We dun need the relatives of the lee families to run the GLCs. Is Singapore really shortage of talents?Originally posted by ben1xy:The high labour cost has resulted in the hollowing of many manufacturing sectors, this is the salient factor on why the government needs GLCs present to help develop the high-value added industries.
Has Singtel recoup what they have invested in other countries?Originally posted by ben1xy:Singtel is doing quite well overseas... they acquired one Thai company, One Indonesian and there's one more... i think it's in the Phillipines and i think all 3 acquisitions remain pretty competitive in their respective markets. though i still seriously think they overpaid for the acquisition of optus.
i wun rebut your first statement. coz i feel uncomfortable tooOriginally posted by SnowFlag:We dun need the relatives of the lee families to run the GLCs. Is Singapore really shortage of talents?
What high-value added industries we have that has helped singaporean with their jobs?
30 years. that is how long it will take before we'll see the results.Originally posted by SnowFlag:Has Singtel recoup what they have invested in other countries?
Is Singtel making money for the many singaporeans who bought singtel shares with the CPF?
The answers is obvious.
Originally posted by ben1xy:i wun rebut your first statement. coz i feel uncomfortable too
for your second comment;
our 4-pillars. bio-tech, chem, electronics and precision engineering. these are the industries that attract MNEs here.
hmm.. i would like to ask whether u r familiar with the flying geese model? I'll assume that u r... anyway... with the Asean 4 and China catching up... we have to keep upgrading and staying in front. Do u seriously think we are able to do that without having GLCs as the upstream intermediaries?
Because we are not allowed to do so. No one in singapore are allowed to pose a challenge to the lee family. The problem with GLC are they are run by ppl with littlle industry experience. I seen too many cases. I rather gahment accept scolars with several years of work experience than directly from universities
S'pore is forced by external circumstances... it's not that the government is purposely making our lives difficult. It's just that the competition from China and the Asean 4 is too intense.
maybe we can sidetrack a little and discuss how do we solve this problem? that would be more productive than juz criticising
i agree with this pointOriginally posted by SnowFlag:The problem with GLC are they are run by ppl with littlle industry experience. I seen too many cases. I rather gahment accept scolars with several years of work experience than directly from universities
actually... i reckon they gave out shares for 2 reasonsOriginally posted by dragg:singtel shares is one of the biggest joke.
everybody to have a share of the pie. knn, most of them are still losing.
why? even though they posted one record results after another?
Risky? ok lor. i dun want to disagreed on this.. but my point is... they should just admit that SG market is too small and weak to have a real open market .. that is all.. admit that there is a monopoly rather then trying to sell us their stupid wayang show and have ppl like that salman con to think Singtel and M1 are owed by DIFF boss....Originally posted by ben1xy:my point on this slightly differs. i always thought it's more like a show for the world to see. which i dun disagree with because the telecommunication sector is really important for S'pore's economy and i really hope no foreign competitor will emerge and topple Singtel.. that would be too risky. Speaking of which, Singtel is S'pore's largest corporation. sometimes it's sad when u think abt it. But what really is the root problem? GLCs? or is it us? IMO its the whole meritocracy systemtake makes us so risk adverse. sighz
can't openly admit la... will face backlash from the international community... lets say Singtel tries to acquire a telecomm company in China.. then they dissaprove cause we nv open up our own sector. then how?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):but my point is... they should just admit that SG market is too small and weak to have a real open market .. that is all.. admit that there is a monopoly rather then trying to sell us their stupid wayang show and have ppl like that salman con to think Singtel and M1 are owed by DIFF boss....![]()
they should take concrete steps to slowly open up the local market. temasek should slowly withdraw their holdings in local listed company and invest overseas.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):Risky? ok lor. i dun want to disagreed on this.. but my point is... they should just admit that SG market is too small and weak to have a real open market .. that is all.. admit that there is a monopoly rather then trying to sell us their stupid wayang show and have ppl like that salman con to think Singtel and M1 are owed by DIFF boss....![]()
I remember once there were talks by the govt to withdraw somewhat from the domain of private businesses. What happening to it? just talk only?Originally posted by dragg:they should take concrete steps to slowly open up the local market. temasek should slowly withdraw their holdings in local listed company and invest overseas.
got action lah.. temasek sold their share to other GLC lor.. or companies owned by some very important people lor...Originally posted by pat33:I remember once there were talks by the govt to withdraw somewhat from the domain of private businesses. What happening to it? just talk only?
If leaders don't want Chee Soon Juan to ask difficult questions in the next election like "where is our monies", who is to blame if he said something that might be interpreted as defamatory.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):got action lah.. temasek sold their share to other GLC lor.. or companies owned by some very important people lor...![]()
i do agwee that we can all be proud of our nation's achievements over the last 40 years. however, it seems to me that those achievements have been overly perceived to be largely attributable to the goodness of our govt. i'm not saying they should not receive kudos for taking us this far but i do wonder if it would have made any difference if they were not around, or some other brand of govt were to have led us.Originally posted by ben1xy:but why is it that people think that everything the govt is doing is wrong? we hvae made so much progress within 40 years.
it wun be fair to compare s'pore with taiwan or Korea. they have a bigger population and they have natural resources. LEt's look at a country similar to ours then, HK. The government adopted a lasseiz faire approach and took a back seat. If we study their economy carefully, they havent been doing well... their only real competitive industries are:Originally posted by snow leopard:i do agwee that we can all be proud of our nation's achievements over the last 40 years. however, it seems to me that those achievements have been overly perceived to be largely attributable to the goodness of our govt. i'm not saying they should not receive kudos for taking us this far but i do wonder if it would have made any difference if they were not around, or some other brand of govt were to have led us.
actually, Taiwan and Korea's government intervened heavily. Korea was highly criticised for crony capitalism and relationship lending with the government bestowing low cost capital based on networks. and of coz... when such things happen.. there will be corruption.Originally posted by snow leopard:after the second world war, most asian economies were in shambles so in a certain sense we all re-started from scratch around the same time. now, isn't it coincidental of those re-building economies, the ones that were most successful were Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore, Korea? With the exception of Korea, the other two dragons didn't have our brand of govt. What abt the more prosperous states in Malaysia like Penang and Johor? What abt Indonesia? Which group of people have prospered as well?
it seems to me the success of these nations, cities or particular social groups has more to do with a certain culture than any specific leadership.
Originally posted by Lazylordz:screw me
Originally posted by ben1xy:
I cant agree with this, because Taiwan and Korea both had strong steel indutries which were pervasive in their industrial push. anyway.. lets ignore this point. i would argue that they have a bigger domestic market. something which S'pore doesnt.
larger as it is, Taiwan's domestic market is still puny compared to the worldwide demand necessary to support its globalised industries. like Singapore, Taiwan needs to reach out to the world to prosper hence their situation is not dissimilar to ours.
HK is now facing big problems and the government doesn't have the ability to intervene. i would argue that we r in a better position
we haven't really gotten out of our problems either so i shall argue that we're no better.
i am not here to put HK down. what i am pushing is that we r in a much more competitive position than they are in. Not good.. but definately better.
but that's not what the statistics tell us ... hong kong's economy will be more tightly interwoven with china's and in the long run will ride the wave better than us.
exactly. HK has China to lean on.
so shouldn't HK be in a better position?
We don't. that's why we have to keep upgrading. after the CEPA agreement, it has actually helped HK significantly. We, however, don;t have that luxury.
having a god father is one thing but being ingenious is even more crucial and that comes with freedom to make choices and to practise business acumen. if everything is centrally directed, if the destiny of everyone lies within the hands of a select few, we would be (and we have been) at the mercy of the mistakes of those chosen ones who have proven to be human after all ...
For your first paragraph. leveraging on MNEs was exactly how our 4 pillar industries were created. Domestically, firms like ASA and MIT has become competitive global players.
past formulas don't work as well anymore, even the govt has realised that and is emphasizing biomedical research now ...
for your second paragraph. we have to enter value-adding indutries. we can't compete on low labour cost. knowledge is all we have.
compared to low labour cost industries, of course high value adding industries are better ... but still not as good as being the owners of these high value adding industries for at the end of the day, most of the value that we add goes to the owners ... we're simply providing a service - manufacturing service.
please dun take offense, but i think u have misunderstood Taiwan's politics. Chiang Ching Kuo (sp?) was a more dictative ruler then his Dad and he wrestled power back from the upper echelons of the government. it was only after China was recognised did it bring the KMT's hope of recapturing China to an end and they were forced to democratised. in fact their downstream firms actually developed unplanned surprisingly. if u would liek.. do have a read on 'the developmental state' by Wu Yongpin.. its quite an in-depth analysis over their political strucutre
no offense taken. essentially, after Chiang Kai Shek's death, the country liberalised so much so that today, the nationalists are no longer in power. this is indeed a radical transformation and while i'm not saying whether or not this is the best political outcome, the benefit to their economy is evident in terms of the strength with which they weathered the 9-11 and other recent global storms.
yah... but we cant let DBS go under ma
my message was, since we're no different from them, why condem them when we're gulty of the same practices? Aren't we slapping ourselves?
exactly! so let's depend on ourselves! if the Chinese community did so well in adverse circumstances. why can't we? let's look at ourselves and stop shifting everything to the government.
there is a fundamental difference. if no one supplies water to me, i can build my own well. if no one gives me jobs, i can find my ways. if someone ties my hands behind my back and stuff my mouth with propaganda, i am left helplessly to be taken at ransom.
yah. actually i agree with an earlier comment. lets have a balance with the more experience executives and the scholars. the experience businessperson would have had hands-on experience and definately better business acumen.
sounds fine but i feel that ultimately we should simply let things be. we have nurtured our children as best as we could. the only way for them to grow further is for them to seek their own destinies. by dictating where they go and what they do, they can never develop the wings to fly far.
i am very interested in your comment abt the government blaming us. i am not living in S'pore and i didn't get tp hear that part. could u elaborate more on how they blame us? many thanks in advance!
the authorities have always been harping on foreign talent and many of the leg shaking, cosy jobs are given to ang moh expats. all these indicate that we're not as well regarded as we ought to be.
Originally posted by snow leopard:
Like to join in.... if u dun mind.
larger as it is, Taiwan's domestic market is still puny compared to the worldwide demand necessary to support its globalised industries. like Singapore, Taiwan needs to reach out to the world to prosper hence their situation is not dissimilar to ours.
However, there are strong internal Co. that are expanding agressively into China. For example, TSMC, UMC all have wafer fabs plant in China already. There are about 2m taiwanese working in China itself as well. IMHO, basically they are taking advantage of the situation to expand into low cost country. SGP do not have such Coporation around.
we haven't really gotten out of our problems either so i shall argue that we're no better.
but that's not what the statistics tell us ... hong kong's economy will be more tightly interwoven with china's and in the long run will ride the wave better than us.
Would agreed. Like it or not. The integration of Hong Kong and China is coming much faster than the 50 yrs needed. Economically, Hong KOng is totally dependent on China.
compared to low labour cost industries, of course high value adding industries are better ... but still not as good as being the owners of these high value adding industries for at the end of the day, most of the value that we add goes to the owners ... we're simply providing a service - manufacturing service.
I agreed with the above.
no offense taken. essentially, after Chiang Kai Shek's death, the country liberalised so much so that today, the nationalists are no longer in power. this is indeed a radical transformation and while i'm not saying whether or not this is the best political outcome, the benefit to their economy is evident in terms of the strength with which
HOwever, I think they are going overboard with the political agenda so much so that it is hindering their economical growth. Most of the ppl in taiwan are cursing on the govt on imposing rules on trade with China.
there is a fundamental difference. if no one supplies water to me, i can build my own well. if no one gives me jobs, i can find my ways. if someone ties my hands behind my back and stuff my mouth with propaganda, i am left helplessly to be taken at ransom.
yah. actually i agree with an earlier comment. lets have a balance with the more experience executives and the scholars. the experience businessperson would have had hands-on experience and definately better business acumen.
sounds fine but i feel that ultimately we should simply let things be. we have nurtured our children as best as we could. the only way for them to grow further is for them to seek their own destinies. by dictating where they go and what they do, they can never develop the wings to fly far.
I agreed totally. Teach us how to fish... not give us the fish. That is reality of the environment now.
the authorities have always been harping on foreign talent and many of the leg shaking, cosy jobs are given to ang moh expats. all these indicate that we're not as well regarded as we ought to be.
The ability does not warrant the pay. I believe it is the Asian values where hard work is the norm... but not the selling.
The best is to publish all a/c.Yes.Originally posted by robertteh:Who will be at fault if the leaders do not publish accountable and transparent investment processes to allow people to check the professionalism of such corporatization and decorporatizations resulting in people speculating about losses or poential wrong doings.