Originally posted by HENG@:this is like denying that the PRCs don't look down on non-PRC chinese and non-chinese. Maybe u'd like to explain that look of distain most of them like to give them moment they hear u're not from PRC.
Not all. I've friends in secondary school who were from the PRC, and they are nice guys. We treat them as one of our own.Originally posted by huaqing:i noticed that some Singaporeans despise PRCs although they did nothing wrong. Why are they despising them?
Many taiwanese went to China expecting the mainland chinese to have the knowledge, aptitude and discipline as the taiwanese workers, except cheaper.Originally posted by laurence82:I got one friend who works for a boss who is a Taiwanese and set up a factory in China
The stuff they churned out from the factory in China everytime QC fail. My friend want to vomit blood liao. The boss everytime go to China come back thinner.
The posts here should give you a good idea of how we view the ppl from PRC. There is no right or wrong in what they do, and we understand that china is big and opinions and views vary much. But, you should be aware that it is how you behave that give us the impression of you.Originally posted by huaqing:i noticed that some Singaporeans despise PRCs although they did nothing wrong. Why are they despising them?
bravo ! ... hear ! hear ! ......Originally posted by sgdiehard:The posts here should give you a good idea of how we view the ppl from PRC. There is no right or wrong in what they do, and we understand that china is big and opinions and views vary much. But, you should be aware that it is how you behave that give us the impression of you.
1. You need to respect countries' laws. I know in China you always find your own way to bypass laws and regulations. "shang you zheng ce, xia you dui ce" can be innovative but may not be respectful to the locals.
2. You need to understand others who are different from you, especially the ethnic chinese. You must know the difference between a an ethnic chinese and a chinese national. We, in singapore, are chinese but not chinese nationals.
Don't try to insist that beijing qiang mandarin is the correct mandarin. Not even the shanghainese speak that kind of mandarin, and do not think our chinese bu biao zhun.
Overseas ethnic chinese are more chinese in terms of chinese culture, traditions and heritage than you are. PRCs under the communists destroyed much of chinese culture during the cultural revolution. So do not think PRCs chinese has the correct chineseness.
3. Do not assume that we are ignorant of the historical baggages. Much of the disputes are political, and do not force us to take sides with you. Let time heals the wound.
4. Do not be defensive or only react to how others treat you, even if others may misunderstand you. China is growing big and power, your ppl are in every corner, made in china is in every household, ppl do not know you and the rise of your nationalism frightens ppl.
Respect and goodwill cannot be demanded just because you come from a big country. A polite gesture, a smile, a sincere greeting, will carry you a long way.
if u feel that they make u vomit blood then dun work there lor...is that because ur social skills suck like hell then dey dun wan u in singapore so u had to work overseas?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):u just have to ask any hk gals what they think about china gal and u will know the answer...and what i said it hk gal feel that china gal only marry hk guy coz they love their money.. i never say i feel that...
also. why i think that way about my view on my china colleague is same in the rest of china... coz... everyday when i pick up my phone... i get the same blood vomitting reply from staff in beijing, shanghai, guangzhou and shenzhen...u wan mi to continue the list?![]()
that is just an invalid accusation. cos u have no evidence. slanderism...Originally posted by laurence82:x2
We are much more willing to mix with other nationalities because we've grown up seeing a multitude of races around us.Originally posted by dreameryb:Staying in enclaves of one's own kind seems to be a universal human trait and certainly is not something Chinese alone are guilty of. I doubt the Singaporeasn in Australia or America mix easily with the locals. People have an innate tendency to regard with suspicion others from different racial and cultural background. On the other hand, you may know that some Londoners are quite xenophobic and would not like to mix with foreigners to begin with.
I've a PRC classmate in Sec school, and he was quite willing to engage our culture and mix around with us.He never stuck with the other PRCs, but rather, would join us for football and rugby etc.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Not all. I've friends in secondary school who were from the PRC, and they are nice guys. We treat them as one of our own.
I think appearance (dressing!) and behaviour are everything... you influence how people are gonna think of you.
i 100% agree with u!Originally posted by dreameryb:I always think that people should guard against making sweeping generalizations especially when they are commenting on human behavior. A cultural group or a nation is not a monolithic entity with no further distinctions within. The way people behave and carry themselves is influenced by numerous factors such as their educational background, familial upbringing and social, economic status. This amounts to the simple fact that people are different. The traits you observe and come to loathe in a small group of people cannnot logically be extended to the entire group unless you can prove that the observed small group is significantly representative.
Simply that some Chinese nationals evade rules does not mean that all Chinese nationals do so. By saying that you don't hold them in high regard because they do not respect rules, you sound as if you have known them all.
of course not all sporeans dispise PRCs...Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Not all. I've friends in secondary school who were from the PRC, and they are nice guys. We treat them as one of our own.
I think appearance (dressing!) and behaviour are everything... you influence how people are gonna think of you.
In singapore they need to engage our culture and in china we need to engage their culture. Sharing involves giving and taking. just do not take them as our potential enemy and this will help a long way in cultivating greater understanding and better relationship.Originally posted by LazerLordz:The only PRCs I do not like are those who assume that they are superior to us Overseas Chinese and insist on imposing their culture and language on us when they speak or engage with us.
Believe me, the black sheep are more than a farm's worth.But hey, no offence to those who are willing to share with us and engage our own culture.![]()
bro ... it's a reaction, not an action .... I assure you ... most people would only judge you for who you are alone, not where you're from ... read what sgdiehard has written ... if you follow that, i assure you you won't have any problems ...Originally posted by huaqing:of course not all sporeans dispise PRCs...
i know a lot of nice sporeans also...my teachers, my schoolmates, my church leaders, spiritual buddies, and lot more...
i am just saying that some ppl dispise...
And it is true that appearance and behaviour are everything u influence how ppl are going to think of u
I have some of these pricks as neighbours! Is that bad luck or what?Originally posted by dreameryb:Well, this is something I have never known, experienced or observed. I am sorry if you have been given that kind of "look of distain" before. But those who distain you for not being PRC nationals must be a bunch of parochial and less informed minotiry.
+1Originally posted by sgdiehard:In singapore they need to engage our culture and in china we need to engage their culture. Sharing involves giving and taking. just do not take them as our potential enemy and this will help a long way in cultivating greater understanding and better relationship.![]()
These culprits are not socially evolved yet, and as I've said, it's the result of living in a homogenous nation.Originally posted by SilverPal:I have spoken to many PRCs students in sg and they all say, once they finish their subsidised studies here, they will go back to escape the 3 years bond.
Also, PRC ppl look down on sg ppl. Why?
Taiwanese are evil, Hong Kongers are shrewed, Singaporeans are stupid. Why these labels? (came from a china man)
And it is not true that singaporeans on the whole make things difficult for prc ppl here. When racist bloggers posted racist remarks about malays, they were punished and publicly shamed.
When prc student here wrote in a forum that singaporeans have pig swill in their head, the student was not punished.
See? you are treated better than singaporeans.
What the heck is slanderism, and what invalid accusation is present here?Originally posted by huaqing:that is just an invalid accusation. cos u have no evidence. slanderism...![]()
Hear hear!Originally posted by sgdiehard:The posts here should give you a good idea of how we view the ppl from PRC. There is no right or wrong in what they do, and we understand that china is big and opinions and views vary much. But, you should be aware that it is how you behave that give us the impression of you.
1. You need to respect countries' laws. I know in China you always find your own way to bypass laws and regulations. "shang you zheng ce, xia you dui ce" can be innovative but may not be respectful to the locals.
2. You need to understand others who are different from you, especially the ethnic chinese. You must know the difference between a an ethnic chinese and a chinese national. We, in singapore, are chinese but not chinese nationals.
Don't try to insist that beijing qiang mandarin is the correct mandarin. Not even the shanghainese speak that kind of mandarin, and do not think our chinese bu biao zhun.
Overseas ethnic chinese are more chinese in terms of chinese culture, traditions and heritage than you are. PRCs under the communists destroyed much of chinese culture during the cultural revolution. So do not think PRCs chinese has the correct chineseness.
3. Do not assume that we are ignorant of the historical baggages. Much of the disputes are political, and do not force us to take sides with you. Let time heals the wound.
4. Do not be defensive or only react to how others treat you, even if others may misunderstand you. China is growing big and power, your ppl are in every corner, made in china is in every household, ppl do not know you and the rise of your nationalism frightens ppl.
Respect and goodwill cannot be demanded just because you come from a big country. A polite gesture, a smile, a sincere greeting, will carry you a long way.
Very well said indeed.Originally posted by sgdiehard:The posts here should give you a good idea of how we view the ppl from PRC. There is no right or wrong in what they do, and we understand that china is big and opinions and views vary much. But, you should be aware that it is how you behave that give us the impression of you.
Hannor hannor i agree with u leh.. they dun wan mi here so i become a quiter and be a FT in overseas lor... u happy now?? by the way, may i know where are u now?Originally posted by huaqing:if u feel that they make u vomit blood then dun work there lor...is that because ur social skills suck like hell then dey dun wan u in singapore so u had to work overseas?
well, they certainly are the elite of your country too.Originally posted by dreameryb:Well, this is something I have never known, experienced or observed. I am sorry if you have been given that kind of "look of distain" before. But those who distain you for not being PRC nationals must be a bunch of parochial and less informed minotiry.