Even Malaysia's elections are more realistic. Ours seems like a soap opera.Originally posted by lwflee:That's because we do not do elections in Singapore. What we have is a staged event commererating the triumphs of PAP, and of the Lee family.
It's unavoidable an issue.Something's gotta be done to deal with this.Mandate?Originally posted by lwflee:33% is really incredibly low, given the fact that voting is compulsory in Singapore. Those in parliament, especially Hsien Loong need to ask themselves if they really have the mandate to lead the country.
Haha! I actually did not vote at the last UK GE. That was because i had ommitted to get myself on the electoral register. I tell myself that it's all my housemate's fault! He threw the registration letter away!Originally posted by LazerLordz:Let's all go and do our duty as Commonwealth citizens and vote Blair out![]()
YCT to lose his seat & cabinet post? That would mean the loss of Hong Kah GRC. It isn't easy to snatch a GRC from the hands of the ruling party.Originally posted by BillyBong:There can be no firm discussion until the ruling party complete their re-drawing of electorial boundaries for the upcoming election.
But for sure those GRCs currently under PM Lee, MM Lee, SM Goh and potential candidates for PM like Teo Chee Hian and Ng Eng Hen, and capable MPs such as Vivan Balakhrisnan, Tharman Sharmugaratnam and Khaw Boon Wan will not be contested.
My prediction would be:
a. Chiam See Tong will retain his seat,
b. Low Thia Khiang will retain his seat
c. Yeo Cheow Tong will lose his seat and position in Govt.
d. At least 1 GRC (probably Yeo's will fall to either WP or joint opposition hands)
Item #3 and #4 on my prediction is based on the WP/opposition able to capitalise on all the mistakes LTA and ultimately Yeo have done over his tenure as Transport minister.Originally posted by iveco:YCT to lose his seat & cabinet post? That would mean the loss of Hong Kah GRC. It isn't easy to snatch a GRC from the hands of the ruling party.
Still, anything is possible. After all, Wigan Athletic is 2nd in EPL when they are expected to be 2nd last.
Some of the problems were inherited from the Mah Bow Tan era. One of the gravest mistakes made by Mah was to farm out the NEL to SBS back in 1999. His actions were the death knell for Tibs Holdings.Originally posted by BillyBong:Item #3 and #4 on my prediction is based on the WP/opposition able to capitalise on all the mistakes LTA and ultimately Yeo have done over his tenure as Transpot minister.
There is no better time to dispose of argubly one of the weakest links in the ruling party.
Well frankly i have no great respect for Mah either.Originally posted by iveco:Some of the problems were inherited from the Mah Bow Tan era. One of the gravest mistakes made by Mah was to farm out the NEL to SBS back in 1999. His actions were the death knell for Tibs Holdings.
Hmm it seems difficult for Chiam to retain his seat for nowOriginally posted by BillyBong:My prediction would be:
a. Chiam See Tong will retain his seat,
The only way the PAP can 'wrest' Potong Pasir from Chiam is if Chiam steps down.Originally posted by gorby107:Hmm it seems difficult for Chiam to retain his seat for now
The PAP is very hungry to take back Potong Pasir
by renting the land from HDB so Chiam have no more space to do his rally
Organise big event(food and so on)
Big Banner of Sitoh Yin Pin
and so on......................
But Chiam may stay because of
Covered Walkways
Changing of Letterboxes
Repainting of flats
Renovating of Lifts and so on................
The Last GE Chiam won over a minority victory(51.3% if I am not wrong)
hmm..........Originally posted by BillyBong:The only way the PAP can 'wrest' Potong Pasir from Chiam is if Chiam steps down.
The antics of PAP representative Mr Seetoh does little to improve their popularity. In addition, every attempt by Mr Chiam to improve his constituency has been rebuffed by the elements within the ruling party over every technicality they can conjure.
Take the lift landing upgrading project he undertook for his constituents which was highlighted in parliment. He was literally stonewalled by some goofball MP who threw a contentious mountain of economic figures and costs to marginalise Chiam's goals.
There is always a first time and he may be the infamous first.Originally posted by iveco:YCT to lose his seat & cabinet post? That would mean the loss of Hong Kah GRC. It isn't easy to snatch a GRC from the hands of the ruling party.
Still, anything is possible. After all, Wigan Athletic is 2nd in EPL when they are expected to be 2nd last.
Originally posted by gorby107:SM Goh still good meh?
as above...............
For me:
[b]Tanjong Pagar GRC
because of MM Lee Kuan Yew
Marine Parade GRC
because of SM Goh Chok Tong
Ang Mo Kio GRC
because of PM Lee Hsien Loong
Sembawang GRC
because of Tony Tan
Pasir-Ris Punggol GRC
because of Teo Chee Hean and the opening of Buangkok MRT
Still have other wards????
Don't be so happy yetOriginally posted by monoslayer:when is the next GE?? i finally got my voting rights!! yeah!! anyway, when GE approaches = privileges for us 'lao bai xing'... *think s'pore shares*
Why?Originally posted by BillyBong:Well frankly i have no great respect for Mah either.
He left the LTA in a mess. Yeo didn't have a clean slate to start with. In addition, all the cracks and foot-dragging were duly exposed during the nicoll highway collapse, along with high profile 'eviction' of tenants along the circle line under threat of liquidated damages and conveniently blaming the sub-contractors for recent barriers to stop cycling on overhead bridges that caused the unfortunate paralysis of one such cyclist.Originally posted by SGEMP:Why?
(I am neutral in this case.)