Indonesia to cut sentences of militants, including Bashir: ministers
JAKARTA: Indonesia's government plans to grant reprieves to convicted militants including 2002 Bali bombing conspirator Abu Bakar Bashir to mark an important Muslim festival, a report said.
Further sentence cuts for militants such as Bashir are likely to anger Australia, which has protested over previous remissions for people convicted over the 2002 Bali bombings which left 88 Australians dead among the 202 killed.
The 67-year-old cleric was sentenced in March for a criminal conspiracy leading to the bombings.
He is accused by some foreign governments of being the spiritual leader of the Jemaah Islamiyah Islamic militant group which has been blamed for both Bali bombings and a string of other attacks.
"As long as the regulations have not been revised, all prisoners will be given a sentence cut in line with their rights under prevailing laws and regulations," Justice Minister Hamid Awaluddin was quoted by the Pikiran Rakyat newspaper as saying.
Every year Indonesia grants sentence cuts to prisoners considered well-behaved to mark independence day and important religious festivals.
But Australia has called on Jakarta to exempt militants including Bashir from the annual sentence cuts, with Prime Minister John Howard warning that any further reduction for Bashir would cause "deep and lasting anger" in Australia.
"The Republic of Indonesia, as a sovereign state, must not be dictated by the wishes of other countries. The matter of the sentence cuts is based on prevailing regulations and laws," Awaluddin said.
He said that according to the regulations, all prisoners who behaved well had the right to a cut in their sentence.
"This year, (we) will continue to accord the sentence cuts to those prisoners who meet the criteria," he added.
On August 17 Bashir's 30-month sentence was cut by more than four months to mark Indonesian independence day, triggering anger in Australia.
A Jakarta prison official has said Bashir may be among thousands of prisoners to receive sentence cuts to mark the main Muslim festival of Eid al-Fitr later this week.
Foreign Minister Hassan Wirayuda earlier this month said the government was reviewing the presidential decree on remissions particularly concerning serious crimes, including terrorism, but he gave no more details or time-frame.
Under the remissions decree, prisoners who have served between six months and one year are eligible for a one-month sentence cut and those serving more than one year could get two months struck off.
Bashir on Tuesday condemned the latest Bali attacks, saying that bombings in non-combat zones would only claim innocent victims. - AFP/de
Every now and then, Indonesia seems to spin out of control.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:I believe the majority of Muslims will condemn the beheading of innocent students in Indonesia, which has aroused fears of reprisals.
Since this barbaric act is deemed non-Islamic, would it be appropriate for Muslim leaders to pronounce the perpetrators takfir, effectively excommunicating them and distancing the overwhelming majority of Muslims from this act? Similarly, any christians who participate in reprisal acts of violence should be excommunicated.
as far as i could discern you can be charged for sedition for anything since the definition is so freaking vagueOriginally posted by robertteh:Speaking of seditions, are people guilty of seditions if they speak up in forums to condemn religious violence by expressions like "those bastard and barbaric #$@%&& (touching on race or religion).
Before introducing more harsh laws like intended amendments to Sedition Act with political implications to go after those expressing political disagreements or criticisms of government actions or policies, existing laws and their enforcements should be made just and equitable.
Police powers in investigations of crimes should not be based on assumptions depriving accused of his rights to put up his best defence based on his own circumstances and facts.
Another example is to criticise the behaviour of certain race in certain incidents e.g. over-reacting to presence of pets or food in public places or seeming privileged illegal parking outside places of worship where other races are regularly fined for the same offence.
Will amendments to Sedition Act then be able to give some leeway to such cases of seditions.
1 word.. Indonesia sucks big time. First was the massacre of chinese immigrants , blaming chinese for being rich. If ur own ppl dun work hard.. of course the wealth will goto others. Now the Christians being prosecuted ? how long will the Non-muslims hold thier hands against these atrocities. Look at Thailand even Buddhist monks are being killed.Originally posted by pat33:Every now and then, Indonesia seems to spin out of control.
I wonder why their police and politician only show their faces and look busy after a bomb blast or a mass killing. What are they doing normally? Hiding behind desk and asking for bribe?
If you watch the news, after each and every bomb blast, the police would ask the international community for aids or donation.
Today's ST says we are behind Sudan and Malaysia for press freedom...Originally posted by robertteh:Speaking of seditions, are people guilty of seditions if they speak up in forums to condemn religious violence by expressions like "those bastard and barbaric #$@%&& (touching on race or religion).
Before introducing more harsh laws like intended amendments to Sedition Act with political implications to go after those expressing political disagreements or criticisms of government actions or policies, existing laws and their enforcements should be made just and equitable.
Police powers in investigations of crimes should not be based on assumptions depriving accused of his rights to put up his best defence based on his own circumstances and facts.
Another example is to criticise the behaviour of certain race in certain incidents e.g. over-reacting to presence of pets or food in public places or seeming privileged illegal parking outside places of worship where other races are regularly fined for the same offence.
Will amendments to Sedition Act then be able to give some leeway to such cases of seditions.
hmm.. i cant seem to find the emoticon with the middle finger....Originally posted by maggot:All believed in Islam and there would be no problems![]()
Eh, but they are killing their own people right?Originally posted by maggot:All believed in Islam and there would be no problems![]()
Sorry your reference to race or religions might be construed as seditious or racism under the proposed amendments to Sedition Act. This is the ultimate price people have to pay if we give too much discretionary power to politicians in interpretations of what is sedition or racist remarks. For all we know, what amounts to sedition may be just normal expressions of opinions. Just imagine what kind of future we are leaving to our children and children's children given this kind of control. From all the NKF and GRCs, it is for certain that many so-called good deeds might be just attempts to hold on to political power which is what many citizens cannot see. Is that the price we want to pay in running of our country in this manner in the name of some look-good excuses like racial harmony.Originally posted by BadzMaro:If all believed in islam.. hardcore radical clerics will rule the goverment..we will be fuking living in the stone age!![]()
Yup.. well, welcome to the 21st century.A new kind of dissent will grow within the community. Its just a matter of time before all these explode in thier face.The generation before us weren't like this.. and the generation after us will be another. This, is the MTV generationOriginally posted by robertteh:Sorry your reference to race or religions might be construed as seditious or racism under the proposed amendments to Sedition Act. This is the ultimate price people have to pay if we give too much discretionary power to politicians in interpretations of what is sedition or racist remarks. For all we know, what amounts to sedition may be just normal expressions of opinions. Just imagine what kind of future we are leaving to our children and children's children given this kind of control. From all the NKF and GRCs, it is for certain that many so-called good deeds might be just attempts to hold on to political power which is what many citizens cannot see. Is that the price we want to pay in running of our country in this manner in the name of some look-good excuses like racial harmony.
The outrage of those responding to beheading of Christain girls in Indonesia was horrendous in language that they seem like seditions under the Sedition Act. That is how sedition got into the post in this beheading thread not some coils of ropes untwining into some snakes or shitting into the pants due to recoil trembling of the hardening sedition act.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Why has a thread on “Christian students beheaded” in Indonesia turned into a discussion in sedition in Singapore?
Are we so afraid of the sedition law that we cannot find the words to condemn such barbaric act? Or have we lost our guts seeing a snake and now we are sh i tting in our pants seeing a coil of rope?
Sensible and brave are those who have the guts to write about “the majority of Muslims will condemn the beheading of innocent students in Indonesia”, calling for “Muslim leaders to pronounce the perpetrators takfir, effectively excommunicating them and distancing the overwhelming majority of Muslims from this act” and “any christians who participate in reprisal acts of violence should be excommunicated”, calling the Indons sick and “sucks big time”, and cautioning against hardcore radical fanatics in ” If all believed in islam.. hardcore radical clerics will rule the goverment..we will be fuking living in the stone age”. We could even see “the middle finger”.
Or the government agents are their way to you, Oxford mushroom, iveco, BadzMaro?
No, it's sicko 'iveco' who is sick!Originally posted by iveco:WTF are those Indons thinking? Are they sick?
U dun know anything then dont speculate lah!Originally posted by pat33:Every now and then, Indonesia seems to spin out of control.
I wonder why their police and politician only show their faces and look busy after a bomb blast or a mass killing. What are they doing normally? Hiding behind desk and asking for bribe?
This is an isolated incident!Originally posted by BadzMaro:1 word.Indonesia sucks big time. First was the massacre of chinese immigrants , blaming chinese for being rich.
I am belly belly scared leh...Originally posted by Salman:Islam cannot be criticised. Islam cannot be even questioned. I'm warning you. Do it and you will all be jailed. Period. Like it or not, thats the law of the land. You don't like it, get out of Singapore!
o.k i admit i used the wrong word no immigrant.. was typing too fast. Hey , i know close people who never made it to the chopter at thier backyard. I know a close friend who is the only surviving member of his entire house when their house got stormed. Yes it freaks me out!Originally posted by vindicated:This is an isolated incident!
Dont need to be worry till u freaked out like that!
This incident occurred in sulawesi, not in jawa nor sumatra whereby 1998 riots occurred!
So get ur facts right!!!
Who are u to call indon chinese an immigrant? They hv assimilated comfortably to the indonesian community!
So pls dun talk nonsense!!!