Originally posted by FireIce:i used to have a good fren who is oso pedigree teochew like me
we speak teochew in sch, when we go out...
sometimes got ppl look at us.....wat are 2 young and pretty ladies speaking teochew for....?it is difficult to find someone who can speak fluently and comfortably.....
at first we were jus having fun and trying to see if we can sustain a conversation in pure teochew......as we play....it kind of become the default language when we talk.....
the thing abt languages is.....
u can learn it, but in ur daily life, u gotta use it, tok to ppl.....ask ppl to tok to u.....
if not it does not work and it would become a chore bcos u have to learn it.....
the govt did relax a bit on the media to allow dramas and certain programs to use dialect...
like the Chao Zhou Jia Zu....
but it's kinda bo liao....the only spoken teochew heard in the show is jus to address the elders.....Ah Gu, Ah Gim....
during dunno which yr's national day rally, PM oso encourage the young to speak dialect with their grandparents to foster the bond....tok about family values....
somehow it was slowly forgotten and dialects tt you see on tv now are "translated" to chinese....
like in the I Not Stupid drama......ni lao ba......ni lao ba......
yes, it is something crude, but it's the essence of the language.....translate to chinese liao u dun relli feel the phrase's impact.....
why are we always want back something after we have lost it.....
english and mother tongue are our core languages.....
if given a chance to pick a 3rd language, most ppl will pick the popular ones like japanese, french, german, korean.....
who will bother to take up teochew, cantonese.....
it's not even recognised as an O level subj....
even if the govt bothers to push it....do students and our young have the interest?
that was 20 years ago riteOriginally posted by FireIce:i write so much u oni notice tt line ah
Originally posted by crazy monkey:that was 20 years ago rite![]()
watch cable one no cutOriginally posted by crazy monkey:next time they aired zhong yi da ge da it will be good if they dun cut off the dialect part![]()
You think it is easy?Originally posted by numby:its oni a matter if the govt 1 2 do something...if there is some campaigns or wad...mayb it can ignite or reignite the interest in sporeans
Well, even our dialect, some words are actually derived from Malay wordsOriginally posted by The man who was death:only hokkien ppl still can't speak, the other dialects CMI. i teochew also but cannot speak any of it
Aiyah...futile effort de lar...their campaign last time proves to be so successful that most of the younger generation does not speak their own dialects.Originally posted by numby:although its good to encourage sporeans to speak more english & mandarin but its also important to teach our next generations to speak more of their own dialects...
some of our younger generations basically does not know how to speak their own dialect...cos they converse mostly in eng or mandarin at home...if this practice continues...think our next or next next generations will totally be foreign to a language which they shd have known in the first place...
the younger generations have a weird thinking that its veri crude or embarrasing to be heard of speaking dialects in public...wad weird thinking is this...doesnt 1 2 learn own dialects yet so enthu in other foriegn languages like jap, french or korean...
I believe that Peranakan Hokkien and Hokkien is different in some form, even the Hokkien spoken by Malaysians and Bruneians are just that tad bit different in certain words and pronounciations.Originally posted by sbst275:Well, even our dialect, some words are actually derived from Malay words
Like Sabun Hun... Sabun comes from Malay language
no hokkien where got so many nice bad words for me to scold?Originally posted by numby:although its good to encourage sporeans to speak more english & mandarin but its also important to teach our next generations to speak more of their own dialects...
some of our younger generations basically does not know how to speak their own dialect...cos they converse mostly in eng or mandarin at home...if this practice continues...think our next or next next generations will totally be foreign to a language which they shd have known in the first place...
the younger generations have a weird thinking that its veri crude or embarrasing to be heard of speaking dialects in public...wad weird thinking is this...doesnt 1 2 learn own dialects yet so enthu in other foriegn languages like jap, french or korean...
think i have to ask the question of why should the dialects be encouraged? because our ancestors spoke it is not a good reason in my viewOriginally posted by numby:although its good to encourage sporeans to speak more english & mandarin but its also important to teach our next generations to speak more of their own dialects...