That's because they do not know the environment that we grow up in, or the culture that we inherit, which is that of the Straits citizen, where we are not monolingually Chinese.Originally posted by SilverPal:A problem I face when interacting with PRC ppl is that, due to my poor standard of mandarin, the prc person constantly gives me insulting remarks about me being chinese.
ie "A chinese that cannot speak mandarin well... sheesh"
"...you still call yourself a chinese?"
"your mother never teach you? how come you can't speak proper mandarin?"
"are you sure you're educated? you can't even express yourself properly"
1stly, stupid is not an expletive.Originally posted by dreameryb:At least I have not used any expletives in my comments so far. The same thing cannot be said of certain rude Singaporeans who cannot check their emotions and resort to calling others stupid. If I have made a mistake in reasoning, point it out and argue cogently. Name-calling only betrays your level of education and upbringing. Now who is depicable here? It's sad.
I laugh at the assusation that I do not understand your childish rantings. I have lived in English-speaking countries for many a year and you are in no position to comment on my ability to comprehend.
You assert that some studying in Imperial College are children from criminals families and quickly add that this is a non-contestable fact. I personally do not have friends studying in that college so I really cannot comment on the factuality of your proposition. However, I am curious how your friends found out the criminal family backgrounds of those children. Do they just boast on campus that their parents are felons? In any case, if this is a fact, as you claim it to be, I believe the authorities of that college should be aware of this situation and should have taken necessary measures (such as forcing withdrawls of the students candidature) because apparently the tuition fees they charge are not earned from legal chanels. We have not seen any reportage of this kind in media yet.
Even if I give you the credit of truthfulness, so what do these isolated cases of these "criminals' children" say about PRCs in general, if I may respectfully ask?
erm, 1 and 7 a bit far apart leh, you sure you typed wrongly or remembered wrongly?Originally posted by huaqing:since when did i treat u like an idiot? haha, i typed 1997 wrongly so it became 1991 instead...
i dun really noe wad u mean in the last para...
Very simple. Racism. Happens all over the world not just in Singapore.Originally posted by huaqing:i noticed that some Singaporeans despise PRCs although they did nothing wrong. Why are they despising them?
you dun always assume that sporeans dun bypass law in singapore. of course there are ppl in China who bypas laws, but sporeans sometimes do also.Originally posted by sgdiehard:The posts here should give you a good idea of how we view the ppl from PRC. There is no right or wrong in what they do, and we understand that china is big and opinions and views vary much. But, you should be aware that it is how you behave that give us the impression of you.
1. You need to respect countries' laws. I know in China you always find your own way to bypass laws and regulations. "shang you zheng ce, xia you dui ce" can be innovative but may not be respectful to the locals.
2. You need to understand others who are different from you, especially the ethnic chinese. You must know the difference between a an ethnic chinese and a chinese national. We, in singapore, are chinese but not chinese nationals.
Don't try to insist that beijing qiang mandarin is the correct mandarin. Not even the shanghainese speak that kind of mandarin, and do not think our chinese bu biao zhun.
Overseas ethnic chinese are more chinese in terms of chinese culture, traditions and heritage than you are. PRCs under the communists destroyed much of chinese culture during the cultural revolution. So do not think PRCs chinese has the correct chineseness.
3. Do not assume that we are ignorant of the historical baggages. Much of the disputes are political, and do not force us to take sides with you. Let time heals the wound.
4. Do not be defensive or only react to how others treat you, even if others may misunderstand you. China is growing big and power, your ppl are in every corner, made in china is in every household, ppl do not know you and the rise of your nationalism frightens ppl.
Respect and goodwill cannot be demanded just because you come from a big country. A polite gesture, a smile, a sincere greeting, will carry you a long way.
You're right I guess... Thanks!!!Originally posted by LazerLordz:That's because they do not know the environment that we grow up in, or the culture that we inherit, which is that of the Straits citizen, where we are not monolingually Chinese.
It's about ignorance and as long as we feel that we have enlightened others enough, the ball is in their court and we should not feel bitter that others have not come to realise.
Don't keep your anger too long, just let it go.
Originally posted by HENG@:2ndly, im asking you if u are stupid, i have not said u to are stupid as a fact. I have left it to you to answer, and if u say no, then no it is.
3rdly, it is very much a fact that u simply have not understood my post earlier. U either did not understand what "on a sidenote" means, or worse, u deliberately choose to ignore it, for what reason, I do not know.
4th, when one interacts with many students in their course(as my friend does), on gradually finds out about the family backgrounds of others. While those who are from crime families do not boast openly about it, 1stly, they are extremely wealthy. Once they know some people well enough, they do open up a bit, and that bit is enough to know they are from crime families. Most of their families are in power within China, and usually not active in the UK, so there is no reason to report it to the authorities. Moreover, Imperial College and other prestigeous unis in UK are known to close an eye to such things when they are receiving hefty school fees from these PRC students. I'm not sure if you are aware but the Business School of Oxford is said to be funded from funds associated with terrorist or criminal(non-PRC, presumably American or Middle Eastern) elements.
5th, I added this as a sidenote, because I thought it would be an interesting thing to share. It never said anything in general about PRCs.
Lastly, I hope that if any of you PRCs cannot take the views that others have of you, nor the criticism that comes along with it, in future kindly refrain from asking questions like the one asked by the topic starter.
Originally posted by huaqing:you dun always assume that sporeans dun bypass law in singapore. of course there are ppl in China who bypas laws, but sporeans sometimes do also.
and ur second point is obvious...
a language always have dialects. for example, i can speak Pu tong hua, which is the standard chinese, and i can also speak Sichuan hua, which is my dialect. in singapore your so-called "bu biao zhun" chinese may be seen as a singaporean dialect too...however, PRCs definitely have better chinese standards than most sporeans cos they learn deeper chinese in schools, just like in singapore u learn deeper english than chinese.
and the cultural revolution is already over for almost 30 years, but i dun see any culture being destroyed. and if u observe, if China is still a communist state until now, will they allow sporeans to go and invest? ok for ur info, they still say that they are communists but they are not communists anymore.
why would u fear a rise in nationalism among PRCs?
of course everybody has to be polite to earn respect. no one really cares if u come from what country.
but all ur points here seems saying that i am doing all these...
when i did not.
not you brother..Originally posted by equlus84:Ermm..... LaserLordz........ are u trying to say I'm trying to incite hatre among ppls? NO!!! I'm just summarizing the things I observed on some Chinese forums especially the military forums and put them here for u all to see. How u try to interpret is up to u.![]()
Well, I'm lucky I'm taking modules where they do not form even a single soul.Originally posted by CoolMyth:PRCs stealing all my grades, all my consultation times with lecturers, all the self-study groups with their own people, all my future jobs.
Damn them!![]()
Originally posted by LazerLordz:Oh and it's curious why I rarely see the PRC dudes eat at Cheese Prata or any local sarabat stall, that's one way to enjoy our local culture.
O RLY?Originally posted by dreameryb:Either you are under-estimating my IQ or you are being sheer ignorant yourself. When people ask "Hello, are you stupid? ", it is NOT eliciting a yes or no response because it is a rhetorical question that comes with it the evaluation of the speaker already. Look at this other example, "Do you have to be a bigot?" is not a genuine question, rather, it is implying indirectly that you are a bigot. Get it? [It's just an example for illustrative purpose. Please do not take it personally]
Therefore, when you said "im asking you if u are stupid, i have not said u to are stupid as a fact. I have left it to you to answer, and if u say no, then no it is", it is very unclever rationalizing.
If you have questions regarding this, you should consult your primary school teacher.
hua qing, seeing that im your school senior and your CCA senior as well, all I will tell u is this. 1stly, you can point out as much as you like that just because some people do certain things doesn't mean everyone does, it also doesn't mean that the people who do certain things aren't the minority. What I've said earlier about PRCs who refuse to speak english even in a huge group of non-chinese speakers, is what I have observed amongst majority of the PRCs in my uni and a whole other bunch of PRCs I know in other unis in London.Originally posted by huaqing:you dun always assume that sporeans dun bypass law in singapore. of course there are ppl in China who bypas laws, but sporeans sometimes do also.
and ur second point is obvious...
a language always have dialects. for example, i can speak Pu tong hua, which is the standard chinese, and i can also speak Sichuan hua, which is my dialect. in singapore your so-called "bu biao zhun" chinese may be seen as a singaporean dialect too...however, PRCs definitely have better chinese standards than most sporeans cos they learn deeper chinese in schools, just like in singapore u learn deeper english than chinese.
and the cultural revolution is already over for almost 30 years, but i dun see any culture being destroyed. and if u observe, if China is still a communist state until now, will they allow sporeans to go and invest? ok for ur info, they still say that they are communists but they are not communists anymore.
why would u fear a rise in nationalism among PRCs?
of course everybody has to be polite to earn respect. no one really cares if u come from what country.
but all ur points here seems saying that i am doing all these...
when i did not.
Originally posted by HENG@:O RLY?
well ultimately, one must ask, if u are then, indeed owning up to being stupid.
even if u think u got this clear, the fact is u still have not understood or assumed a lot of things.
I say again. If u cannot take criticism of your people, then next time make sure your people don't ask questions with answers they won't like.
Originally posted by dreameryb:There is no need to be judgemental. So stop asking people whether they think they are stupid. It is sheer rude.
On your last point, it is not criticisms I cannot take, it is bias and folly in certain people's criticisms that I find funny and therefore fell obligated to respond. When people seek your opinions on issues, it does not imply that they will agree with everything you say. You are entitled to your own opinions. BUt it does not mean we accept everything you say. After all, the beauty about communication is that it is a TWO-WAY street. When you express your views, others are allowed to respond, Get it? If this response narrowly intepreted by some as defensive, let it be.
Lastly I am least interested in seeking any of your opinions on us. Huaqing asked this question for his/her own reason. And I certainly cannot make sure what other people do or don't.
Originally posted by abao:The argument about foreign elements, whether they add to our culture or subtract to it, is not something easily resolved overnight.
woah, flames burning here
Anyways, heres my 2cents worth. I [b]dont despice PRC people. They are generally nice and humble people with a slightly stronger sense of nationalism, in my own opinion. Its just that i feel like they are now everywhere in Singapore......schools, workplaces, etc, ......its like our population is being flooded with them (not unlike the people working coming from Bangladesh, but its a job that most Singaporeans wont do, so have no right to complain). Seems like our culture is being slowly diluted by foreign immigrants.[/b]
Originally posted by dreameryb:Ya also durians.
Originally posted by HENG@:hua qing, seeing that im your school senior and your CCA senior as well