Originally posted by NuLife:make the fresh air that im privileged to stink,
a ban is uncalled for. a fine is more appropriate.Originally posted by proxyxies:tink dey did a gd job implementing more bans to places....hate ppl hu smoke...especially those tat cannot read the no smoking signs....
everytime taking the lift there will be an uncle smoking den when i go in act as if neber smoke in lift
No human rights!!!Originally posted by aleo:Smokers will be more and more disappointed with the unjust action by G**t...It is true that G**t doing this for the help and sake of a good health for everybody...And maybe their first action to help pple save money and in return reduced their cigarettes income...However, there should be human rights like in other countries...Banning smoking in Pubs and bars is really outrageous...No reason for that at all...Those pple going pubs, discos etc will jolly well know that such places bound to be smoky as people smoke inside...But now when you just want to enjoy , drink and smoke in such places over the weekends or after a hard day work also cannot...Aiyoh...Pity the smokers..
Typical singaporean. If you don't drink, gamble, watch movies etc can die or not? please lah.Originally posted by the.raven:who cares?dont smoke will die is it?
Absolutely agree.Originally posted by redstone:No human rights!!!
Non smokers breath in smoke and are slowly dying together with the smokers even if they don't want to!![]()
i got to agreeOriginally posted by theditz:Some of the forum letters are beginning to worry me. There seems to be a basic confusion over the distinction between rights and individual preferences. Just because something offends you (ala today's highly myopic letter asking the govt to apprehend the taxi driver whose dog sparked the blogger incident), does not mean that it should be banned.
Similarly, smokers have a right to smoke, especially at home (and the right to get lung cancer and emphysema). Therefore, to demand a smoking ban because of the irritating cigarette smell on your clothes is delusional and reflects really badly on the Singaporean mindset today.
No offence to aleo, but i can't really tahan people asking "what's wrong with 2nd hand smoke?"Originally posted by aleo:What wrong with 2nd hand smoke...If you dnt sniff in alot...not much harm lah...Unless you are everyday taking in alot of them...Dnt be so "kia see" lah...
So health conscious until this stage what for....G**t really making live difficult for citizens...It is fate that one will live till how long...Die means die...Even if u good health or dnt take in 2nd hand smoke still will die when your time is up...My grandfather at 70plus still smoke, health also so good...
I think there's a confusion between human rights and individual preferences again (like what someone said earlier).Originally posted by theditz:The mindset Singaporeans have nowadays is : Coz i dont like it, the government should ban it. Gay parties, casinos, blogging etc. are all really matters that have been blown out of proportion not by the government, but by self-rightous people seeking to impse their worldview on everyone else.
DDT is very effective for eliminating mosquitoes because its effect persists a long time. Why don't we spray DDT outside your house to control dengue and tell you to learn to live with the poison?Originally posted by theditz:I say, learn to live with the smoke, avoid it as you have always done, and encourage people to quit smoking. The government hasn't put a foot wrong yet, and excise taxes have been very useful in deterring new smokers.
I agree with u so far.Originally posted by theditz:That's a fair argument. Yes, Singaporeans have the right to choose the society that they live in. However, they also need to realize that some of (and at least part of) their opinions are not shared by others. what puts me off is that the reasons for their opposition are often trivial and fail to get to the point. Letters to the forum page (and on sgforums), mention things like getting irritating cigarette smoke on their shirt, or having to sit next to someone who has just smoked as primary factors. Perhaps they leave the real details (all the 2nd hand smoking stuff) to the experts, but to write such inconsequential letters to the forum reflects something about their mindset.
Another thing is the tone they employ. There's this "why cant the govt do this", "why can't the govt do that", "the govt must be like this", "you know i'm suffering?" and words to that effect. or they use scaremongering e.g. "if you dont do this, then we all will perish and die and go to hell and society will degenerate into a bunch of mindless louts"
Therefore, it is true that people should have the right to shape and influence the community that they live in, but to do it in this manner is probably unconvincing at best.
Originally posted by Rufio:"I dun see why people should take medicine when they're sick. We've been living with bacteria and viruses everywhere. Every every single human die sooner or later"
[b]i dont see why so many people hate smokers.i mean, you've been living your life with 2nd hand smoke right? every single humans die sooner or later.
it is the result of propaganda that people think smoking causes cancer. most people want ciggies to be banned because the smoke is irritating more than because it cause cancer.Originally posted by Rufio:i dont see why so many people hate smokers.i mean, you've been living your life with 2nd hand smoke right? every single humans die sooner or later.
and also, to have a perma ban of smoking in singapore? that isn't possible.you say you want to breathe in fresh air. but was there fresh air in singapore in the first place? why was there a small hole in the ozone layer above the artic? (or was it the antartic?) that's mainly due to pollution. why do we get haze? its from the smoke from indonesia. so you want to ask the Govt to ask Indonesia to stop cutting and burning down of trees?
don't ask the govt for ridiculous stuff.you know it won't happen, and it never will. you can just wish for it to happen. the smoking ban on public places in singapore is already bad. why make it more worse?so you can have a healthy life? then you're being selfish, am i not right?
that's just my opinion on those who say "oh i hate smokers, cause they make my shirt smelly, etc etc etc"
but i however, despite saying the above, support the govt on banning smoking in air-conditioned areas, foodcourts and coffeeshops.
peace.
"I don't see the need for governments to take actions against potential pandemics like Bird Flu, Dengue, AIDS, SARS.... I mean, you've been living your life with viruses right? every single humans die sooner or later."Originally posted by Rufio:i dont see why so many people hate smokers.i mean, you've been living your life with 2nd hand smoke right? every single humans die sooner or later.
you have lived all your life with the above viruses?Originally posted by redstone:"I don't see the need for governments to take actions against potential pandemics like Bird Flu, Dengue, AIDS, SARS.... I mean, you've been living your life with viruses right? every single humans die sooner or later."
Am I right to say that, you tell me?