"Bigots like the ones we find here will slowly die out, and civilisation will flower even more magnificantly as we gain a newer level of social enlightenment, and the nethandrals of our current society will slowly become extinct. "Originally posted by HENG@:Anyway, I think ultimately we don't have to worry. Bigots like the ones we find here will slowly die out, and civilisation will flower even more magnificantly as we gain a newer level of social enlightenment, and the nethandrals of our current society will slowly become extinct. And contary to their expectations, the widespread acceptance of homosexuality will not cause mankind to become extinct. On the contary, people will have a stronger defination and understanding of their own sexuality earlier in their lives, and this will lead to relationships being stronger when both parties are fully aware of their own sexualities, and perhaps we'll see less of the tragedies and heartbreak of today when one partner in a relationship realises that he or she is gay. Social enlightenment must be pushed ahead in spite of all the bigotry trying to send us back into the dark ages. It is the creed of humanity.
How many different ways do you think one can view it ?
Quote from post by Atobe:
If one decide to have sex with any one person - is it not a wilful act ?
If one decide to copulate using NORMAL SEXUAL ORGANS - is it not instinctive ?
A child cries when hungry - is it not instinctive ?
A child feeds when hungry - is it not wilful ?
-------------------------------------------------------------
it depends on how you view it.![]()
Originally posted by earthlings73:How can lines be blurred when each one has entrenched beliefs and values ?
Hi Greengoblin..
Just to clarify certain things..
1) You did help to close my thread. =) I thank you for that.
2) This thread has nothing to do with me leh.. I did suggest to you to close it too mah, since we have started a new forum.. But I did not get any reply.. So, I'm just stating a fact here mah..
3) I know your position now.. To be stucked in the middle.. Moderating is never an easy job.. On the one hand, to allow freedom of speech but on the other hand gotta control trolling behaviours.. And many times, the lines are pretty blurred depending on one's beliefs and values.. But do keep up the good work!
4) On my part, I will not respond to trolls from now.. However, if there are accusations on the gay comm with ill-constructed studies, I will still provide an alternative view, without responding to the trolls..
Good night everyone!![]()
Then I apply to be mod.Originally posted by greengoblin:Then you go be mod lor.....
For your Info Earthings and all...ESP PRP. I closed the previous thread on homosexuality and directed you all to the forum that Earthing set up. The previous time when the first homosexuality topic deviated to religious bashings, I closed it. However, you all wish to fall into a bait of a troll and continue to post.
And to Earthings, do you dare claim I never respond nicely to you the first time and redirect close your thread? And who was the one who petition me to allow him to open a new thread on homosexuality?
I am pretty sick and tired of this damn issue. If you wish to post on religious aspect, go EH. If you all wish to discuss objectively be my guest. However, esp to PRP, if I see anymore rubbish from you. I will make sure I close every thread you make, edit every post you write and make sure you get banned from this damn forum.
Hope you all get my drift.
The damn pissed off moderator who has to work for a living and not face only one thread 24/7
washingtonpost.comOriginally posted by Atobe:How did you come to a conclusive statement - "But you need to be a religious zealot before you can "might" succeed..... " ?
AIDS in US started in gay community? Yes.Originally posted by Atobe:What can we say of the sub-species from which AID/HIV had probably began ?
I don't quite understand this paragraph. Neanderthal and Homo Sapiens were both descendants of Homo Erectus. Do you mean that Neanderthal extinct because all of them are homosexuals?Originally posted by Atobe:If HOMOSAPIENS have developed light years ahead of the Neanderthal Age HOMOSEXUALS, who do you think are still living in the Dark Ages, and attempting to pull normal HOMOSAPIEN communities to accept the HOMOSEXUAL lifestyle and leading HOMOSAPIENS deeper into extinction ?
Mod,Originally posted by greengoblin:Then you go be mod lor.....
For your Info Earthings and all...ESP PRP. I closed the previous thread on homosexuality and directed you all to the forum that Earthing set up. The previous time when the first homosexuality topic deviated to religious bashings, I closed it. However, you all wish to fall into a bait of a troll and continue to post.
And to Earthings, do you dare claim I never respond nicely to you the first time and redirect close your thread? And who was the one who petition me to allow him to open a new thread on homosexuality?
I am pretty sick and tired of this damn issue. If you wish to post on religious aspect, go EH. If you all wish to discuss objectively be my guest. However, esp to PRP, if I see anymore rubbish from you. I will make sure I close every thread you make, edit every post you write and make sure you get banned from this damn forum.
Hope you all get my drift.
The damn pissed off moderator who has to work for a living and not face only one thread 24/7
So Heng doesn't intend to answer my question whether he is a liar.I believe he is.However,he is honest enuf not to lie that he is not.Originally posted by PRP:Heng,
I repeat: I'm not a fool or hypocrite but u often accuse me I'm.Aren't u a liar?
Pls answer,othewise your credibility are at stake.
Speak to Fireice.Originally posted by pikamaster:Then I apply to be mod.
How does one become a mod anyway?
the pikamaster
Ehh blind goon read what I wrote. What did I say about religious stuff? Post it in EH. And in your thread, you have never followed the arguments on the other but rather tried to bait others to flame.Originally posted by PRP:Mod,
Why do u need to intervene what we are discussing about?Have i or we broken any rules or law?Have i make personal attack against other without basis?U are biased on this topic.That's what i conclude.
Up yours you lah you bloody moron. NO PERSONAL ATTACKS HERE UNDERSTAND!!!!Originally posted by PRP:So Heng doesn't intend to answer my question whether he is a liar.I believe he is.However,he is honest enuf not to lie that he is not.
After four postings from ONE referenced article that reported on three ( ? ) cases of failure in corrective therapies, there still is nothing that indicate that one has to be a RELIGIOUS ZEALOT - in order to be successfully corrected as a HOMOSEXUAL.
How did you come to a conclusive statement - "But you need to be a religious zealot before you can "might" succeed..... " ?
--------------------------------------------------------------
washingtonpost.com
Vowing to Set the World Straight
Proponents of Reparative Therapy Say They Can Help Gay Patients
Become Heterosexual. Experts Call That a Prescription for Harm
By Sandra G. Boodman
Washington Post Staff Writer
Tuesday, August 16, 2005; HE01
Nicholas Cavnar said he tried everything he could think of in his 30-year quest to become heterosexual. He spent years in therapy, paying thousands of dollars for treatment designed to overcome his homosexuality. He faithfully attended meetings of Christian self-help groups for "strugglers." He married and fathered three children, a metamorphosis featured on the cover of a Catholic magazine.
Yet every day, the 54-year-old Washington publishing executive recalled, he had to suppress his deepest feelings about who he really was -- emotions he thought he had left behind at 20 when, to the delight of his devout family, he abruptly renounced his openly gay life in San Francisco.
Three years ago, Cavnar said, after soul-searching prompted by the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks, he decided his days of "white-knuckling it" were over. "I told my wife I couldn't not be gay anymore," recalled Cavnar. His biggest regret, he said, was the devastating impact ending their 26-year marriage had on the woman who had struggled with him.
Cavnar's odyssey -- from gay to ex-gay to ex-ex-gay -- is inextricably linked to his long involvement in reparative therapy, a controversial form of psychotherapy aimed at making gays straight.
While its supporters cite success stories from their clinical practices as well as a recent and much debated study showing that conversion therapy can work, the treatment is opposed by virtually every medical and mental health organization, including the American Medical Association, the U.S. Surgeon General and the American Psychiatric Association (APA), which removed homosexuality from its list of mental disorders in 1973.
Until the early 1990s the treatment, also known as reorientation therapy, was largely relegated to religious groups or to the fringes of mental health. Mainstream therapists have been taught to help patients distressed about their homosexuality work toward self- acceptance, to overcome the internalized homophobia thought to be the cause of much emotional turmoil.
Reparative therapists reject the views held by an overwhelming majority of mental health practitioners. They regard homosexuality as a pathological preference forged in the crucible of a troubled childhood and not, as most scientists believe, an inborn orientation significantly influenced by biological factors such as genetics and exposure to hormones in the womb.
"I don't think sexual orientation is genetically determined, but like a lot of preferences we have in life is a complicated and idiosyncratic mix of temperament and experience," said Warren Throckmorton, a supporter of reparative therapy who is an associate professor of psychology at Grove City College in Pennsylvania and former president of the American Mental Health Counselors Association. "The other reason I think change is possible is that
I've worked with a lot of clients who've done it."
In the past decade, the growing influence of religious conservatives and the national debate over gay rights, especially gay marriage, has revived interest in the therapy, significantly raising its public profile, spawning new practitioners and igniting debate about a matter that had been considered settled, supporters and critics agree.
"Reparative therapy is the laetrile of mental health," said New York Psychiatrist Jack Drescher, referring to the quack cancer cure banned in the United States in the 1970s.
To gay rights activist Wayne R. Besen, the author of "Anything But Straight," a 2003 book that tracks the history of ex-gay groups, the therapy is "a kinder, gentler form of homophobia. The argument has shifted from 'You're harming society' to 'You're harming yourselves.' "
Originally posted by earthlings73:Can anyone change one's persistent cynicism if one has no wish to change ?
Focus on this paragraph:
Although no rigorous outcome studies have been published, Nicolosi
estimates that one-third of patients treated at the Thomas Aquinas
Psychological Clinic, of which he is founding director,
experience "significant improvement -- they understand their
homosexuality and have some sense of control" but may still have gay
sex. Another third, he said, are "cured": They don't have gay sex and
the intensity and frequency of their same-sex desires is diminished,
but not necessarily gone. The other third fail to change.
This is an optimistic estimation since it's supplied by the same therapist who offered the therapy.
1) 33.3% Unchanged.
2) 33.3% Significant improvement but still have gay sex. Which means they have not changed they sexual orientation, just less promiscuious.
3) 33.3% Diminishes in same-sex desires. But sex drives will fall naturally one ages. Sex drive peaks at 25 year-old when testesterone level is at its peak. However, these people do not change in who they are attracted to. So is this a real change?
More critically, saying that homosexuality can be cured without showing us where's the cure does not prove the point that such therapies work.
So after so many pages in the closed thread, and on-going in this thread, the gap in our views is converging on some issues.
Originally posted by Atobe:
What can we say of the sub-species from which AID/HIV had probably began ?
---------------------------------------------------------------
AIDS in US started in gay community? Yes.
Is this gay the one and only person to bring AIDS to the world? No, there are multiple sources.
Is the very first case in HIV passed on by gay? No.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AIDS
AIDS is thought to have originated in sub-Saharan Africa during the twentieth century
Two species of HIV infect humans: HIV-1 and HIV-2. HIV-1 is more virulent and more easily transmitted. HIV-1 is the source of the majority of HIV infections throughout the world, while HIV-2 is less easily transmitted and is largely confined to West Africa. [1]
Both species of the virus (HIV-1 and HIV-2) are believed to have originated in West-Central Africa and jumped species (zoonosis) from primates to humans. HIV-1 evolved from a Simian Immunodeficiency Virus (SIVcpz) found in the chimpanzee subspecies Pan troglodytes troglodytes. [2] DNA sequencing indicates that HIV-1 (group M) entered the human population in the early 20th century, probably sometime between 1915 and 1941. [3] [4] HIV-2 crossed species from a different strain of SIV, this one found in sooty mangabeys (an Old World monkey) of Guinea-Bissau. [5]
The earliest documented HIV-1 infection dates from 1959, and was discovered in the preserved blood sample of a man from Kinshasa in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.[6] In 1969, a 15-year-old African-American male died at the St. Louis City Hospital from aggressive Kaposi's sarcoma. AIDS was suspected as early as 1988, and in 1999, researchers at Tulane University School of Medicine confirmed this, finding HIV-1 in his preserved blood and tissues. [7] [8] [9]
In 1976, a Norwegian sailor, his wife, and his nine-year-old daughter died of AIDS. The sailor had first presented symptoms in 1966, four years after he had spent time in ports along the West African coastline. Tissue samples from the sailor and his wife were tested in 1988 and found to contain the HIV-1 virus (Group O). [10] [11] The next documented western death from AIDS was that of Dr. Grethe Rask in 1977. Rask, a Danish surgeon, had worked in the Congo in the early 1970s.
The official date for the beginning of the AIDS epidemic is marked as June 18, 1981, when the US Center for Disease Control and Prevention reported in its Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report newsletter that unusual clusters of Pneumocystis carinii pneumonia had been discovered in gay men in Los Angeles in the early 1980s. [12] Over the next eighteen months, more Pneumocystis carinii clusters were discovered among otherwise healthy men in cities throughout the country, along with other opportunistic diseases (such as Kaposi's sarcoma [13] and lymphadenopathy [14]), common in immunosuppressed patients.
In June 1982, a report of a group of cases amongst gay men in Southern California suggested that a sexually transmitted infectious agent might be the etiological agent (MMWR Weekly, 1982) and was initially termed 'GRID' (Gay Related Immune Deficiency). However, the same opportunistic infections also began to be reported among hemophiliacs [15], heterosexual IV drug users, and Haitian immigrants [16]. By August 1982, the disease was being referred to by its new name, Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) (Marx et al., 1982). An anagram of AIDS, SIDA, was then created for use in French (Syndrome d'Immuno-Déficience Acquise) and Spanish (SÃndrome de Inmunodeficiencia Adquirida) (Direction Générale De La Santé, 1982).
In May 1983, doctors at the Institute Pasteur in France reported that they had isolated a new retrovirus from lymphoid ganglions that they believed was the cause of SIDA (Barre-Sinoussi et al., 1983). The virus was later named lymphadenopathy-associated virus (LAV) and a sample was sent to the CDC, which was later passed to the National Cancer Institute, USA (Connor and Kingman, 198. In May 1984, Dr Robert Gallo of the National Cancer Institute also isolated a virus that caused AIDS, and named it Human T-cell Lymphotropic Virus-III (HTLV-III) (Popovic et al., 1984). In January 1985 a number of more detailed reports were published concerning LAV and HTLV-III, and by March it was clear that the viruses were the same, from the same source, and was the etiological agent of AIDS (Marx, 1985; Chang et al., 1993). In May 1986, the International Committee on the Taxonomy of Viruses ruled that both names should be dropped and a new name, HIV (Human Immunodeficiency Virus), be used (Coffin et al., 1986).
Yes, HOMO SAPIENS and NEANDERTHAL are both descendants from HOMO ERECTUS.
If HOMOSAPIENS have developed light years ahead of the Neanderthal Age HOMOSEXUALS, who do you think are still living in the Dark Ages, and attempting to pull normal HOMOSAPIEN communities to accept the HOMOSEXUAL lifestyle and leading HOMOSAPIENS deeper into extinction ?
-----------------------------------------------------------------
I don't quite understand this paragraph. Neanderthal and Homo Sapiens were both descendants of Homo Erectus. Do you mean that Neanderthal extinct because all of them are homosexuals? [/b]
Originally posted by Atobe:I apologise for using the word "zealot" then. How about conservative Christians (as opposed to progressive Christians)? From the same article:
Originally posted by earthlings73:
After four postings from ONE referenced article that reported on three ( ? ) cases of failure in corrective therapies, there still is nothing that indicate that one has to be a [b]RELIGIOUS ZEALOT - in order to be successfully corrected as a HOMOSEXUAL.
[/color]
This was my from my initial post:Originally posted by Atobe:Originally posted by earthlings73:
So after so many pages in the closed thread, and on-going in this thread, the gap in our views is converging on some issues.
Unfortunately, all reference materials posted had indicated that the HOMOSEXUAL COMMUNITY is EXPOSED to the HIGHEST HEALTH RISK from the preferred dangerous lifestyle that will contract and spread AIDS/HIV.
Neanderthal went extinct because Homo Sapiens started to move into Neanderthal's territories.Originally posted by Atobe:Originally posted by earthlings73:
If HOMOSEXUALS need to justify their preferred HOMOSEXUAL POSITIONS with the same acts as those sub-species that remain locked in the NEANDERTHAL AGE, will that not lead the HOMOSEXUALS to the same consequences of the NEANDERTHALS ?
Can start to +1 already?Originally posted by CenturionMBT:Up yours you lah you bloody moron. NO PERSONAL ATTACKS HERE UNDERSTAND!!!!
I am starting to dislike this thread.
Contemplating closing thread in 24 hrs.
Pika wan to be mod ahh....speak nicely to fireice hor...
FI.... your call![]()