That NS Highway, it all depends. If there is a bus in front, ppl usually give way or a lorry at the left lane and you wanna overtake. Otherwise they just tailgate lorOriginally posted by nomood:yah, see, that's where you gotta be in tune. If they tailgate, just switch to the left lane.
If not, it's probably low speed traffic. Drive slow and you'd probably be fine.
With regards to the highway code, there has been no significant inclusion of *any new road manners which one would expect from a developed country with an appropriate developed level of road systems.
Whilst I'm not about to whip out the highway code here, the book which I studied was effectively the same which my aunt studied (15-20 years ago?) and the one others have studied around 1 year ago. Road rules, and nothing but road rules. Sure they've updated the ERP timings and Bus lane timings as well, but that's not what the highway code is really about, is it?
Now, the one that i studied in australia, that's properly updated. inclusion of road rules, evasive actions, what to do when tailgated etc etc, and the road manners which love_supreme so supremely advocates. sure, we'd pick these up as we go along, but wouldn't it be kindda nice if we gave the new drivers a better start? but i digress, because i suspect this is entirely irrelevant to the suggestions which love_supreme was making.
case in point, it shows how nonchalent the authorities' attitude towards the driver's education is; with a somewhat apparent flawed logic (or at least the prevalent opinion amongst fellow drivers, your'e free to disagree) of 'make our test harder = better drivers'. I think it's the beauracratic attitude which love supreme can't stand, which i think is perfectly understandable.
*edit, incomplete sentence.
Let's not go down the stereotype route anymore shall we?Originally posted by sbst275:The only reason why our roads are hostile is still manners
Esp those Mercedes, they dun give a da** on ppl crossing the roads, in fact accidents involving pedestriain often involves Premium cars
Nah...Originally posted by nomood:Let's not go down the stereotype route anymore shall we?
And no, 'manners' is not the *only* reason why our roads are hostile. you might wanna read up various other articles with regards to road rage first. A fine example would be a prior issue of Time magazine's report on asia's killer traffic, entitled "asia killer's traffic" earlier in the year. or last, i can't remember. poor planning, thrash cars, disregard for the law, etc all contributes to that.
but ya, manners in the sense of road manners is one good reason why our roads are hostile. which was what l_s was again, talking about. and not manners as in, what your mom told you about picking your teeth at the table.![]()
Lifestyle in general, fine. which i think includes the frustration which l_s has for LTA!Originally posted by sbst275:Nah...
Somehow I do feel that our roads are not safe because of lifestyle
Actually, sometimes it is all based on personal views.Originally posted by nomood:Lifestyle in general, fine. which i think includes the frustration which l_s has for LTA!
not manners.and certainly not upbringing. gosh, i cannot believe how l_s allowed his intent and topic to be distorted so far.
and hence i think we can all be in agreement that l_s was never really quite wrong in his views.Originally posted by sbst275:Actually, sometimes it is all based on personal views.
Been there done that too many times. Not sure about the weapon, there could be people trying to rob you too. but that has got nothing to do with road manners. at least they dont road hog, and the dont simple use their high beams at night,Originally posted by sbst275:I suggest you drive along NS Highway bef you commend. They can even carry weapons to kill you if you meet into road rage
New road marking... I suggest you go read the highway code bef commending again, they are reguarly updated. But dun expect it to be monthly since this means high printing cost. Like now this week, bus lanes @ Orchard are red in colour
you mean son of lawyers or politician dont take drugs? - What do you mean here? If you are brought up poorly, you grow up with bad manners incl on the road
Lets not debate or speculate about OPC demand. Bottom line is more cars = more revenue. More congestion = more reason for ERP gantry.Originally posted by sbst275:Then is my fault, it should be $2M
But if you incl OPC, it could end up be as low as $1M
So no revenue, where are they going to get $$ for education, defence, and that long list?Originally posted by Love Supreme:Lets not debate or speculate about OPC demand. Bottom line is more cars = more revenue. More congestion = more reason for ERP gantry.
This is the fu.cking scam by LTA lah. Just wait and see.
you're not really asking this for real, are you?Originally posted by sbst275:So no revenue, where are they going to get $$ for education, defence, and that long list?
Originally posted by Love Supreme:erm brake lights where got pple tint one? got the red lights what..............
KNN.....I am wondering if our LTA or TP is doing anything to control those damn idiots with heavily tinted cars? Before when you travel at night, you can easily see a few cars in front of you, but now with those fu.cker driving those car with heavy tinted rear windmirror, you can hardly see a thing. NOT EVEN THEIR BRAKE LIGHTS!!
I am just wondering why our so call world class LTA and TP, can allow things like this to happend? KNN!!! stop catching people speeding lah., your damn bloody policy to allow tinted glass is creating unnecessary problem to road user...
[b]Tinted rear windmirror should be BAN!!!
sorry, i am talking about the brake lights of the cars in front.Originally posted by hisoka:erm brake lights where got pple tint one? got the red lights what..............
the ones in the middle of the rear wind screen is extra one not needed leh
this is by far, the silliest reply.Originally posted by ahtansh:As long as one owns a car its going to be expensive so cannot afford one don't buy. Don't say they do lousy job.
Its those rich driver who think they are king of the road and old driver who think they are very experience.
May be have a compulsory three year renew of highway code? so that all drivers update themselves on signs and new traffic rules.
i think we need a 3 year review of whether pple know how to walk also...............Originally posted by ahtansh:As long as one owns a car its going to be expensive so cannot afford one don't buy. Don't say they do lousy job.
Its those rich driver who think they are king of the road and old driver who think they are very experience.
May be have a compulsory three year renew of highway code? so that all drivers update themselves on signs and new traffic rules.
Silly indeed but still a suggestion.Originally posted by nomood:this is by far, the silliest reply.