It's regarded as a slap in the face for those people who suffered much at the hands of those so-called "war criminals" that those "criminals" be honoured in the shrine, and yet those who suffered are still seeking acknowledgement, apologies, and redress from the Japanese government. It is an emotive issue, and perhaps not one that can be solved until the fading of the WWII generation and their memories.Originally posted by Salman:I don't see anything wrong with paying respects for the war dead.
All the war dead were represented in the shrine, regardless of whether they commited atrocities or not.
Are these people really ordinary Japs?Originally posted by LazerLordz:IF you guys click on the link and read about the comments made by ordinary Japanese and overseas fellows, the point of view is pretty much closely aligned to us.
hannor hannor nothing wrong lah.. u should send a petition to your beloved government to build a shrine for those rapist or killers ok.. they did nothing wrong what.. human all like that right..... when u are at it.. might as well send another letter to the australian government asking them to build one for that drug guy ok.. Thanks hor...Originally posted by Salman:I don't see anything wrong with paying respects for the war dead.
All the war dead were represented in the shrine, regardless of whether they commited atrocities or not.
as if for realOriginally posted by Salman:I'll build a shrine for you, don't worry.
really?? thanks hor... when, where, why???Originally posted by Salman:I'll build a shrine for you, don't worry.
as if for realOriginally posted by Salman:don't worry abt it mister. the shrine will be there when you are dead.
What size do you want it to be? How soon?
show me ur blueprint first lah.. if not wait i dun like it how?? come come.. show me leh.. dun always NATO hor.. u said u will build one hor.. dun LIE hor..Originally posted by Salman:don't worry abt it mister. the shrine will be there when you are dead.
What size do you want it to be? How soon?
show me the blueprint lah.. i know it's real... unless u are LYING lor. come come.. show us.. we are waiting leh...Originally posted by Salman:it is real mister.
which is real?Originally posted by Salman:it is real mister.
Don't worry abt the blueprint, it will be there when you are dead.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):show me the blueprint lah.. i know it's real... unless u are LYING lor. come come.. show us.. we are waiting leh...![]()
It's not so much about history. It's about the denial of something which had happened before.Originally posted by Salman:Are these people really ordinary Japs?
Well here's an ordinary Singaporean saying lets move on.
You're not ordinary. You're a contridicting, flip-flopping idiot.Originally posted by Salman:Are these people really ordinary Japs?
Well here's an ordinary Singaporean saying lets move on.
The peace and prosperity that Asia (including Japan) is enjoying today is a result 2 atomic bombs drop over Japan by the United States in a desperate attempt to end Japanese aggression.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Japan's embassy protests to Singapore daily over Yasukuni editorials
Saturday, November 26, 2005 at 04:00 JST
SINGAPORE — The Japanese Embassy in Singapore has sent a rare letter of protest to Singapore's main Chinese-language Lianhe Zaobao newspaper over two editorials criticizing Japan that were published in the wake of Prime Minister Junichiro Koizumi's visit to Yasukuni Shrine last month.
The letter also defended Koizumi's trips to the shrine, saying they are not aimed at whitewashing Japan's militarism in the war. It claimed Koizumi believes the peace and prosperity that Japan enjoys today has been built upon the valuable sacrifices of those who perished in that war, and so it is important to show appreciation for their sacrifice.
© 2005 Kyodo News.
http://www.japantoday.com/e/?content=news&cat=9&id=356516
Visit the URL to see what people are saying about this.