Originally posted by ShutterBug:
I ask again:
Does CPF really work?
Members of Parliament told The New Paper they are seeing more of their elderly constituents hoping to rent one-room flats without the waiting period.
Mr Charles Chong (Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC) felt that while the HDB is flexible and did see each case on its merits, the current policy may have to be reviewed.
He said: 'Years ago, we had people coming to us because they wanted help in hastening their applications to get their bigger flats.'
Now, because of financial problems, they want to sell these flats to rent smaller ones.
'We are seeing more and more of such cases in the last few years and they are not just the elderly,' he added.
PREVENT PROFITEERING
He said the policy of the 2 1/2-year waiting period was to prevent people from making a windfall from selling their bigger flats to rent the much cheaper and heavily-subsidised one-room flats.
But Mr Chong added that many want to sell their flats to settle debts or because they can no longer maintain their larger flats.
He said: 'I see one to two cases every week. They ask for help in asking HDB to allow them to be exempted from the debarment period.'
Dr Lily Neo (Jalan Besar GRC) had brought up the issue in Parliament last June of whether the 2 1/2-year debarment period to obtain rental flats could be waived for elderly people facing financial difficulties.
Dr Neo told The New Paper that she has seen a 50 per cent increase in the number of elderly approaching her with requests to help them sell their flats so they could rent one-room flats.
She sees several cases every month.
Most, she said, wanted the money to cover their daily expenses as they were too old to work.
And some went away happy.
Speaking from her own experience, Dr Neo said HDB has made exceptions based on medical grounds.
Madam Halimah Yacob (Jurong GRC) said the increasing number of potential downgraders she was seeing were not confined to just the elderly.
They were mainly low-income earners who downgrade to use the cash for their daily needs and to settle debts.
She noted that some were living beyond their means, buying products on hire-purchase schemes and when their other bills accumulate, they see downgrading as their way out.
Madam Ho Geok Choo (West Coast GRC) said she was seeing more elderly coming to her for help.
NEED CASH FAST
While some downgrade to smaller flats for practical reasons after their children move out, others are desperate for cash and could not wait 2 1/2 years to rent a one-room flat.
She said: 'They need to downgrade so they can get the money to help them settle their debts like their housing loans.
'For those without debts, the proceeds from the sale of the flat will provide them with a source of income.'
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INSIDE MPS' FILES OF DESPERATE CASES
MADAM HALIMAH YACOB
(Jurong GRC):
NO MONEY for HDB loan
A WIDOW in her 60s approached Madam Halimah for help.
The woman could no longer service the loans for her four-room flat, which she had bought.
Her son, who is in his 20s, has refused to work and isn't helping to pay the loan.
So the woman is trying to sell the flat, get some cash and rent a one-room flat instead.
MADAM HO GEOK CHOO
(West Coast GRC):
NO MONEY to live on
AN elderly couple approached her for help. They were broke and wanted to sell their three-room flat.
Their children had their own families to care for and all were not well-off. Madam Ho said: 'The old man was sick and couldn't work.'
Their first two appeals to get a one-room flat quickly were rejected. But Madam Ho appealed again on their behalf and was successful.
DR LILY NEO
(Jalan Besar GRC):
NO MONEY for medical bills
A 70-year-old man's wife had heart problems.
The childless couple needed money urgently to pay for the woman's monthly medical treatment.
He was too old to work and they had no savings left.
He approached Dr Neo for help and HDB allowed them to rent a one-room flat immediately after they sold their two-room flat.
The problems regarding CPF are closely linked with other national problems and not just CPF per se.
1) the over-confidence of the govt and citizen over our long term growth. I believe many people here would remember not so long ago, in the late 80s and early 90s, where the HDB property price increased by the month.
The whole economy with the mentality of the govt and its people were solely geared towards growth, growth and growth. Property agent shouted: "hot, hot, hot. Today don't buy, tomorrow hotter".
This, despite, one Minister, YCT (if I remember correctly) warned along this line- Singaporean cannot always expects the govt to buy back HDB flat at a higher price than the price it sold to citizen. He used this anology: "if the govt sells a T-shirt to the citizen and the citizen wears it. He can't expects to sell back to the govt at a higher price". And this, despite, the projected falling birth rate and aging population.
In short, we blindly followed the golden calf of easy money, thinking tomorrow will always be bright or that the govt will somehow step in and set everything right again. The worst thing is, we blindly followed govt policies without questioning or doubting. In some cases, rushed to participate in a govt scheme when a policy is announced. Kiasu mah, must be first mah.
2) the govt wrong policy of asset enhancement. It led to the feel good factor, that thing is good now but it will get better still. Then, I remember some old retiree lectured young turk, like me, on the ABC of Singapore politic: "Singapore govt- whatever they promise they always deliver. Tell you, no govt in this world comes any closer".
The policy of asset enhancement came about after GCT became PM and the subsequent election where the PAP govt had a slide in vote. The govt attributed one of the reasons to the get-even attitude of the lower income Singaporean.
So how? sweeten the ground (or muffle the ground, if you wish). An indirect bribe on the lower income group. It is like "here here you poor fellow. Some 'ang pows' for you to shut your whinning". If the govt really care for the lower income group, it would have done the right things. Upgrade hospital facilities/schemes for the lower income, upgrade facilities/schemes for the disabled, review the policies concerning the lower income group etc.
Like someone correctly pointed out in SG forum. Why include land price in HDB flat if it is on leasehold? And here is the tricky part. The govt actually argued that we actually "own" the HDB flat. A logic I find hard to follow. How to be owner if you are on leasehold? It is like, I rent you my room on paper but you own it (by words)? Also, why is HDB flat's land price not pro-rated? If there are 20 storey, why is land price not divided by 20 residents?
3) CPF has been overburden with too many dependent schemes and policies. From insurance, to housing, to saving for old age, to hospitalization, to annualty, to investment, to child's education etc. The list just get longer over the years. CPF should return to its basic, namely a saving for old age and nothing more.