ya cheap and good.Originally posted by BillyBong:Some arsonists practicing how to burn HDB flats perhaps?
I miss those sandy playgrounds....fireproof and plenty of sand to put out a fire.
eh it does not make sense....how come the playground so near the houses?Originally posted by crazy monkey:Tampines fire may be arson, police investigating
By Rita Zahara, Channel NewsAsia
SINGAPORE : A fire at Block 261, Tampines Street 21, on Monday could be arson.
Preliminary investigations by the Singapore Civil Defence Force revealed the fire was no accident and could be a deliberate act.
The case has been handed over to the police for further investigations.
National Serviceman Mohd Yunos Mohd Nor, 22, had never imagined he would one day have to put out a fire in his own house.
The blaze engulfed a children's playground at the void deck and the unit just above it.
His flat on the third storey was not spared.
As huge bellows of smoke fogged the skies, more than 100 residents had to be evacuated.
Mohd Yunos braved fire and smoke to rescue a 14-year-old neighbour from the flat directly above the playground, despite not knowing his mother's whereabouts.
Twenty-four people suffered smoke inhalation and had to be sent to three hospitals.
Nuriah Kassim, who was in the vicinity to buy medicine, was shocked to see the raging fire spreading into her friend's living room.
Speculation into the cause of the fire was rife - with some residents suspecting foul play.
Milan N. Mehta, a resident, said: "Usually I see a group of boys hang around at the playground, using lighters and burning the parts of the playground, and using candles and burning and destroying the property."
Nirmal N. Mehta, a resident, said many people were playing with sparklers during Deepavali and Hari Raya.
Some of the residents in the area complained that having a children's playground at the void deck is a fire hazard.
They said if a playground is put up, safety precaution like sprinklers or fire extinguishers should also be installed to prevent something like this from happening.
This is not the first time a children's playground had caught fire.
In October last year, a playground in Yishun was engulfed in flames and was almost razed to the ground.
Anyone with information should call the Police Hotline at 1800-255 0000. - CNA/de
it will be stolen for sure.Originally posted by gorby107:Think they should install Fire Extinguisher at the playground
Or come to the worse, Sercurity cameras
playground on ground floor rite under the block.Originally posted by ceecookie:eh it does not make sense....how come the playground so near the houses?![]()
oh no!! my house just outside the flat is a playground also. stupid planners pls some one sack all of them and the pple who approved the thingsOriginally posted by crazy monkey:playground on ground floor rite under the block.![]()
outside flat still no so dangerous those in void deck catch fire the flat above will be burned alsoOriginally posted by hisoka:oh no!! my house just outside the flat is a playground also. stupid planners pls some one sack all of them and the pple who approved the things
no leh up to 3rd storey was affected go see the newspaperOriginally posted by ceecookie:But the house above it is so high...how can the fire reach it..its like boiling a kettle..the flame being the fire and the kettle being the house....i thought it will just burn the ceiling of the void deck?
smoke inhalation can killed persons or babies in seconds , and also the heat will melt or cause fire hazard materials to burn easily.Originally posted by crazy monkey:outside flat still no so dangerous those in void deck catch fire the flat above will be burned also![]()
can build sprinklers.Originally posted by gorby107:Install playground as far away from the flats???
But I suspect there would be more problem
So how then???
Don't build???
can build sprinklers.Not a bad idea. Smoke detector with some fire extinguisher at void deck.
40 years ago we dun have this kind of playground in void deck. last time one got sand only not fire hazard. if your hse below got playground will you say the same thing ?Originally posted by dragg:typical singaporeans.
it is an isolated case. first time in 40 years and we need to build this and that?
fire so big throw ball also no useOriginally posted by ceecookie:how come the resident never test the fire fighting ball?
and by the way who cares abt those stupid parties like PAP, go ard tolk cock for watlucky private and condo dun have....
Should ask why the fire engine from Civil Defence arriving so late. I thought we have the superb elite managing the Civil Defence? why can't civil defence response within certain time before the fire got to on third storey?Originally posted by gorby107:Think they should install Fire Extinguisher at the playground
Or come to the worse, Sercurity cameras
people jump off the train - we want barriers.Originally posted by crazy monkey:40 years ago we dun have this kind of playground in void deck. last time one got sand only not fire hazard. if your hse below got playground will you say the same thing ?![]()