But I am afraid as the RC chairman may found out and know it was me who said that as I know her and will..... While my father will also........ as he is the RC............ So I will be in trouble for me if they found out.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Gorby,
Don't be "fearful" about anything! As a resident of Hougang TC, you have the right to know how HGTC manages the estate! You will definitely not "get into trouble" just because you ask a few questions on HGTC's operations! We don't work on "FEAR" tactic you know else we will not improve at all as there will no longer be feedback from residents!
As for your question on the barbeque, we have checked with Mr. Low and the HGTC GM, Miss Aw. She has confirmed that there isn't any request from RC on wanting to have barbeque. I think your information is incorrect and you may refer to the source. If there is any discrepancy on the facts, please let us know...i.e. if they have any document proof of the said application, please let me know. We also do not like people to "spread rumours" like this...not that we are saying you are spreading rumours as you are just saying what you heard. And it is right for you to check with the main parties involved to know the truth. We thank you for that as now we know there might be rumours being spread.
Again, I assure you not to be "FEARFUL", we don't practice politics of FEAR!
Goh Meng Seng
Hi,Originally posted by gorby107:But sometimes both sides also have quarrel, remember that time when mine blocks of flats of area Blk 701-720 were having repairs and decorations during last year. The RC notice board in that area had gone missing being taken off left only the one at RC area At Blk 704 the RC board place was taken off and replaced by the HGTC one. The RC chairman was angry with us and went report to the police and after that I did know what had happened. Can Mr Goh or someone else tell me why is it like that and what happened after the situation????
Regards
Hi,Originally posted by gorby107:The RC had really organised the barbeque and wanted to be held it in the Realty Park opp the TC and also want to set up a stage. But the chairman asked for approval from the TC or maybe others but it was rejected. So no choice the barbeque was held at the RC centre. But I am afraid as the RC chairman may found out and know it was me who said that as I know her and will..... While my father will also........ as he is the RC............ So I will be in trouble for me if they found out.
Thank you very muchOriginally posted by SGLoyalist:Hi,
I think Meng Seng has already found out that there is no such thing. The HGTC has never received such a request for approval.
Furthermore, the Realty Park is not under HGTC management. It is under NPB and even if HGTC wanted to, it cannot give approval.
And apologies, I think, with due respect to Uncle Gorby (your father), you should let him know to check his facts.
Regards
Mr Eric Low ai yah. My zone the RC chairman want things to be perfect by organising this programme and that in order to get three stars and get praises from Mr Eric Low. When he comes for the activity held by the RC she tried to command people to do this and that in order to please him. But she do this type of thing and sometimes buay song and talk bad about him!!!!Originally posted by SGLoyalist:Hi,
I remember this incident, although not 100%.
From what I know, this could be another rumour. The notice boards were not removed. Only one was relocated to another wall. The RC made noise and the HGTC put it back in the old place. But in fact, according to HGTC survey, the wall that the RC noticeboard was relocated to had better human traffic since it faced the carpark.
Actually, come to think of it, I am not surprised that the areas you mentioned are the 700s blocks. The RC Chairman in that vicinity an extremely petty man. I think his character is the cause of many quarrels with the HGTC, not the HGTC. Else, why is it that zone having so many problems and not other zones.
There is a chairman in another zone in Hougang who is very gentlemenly and earned my respect. He never complains unnecessarily. Incidentally, I see him appearing less often with Mr Eric Low than the nasty zone chairman, raising the question that this nasty chairman is possibly a mere "ball-carrier".
I think this RC zone is far over-calculative. I think if the HGTC wants to take a leave from the nasty chairman's book and also calculate with the RCs, they will have to go through more problems.
Regards
Dear Gorby,Originally posted by gorby107:Thank you very muchI just asking only and not really want to know it. But my father told me the situation is like that or maybe somebody may said wrongly so it may pass down the wrong info to my father. My apologies.
Hi Gorby,Originally posted by gorby107:Mr Eric Low ai yah. My zone the RC chairman want things to be perfect by organising this programme and that in order to get three stars and get praises from Mr Eric Low. When he comes for the activity held by the RC she tried to command people to do this and that in order to please him. But she do this type of thing and sometimes buay song and talk bad about him!!!!
I will send it to him. But he had forgotten about it already. But thanks a lotOriginally posted by SGLoyalist:Dear Gorby,
No worries. I believe Uncle has also been fed the wrong information that is why he probably misunderstood and became upset with HGTC.
Do send my regards to him.
Regards
SGLoyalist, do you stay in Hougang??? "She" is the chairman from Hougang Zone 5 and not the man being the chairman. Or are you referring to other zones ??Originally posted by SGLoyalist:Hi Gorby,
Ha, if it is a "she" then perhaps it is not the chairman I am talking about. The chairman is a man. I think she is the secretary not chairman, but I may be wrong.
I have heard of her. Active but another one kind like the chairman. Heard complaints about her from residents before
Regards
The RC or CC most of them like to use the volunteers to help them in the elections and politics which are interfering them. My mother was kena it into before even though she was just a helper to RC but now she keep away the distance on this type of sensitve issue now.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Gorby,
I understand your position that your fear is derived from "the other side", rather than ours. As far as we are concerned, we do not put up a hostile front towards RC; afterall, many volunteers in RCs are just, volunteers and personally, I am supportive of voluntarism. However, if people start to "politicize" the whole concept of voluntarism, I think that is totally unhealthy and it may just put off many other people who might have volunteered their time to make the community a better place to live in.
For the record, I used to volunteer my service to my CCC more than 10 years ago. I am just interested to organize activities for my community but somehow, during the General Election back then, I saw how "politicized" those "volunteers" in CCC are and many of them are actually from PAP. I decided to leave CCC in the end as I feel that it has lost its "non-partisan" spirit as PA is supposed to be.
I have experienced that before and I think its unhealthy for such attitude to carry on in RC and CCC; it will not distinguish the line between the ruling party and the country clearly.
Goh Meng Seng
Hi Gorby,Originally posted by gorby107:SGLoyalist, do you stay in Hougang??? "She" is the chairman from Hougang Zone 5 and not the man being the chairman. Or are you referring to other zones ??
Oh I seeOriginally posted by SGLoyalist:Hi Gorby,
No, I do not stay in Hougang. But I have a lot of "sources"
And you are correct, I was wrong700s blocks are under Zone 5. I thought it was Zone 1. And the Chairman of the zone is indeed a woman.
The "nasty" chairman I was referring to is the Chairman of Zone 1The short guy with a mole... I think you will know who
Regards
Originally posted by Honeybunz:It is fine with me that we don't get to vote.
But it is totally unfair to us that whenever the govt comes up with sometime, we have to follow or respond.
We are lucky to vote for what we want even though it was not a good competition. We also can voice out our views too but only a "little" But you see other countries the government don't allow them to vote and also to voice out or else they will be oppressed. So our government is quite ok but still need a room of improvement and we consider ourselves lucky already with little corruptions and etc in the country. I think the government should encourage us to read in politics or maybe even join them as we may better serve our country as now not a lot of people are interested in it(my opinion)Originally posted by Honeybunz:It is fine with me that we don't get to vote.
But it is totally unfair to us that whenever the govt comes up with sometime, we have to follow or respond.
Hi Gorby,Originally posted by gorby107:Oh I seebut frankly speaking I never see him before.
My zone the RC chairman also want to have tip-top condition by organising activities and want us to join in order to get three stars and also to please Mr Eric Low. I would say that Mr Heng Chee How is better than Mr Eric Low as Mr Low is somehow quite demanding but not him(my opinion) By the way SGLoyalist where do you get your "sources" from??