Considering that Malay is the mother tongue of only a minority of Singapore's population, it makes sense for the national anthem to be in English since it is a common language used in politics and business.Originally posted by Ecxentrique:Would you consider changing the National Anthem by maybe changing parts of it to reflect the presence of Chinese and Indian communities? or perhaps even english/ singlish? Would be absurd isn't it?
CHS and St Nick's can be consider as siblings, much like ACS and MGS.Originally posted by Griffie:..Cat high and RI is not going to be co-ed.... RJ have both RI and RGS.... CHS...forget it la....co-ed will never happen in CHS....*i'm from CHS*
oh yes....i nearly forgot....but then CHS and SNGS dun really consider each other "siblings"....rather we hold prejudice towards wach others due to some conflicts in the past....Originally posted by iveco:CHS and St Nick's can be consider as siblings, much like ACS and MGS.
Nanyang gers also must accept boyz mah.....Originally posted by FireIce:victoria is girl's name mah
maybe st nicholas and st anthony shd oso accept boys
Originally posted by pikamaster:firstly i dun see why this topic should be here as it is largely a victorian affair, hardly a national issue.
I believe one of the letters written to the Forum speculated that the students would not be the "macho toughness" if the students had been mixed. Likewise, another female alumnus claimed that the vibrancy and strength of VJC was due to the "history of the VS boys" solely. The former is an extremely chauvinistic mindset which does not bode well with tolerance; the latter is the equivalent of a South Indian housewife who accepts that her husband has the right to burn her face with oil i.e. the alumnus accepts an implicit form of gender discrimination.
might as well say become Wu Suo Nan Yang.........Originally posted by greengoblin:Nanyang gers also must accept boyz mah.....then become nayang sec sch
Why doesn't this diluted half-breed shut up?Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:no wonder
sia suay...![]()
VS current location is like the bukit timah of the east and next to VJC. location-wise, they are better off compared to last timeOriginally posted by snow leopard:firstly i dun see why this topic should be here as it is largely a victorian affair, hardly a national issue.
i agwee that guys from mixed schools have greater sensitivity towards girls, at least they understand them better (i'm generalising) but there are other values and attributes that are better cultivated in an all boys environment like ruggedness and espirit de corps (again i'm generalising). i won't call it chauvinism but rather character building that is of great importance for boys. as for the female alumnus, i suppose she did feel enough of the espirit de corps to be convinced of the virtues of an all male learning environment.
in any case, the sole rationale for the change wasn't the cultivation of politeness or sensitivity in vs boys towards girls. i dun think that is a problem for vs boys either. but rather, the issue simply is with dropping school grades and rankings.
as much as i could gather from the media, VS is slumping into mediocrity and oblivion. i attribute that primarily to poor location decision of the new school premise deep at the eastern end of the island. VS boys have always been sons of common folks who take public transportation so relocating it to a far corner of the island would have deterred many parents from sending their sons to the school.
academic achievement (or under achievement) at the age of 16 does not represent achievement (or under achievement) for life. i have many brilliant classmates who may not have had the string of As that the principle might have desired but who nevertheless went on to do the school proud by achieving excellent results later in life be it in the university or in working life.
snow leopard,Originally posted by snow leopard:firstly i dun see why this topic should be here as it is largely a victorian affair, hardly a national issue.
i agwee that guys from mixed schools have greater sensitivity towards girls, at least they understand them better (i'm generalising) but there are other values and attributes that are better cultivated in an all boys environment like ruggedness and espirit de corps (again i'm generalising). i won't call it chauvinism but rather character building that is of great importance for boys. as for the female alumnus, i suppose she did feel enough of the espirit de corps to be convinced of the virtues of an all male learning environment.
in any case, the sole rationale for the change wasn't the cultivation of politeness or sensitivity in vs boys towards girls. i dun think that is a problem for vs boys either. but rather, the issue simply is with dropping school grades and rankings.
as much as i could gather from the media, VS is slumping into mediocrity and oblivion. i attribute that primarily to poor location decision of the new school premise deep at the eastern end of the island. VS boys have always been sons of common folks who take public transportation so relocating it to a far corner of the island would have deterred many parents from sending their sons to the school.
academic achievement (or under achievement) at the age of 16 does not represent achievement (or under achievement) for life. i have many brilliant classmates who may not have had the string of As that the principle might have desired but who nevertheless went on to do the school proud by achieving excellent results later in life be it in the university or in working life.
1) I dun see VS as an elite school, we're the school for sons of ordinary folksOriginally posted by pikamaster:snow leopard,
1) VS is an elite school, and the issue of elitism affects the entire nation, not just VS. Not forgetting that, even independent schools are tightly controlled by the government; RI's new principal is an ex-MOE official. Being the top cluster of society also means that in future the students will be in the top rungs of society, and the rest that follows is common sense.
2) with regards to tt female alumnus, I believe that she is in the same league as Frances Lim, who caused a stir in the national newspapers when she defended the right of a husband to have a subservient wife, stressing that women should not aim for high-flying occupations and should content themselves with doing their "wifely duty".
3) That was the original reason, as I gather, but since then the focus has veered off track. nonetheless, the school admin might have had a logical reason for its action: It is generally known that girls perform better academically than boys, and perhaps the school believed that this would imply that by including girls in its admission policy, the boys would be forced to pull up their socks, so to speak, so that they could compete with their new female classmates. At any rate, schools in Singapore never impelemnt changes because of concern for students; I stick to my line tt schools only change to preserve their own reputations and earn more profits. This is the sad state of our education system.
4) Well, I can't really comment on this, since I was from RI anyway...
5) Very much agreed; sadly tt's not how MOE, NUS and NTU see it: recall the huge argument over the quality of poly students raging on now? MOE has a long way to go, and so have NUS and NTU if they want to be truely world-class.
the (sad) pikamaster
bukit timah is the bastion of rich people whose sons attend schools like ACS, SJI, Chinese High ... VS is a school for common folks who reside in the heartlands ... we should be in the heartlands ... not next to the barbaque pit.Originally posted by boy in blues:VS current location is like the bukit timah of the east and next to VJC. location-wise, they are better off compared to last time
That ACS is not richOriginally posted by snow leopard:bukit timah is the bastion of rich people whose sons attend schools like ACS, SJI, Chinese High ... VS is a school for common folks who reside in the heartlands ... we should be in the heartlands ... not next to the barbaque pit.
hey ... uncalled for ...Originally posted by SBS1908B:Interesting....... but my friends always refer to VS guys as deprived.
ACS independent not rich? located near bukit timah right? near enough to be reached by cars right? nice, chauffer driven cars ...Originally posted by sbst275:That ACS is not rich
Chinese High? Hwa Chong lah
*FAINT**Originally posted by snow leopard:ACS independent not rich? located near bukit timah right? near enough to be reached by cars right? nice, chauffer driven cars ...
i know, near enough lah ... you didn't get me?Originally posted by sbst275:*FAINT**
Indep is @ Dover Rd
Near enough?Originally posted by snow leopard:i know, near enough lah ... you didn't get me?
i shan't drill into this meaningless discussion on near and far anymore. a person driving may find JB nearer than a person walking from toa payoh to ang mo kio. the elite schools are by and large strategically located within the 'catchment areas' of illustrious prodigies.Originally posted by sbst275:Near enough?
There is a ACS Barker along Bt Timah
And, Indep is not NEAR to Bt Timah... It is 3km away if talking abt straight dist
You are in the one that is trying to act smartOriginally posted by snow leopard:i shan't drill into this meaningless discussion on near and far anymore. a person driving may find JB nearer than a person walking from toa payoh to ang mo kio. the elite schools are by and large strategically located within the 'catchment areas' of illustrious prodigies.
We have students from all walks of life..and our heritage is one that of an afternoon English school for the street kids of 19th Century Chinatown.Originally posted by sbst275:Dun say ACS ppl are all rich, that is only ACS(I)...