Your point being?OT seems to be closer to you now more than ever..(PUN intended)Originally posted by snow leopard:i shan't drill into this meaningless discussion on near and far anymore. a person driving may find JB nearer than a person walking from toa payoh to ang mo kio. the elite schools are by and large strategically located within the 'catchment areas' of illustrious prodigies.
Yeap..Originally posted by LazerLordz:We have students from all walks of life..and our heritage is one that of an afternoon English school for the street kids of 19th Century Chinatown.
Yes, rich and middle-class form up our school.And many of us are thankful for our alma mater for giving us a leg up.
Remember that the original ACS and present ACS Barker are government -aided.We are financially sound only from the support given by the old boys who have risen and done well in society.
ok, point taken, i may have over stressed the obvious ... cheers mate, i've got ACS buddies as well.Originally posted by LazerLordz:We have students from all walks of life..and our heritage is one that of an afternoon English school for the street kids of 19th Century Chinatown.
Yes, rich and middle-class form up our school.And many of us are thankful for our alma mater for giving us a leg up.
Remember that the original ACS and present ACS Barker are government -aided.We are financially sound only from the support given by the old boys who have risen and done well in society.
not that i'm trying to be snobbish but who would wanna go to kallang baru?Originally posted by zanshin:i do not think that most people regard VS as an elite school, it is just an ordinary goverment boys school with a long history and above-average students, its old location at Kallang Bahru serve it well during that period of time, from the late 80s and the 90s. Most of its students were ordinary HDB-dwellers, ordinary students who studied hard, not the rich kids you see in schools like ACS.
In a sense, the new location is rather out of the way for its usual intake of HDB type. At the same time the richer household are unlikely to send thier chid to VS, they would remain with the Aided schools,RI and the like.
This could have caused the"brain-drain".
VS is now at Marine Parade, very near Katong Convent & St Pat's.Originally posted by vito_corleone:not that i'm trying to be snobbish but who would wanna go to kallang baru?
if VS wants to prop up their image and prestige to attract either richer or more ambitious students of course they'll have to upgrade their image as an "elite school".![]()
well ... the answer depends on purpose and where you're coming from. shopping ... probably not ... attend classes from neighbouring HDB estates why not?Originally posted by vito_corleone:not that i'm trying to be snobbish but who would wanna go to kallang baru?
which comes first? prestige draws good quality intake or good quality intake produces results and hence prestige? it's a chicken and egg question but in this case it does seem to me poor location has resulted in lowering of standards and possibly standing.
if VS wants to prop up their image and prestige to attract either richer or more ambitious students of course they'll have to upgrade their image as an "elite school".![]()
well ... you have a point there ... but if that's the case, does that mean all the anxious parents here eager to send their kids to the best schools and resorting to all ways and means (including moving to within dunno how many km from the school) are wrong?Originally posted by hairymonster83:![]()
what BULL$HIT are u idiots argueing about .... wats the point in making all-boys skool into a co-ed skool when still our local students will no matter what end up being marginalised in this society and skool by stupid foreign "talent![]()
haha " from some lousy PR CHINA or INDIAN...
WTF.....
snow,Originally posted by snow leopard:1) I dun see VS as an elite school, we're the school for sons of ordinary folks
2) I never knew what Frances Lim said, but she has her point. It is not the complete truth but it definitely is one aspect of it. you can't be a complete wife ignoring husband or family. in any case i don't equate what the female alumnus said with what Frances said. the former is a positive affirmation of the spirit and commaradie she felt from peers while the latter is a belief in a woman's priorities in life.
3) Had that been the real reason then it would've been even more unacceptable. girls perform better because they're better with languages. literature, geography, history ... even biology ... guys are bad with languages ... especially VS guys ... most of us are from chinese speaking families who face difficulties grappling with non-mathematical subjects ... that's why a lot of them bloom only at the 'a' levels or university.