that is why foreigners mistook us as 'a bunch of people whom the govt leads by the nose'Originally posted by chunyong:bo bian, gahmen want like dat u can do wat...u can do fark niah...write to newspaper oso bo eng one....u can't tell the sun not to shine nor can u tell the skies not to turn dark...we can only suck thumb and lan lan...wat to do. they want to increase GST to 10% we oso lan lan....
"return of a notable son"... return ??!!! If he is indeed returning to Singapore , let him take up citizenship and perform his NS liability. He's visiting, not returning. And make no mistake, he is no son of Singapore. He renounced his citizenship!Originally posted by dragg:i extracted this sentence from STimes today.
singaporeans are asked to be charitable and join in celebrating the return of a notable son.
see REVIEW S12 for details.
puke...puke...puke...phui....phui...phui.....Originally posted by dragg:i extracted this sentence from STimes today.
singaporeans are asked to be charitable and join in celebrating the return of a notable son.
see REVIEW S12 for details.
Are you a Singaporean? Have you recited the pledge, "....to build a democratic society, based on justice and equality..."Originally posted by Salman:Yes, it is reasonable and logical. And why not?
Its not a matter of deserve, you may be treated better.
+1Originally posted by anonymouscoward:"return of a notable son"... return ??!!! If he is indeed returning to Singapore , let him take up citizenship and perform his NS liability. He's visiting, not returning. And make no mistake, he is no son of Singapore. He renounced his citizenship!
I will be more sympathetic to allow him into Singapore for say a few days in a year to see his parents on compassionate grounds. But to treat him like a returning hero, what signal are we giving to all the NSmen. Will we make our NSmen fight harder in time of crisis when we have such policies? And the salt in the wound is really the treatment that the Arts Council is giving him. 'Originally posted by SnowFlag:+1![]()
I will be even stricter. Allow him to come back a few days only for his parent's funeral, not even for visits. Thats how the Koreans do it.Originally posted by SolarSnow:I will be more sympathetic to allow him into Singapore for say a few days in a year to see his parents on compassionate grounds. But to treat him like a returning hero, what signal are we giving to all the NSmen. Will we make our NSmen fight harder in time of crisis when we have such policies? And the salt in the wound is really the treatment that the Arts Council is giving him. '' Maybe say something about the people that;s running the Arts Council now. They should be more sensitive. He's probably here to make more money now that there are so many foreign "talent" and WOGs and WOLs in Singapore. '
' '
''
' We;ll be better off without him here as a hero.
some will excel at talking their way thro!Originally posted by qooorange:so many pple kpkb over this... maybe it will be better to include a "exemption due to exceptional skills" category in the enlistment act. encourage everyone to become really really good in something ...probably good for sg as well.
fcuk. my son haven't reach NS age. don't change the rule of the game now.Originally posted by dragg:extracted from ST forum.
NS: Mindef studying adequacy of penalties
I REFER to Mr Henry Ong Ling Tiong's letter, 'Firm stand needed: Fine or jail' (ST, Nov 26), where he suggested that punishments for national-service defaulters in the Enlistment Act be reviewed. Members of Parliament have also filed a number of questions.
It is heartening to note the very strong support for national service shown by the public in its reaction to the case of pianist Melvyn Tan.
Mindef has been reviewing the Enlistment Act to bring it up to date. This review includes a careful study of the adequacy of the current penalties to allow for firm action to be taken against those who do not fulfil their duty.
Mindef will give a full response on the matter when the review is completed.
Col Benedict Lim
Director, Public Affairs
Ministry of Defence
Why do i have this feeling that the review will take years to be completed and another few more years to be account to.Originally posted by dragg:extracted from ST forum.
NS: Mindef studying adequacy of penalties
I REFER to Mr Henry Ong Ling Tiong's letter, 'Firm stand needed: Fine or jail' (ST, Nov 26), where he suggested that punishments for national-service defaulters in the Enlistment Act be reviewed. Members of Parliament have also filed a number of questions.
It is heartening to note the very strong support for national service shown by the public in its reaction to the case of pianist Melvyn Tan.
Mindef has been reviewing the Enlistment Act to bring it up to date. This review includes a careful study of the adequacy of the current penalties to allow for firm action to be taken against those who do not fulfil their duty.
Mindef will give a full response on the matter when the review is completed.
Col Benedict Lim
Director, Public Affairs
Ministry of Defence
If they keep quiet and let this thing simmer down over time, soon they won't even have to tell the public what has been decided.Originally posted by M©+square:Why do i have this feeling that the review will take years to be completed and another few more years to be account to.
Sigh.
you come back from australia and tell them you skipped NS.Originally posted by charlize:If they keep quiet and let this thing simmer down over time, soon they won't even have to tell the public what has been decided.
Huh?Originally posted by dragg:you come back from australia and tell them you skipped NS.
ditzy is in australia mah.Originally posted by charlize:Who says I'm in Australia?
I am not even going to answer this anymore.Originally posted by dragg:ditzy is in australia mah.
Isn't it the case all the while?Originally posted by charlize:If they keep quiet and let this thing simmer down over time, soon they won't even have to tell the public what has been decided.
You'll probably have to pay to get in.Originally posted by alberteinstein:why not we go to his piano performance and boo him when it is over?
Originally posted by charlize:I am not even going to answer this anymore.
Think what you want.