I think your signature is quite obviousOriginally posted by huaqing:erm...which school and which CCA were u from?
same, and same.Originally posted by huaqing:erm...which school and which CCA were u from?
Originally posted by abao:i wouldn't say humble. in fact, it might just be because in the past they've gotten so much stick from other races. sometimess even when u tell them they don't have to prove how great china is because we know its great, they think u're bring patronising. I would say, there is some ego and pride mixed in with a bit of an inferority complex. Luckily not ALL are like that, but sadly most are.
woah, flames burning here
Anyways, heres my 2cents worth. I [b]dont despice PRC people. They are generally nice and humble people with a slightly stronger sense of nationalism, in my own opinion. Its just that i feel like they are now everywhere in Singapore......schools, workplaces, etc, ......its like our population is being flooded with them (not unlike the people working coming from Bangladesh, but its a job that most Singaporeans wont do, so have no right to complain). Seems like our culture is being slowly diluted by foreign immigrants.[/b]
It's what the CCP has drilled into its citizens through subtle and non-subtle means over the years..Originally posted by HENG@:i wouldn't say humble. in fact, it might just be because in the past they've gotten so much stick from other races. sometimess even when u tell them they don't have to prove how great china is because we know its great, they think u're bring patronising. I would say, there is some ego and pride mixed in with a bit of an inferority complex. Luckily not ALL are like that, but sadly most are.
not just. I think its also a social thing. Like I said, if u can speak english amongst a large group of us who either don't understand yr chinese accent, or who don't speak chinese at all, why persist with chinese?Originally posted by LazerLordz:It's what the CCP has drilled into its citizens through subtle and non-subtle means over the years..
Originally posted by geodome:I admit the growing nationalism in China is a worrying trend. Personally, I do not want to see the rise of Chinese military might in Asia. Chinese foreign policy towards Tibet (1962), Taiwan(2000-2002) and North Korea (1951) are worrying. If the PRCs indeed feel arrogant because their country is rising on the global platform, it is our duty as Singaporeans to remind them that it took 5000years to achieve this. China, as a country, has taken a step back in progress many a time. It is not hard to imagine that history will repeat itself, given the mentality of the PRCs. Prior to WWI, Shanghai was divided into 8 protectorates. Perhaps prior to WWIII, China will be divided into 8 protectorates.
you are being charitable ...Originally posted by dreameryb:World War Three and China being divided into eight protectorates...
Man, you definitely need a better crystal ball...
ohhh the PRCs are taking offense again.Originally posted by YaoRockets:you are being charitable ...![]()
what he really needs is a straight jacket![]()
well said ... personally for me, before i discovered this forum, my impressions on S'pore is very good; but after this forum, I often find myself try hard not to despise some singies, as i fully understand they aren't the representative of all singaporeans.Originally posted by elindra:Some Singaporeans despise PRCs as some PRCs despise Singaporeans. There will always be some black sheep among each flock.
I was just speaking in general the impressions given by many chinese PRC. I don't know you and I certainly din say that you were doing all the things mentioned. I apoligize if that is the impression I give you.Originally posted by huaqing:you dun always assume that sporeans dun bypass law in singapore. of course there are ppl in China who bypas laws, but sporeans sometimes do also.
and ur second point is obvious...
a language always have dialects. for example, i can speak Pu tong hua, which is the standard chinese, and i can also speak Sichuan hua, which is my dialect. in singapore your so-called "bu biao zhun" chinese may be seen as a singaporean dialect too...however, PRCs definitely have better chinese standards than most sporeans cos they learn deeper chinese in schools, just like in singapore u learn deeper english than chinese.
and the cultural revolution is already over for almost 30 years, but i dun see any culture being destroyed. and if u observe, if China is still a communist state until now, will they allow sporeans to go and invest? ok for ur info, they still say that they are communists but they are not communists anymore.
why would u fear a rise in nationalism among PRCs?
of course everybody has to be polite to earn respect. no one really cares if u come from what country.
but all ur points here seems saying that i am doing all these...
when i did not.
PRC moved back in civilization for 30 years and move forward for the next 25 years to where they are today. What have you got to tell the PRC Chinese, not to rise further??Originally posted by geodome:The whole idea of discrimination emphasises on the negative traits displayed by the PRCs, and [b]not what good these people are capable of. There is no point in arguing if the positive traits by the PRCs are sufficient to make up for their negative traits, because the people who discriminates cannot put the positive traits and negative traits on equal standing. [/b][/quote] I guess it is not if the positive traits by the PRC can sufficiently make up for their negative traits, it is how we could better handle them on their negative traits that are affecting us, and how we should work with them and make the better of their positive traits for singapore. Can the positive traits of Singaporean make up for our negative traits??Originally posted by geodome:Chinese people are immigrants from China. The difference is when did they migrate? Most of us are first generation Singaporean. The reasons for migrating should not matter, does it? How does their assumption that “all Chinese people are from China” stand up like a sore thumb??
Firstly, [b]they assume all Chinese people are from China. This is not true. The PRC themselve should know better. Chinese people has been immigrating out of geographical China as early as 1300 AD. There are archaelogical evidence of Chinese people on Temasak even before Sir Stamford Raffles founded modern Singapore. In fact, the turbulent Chinese history only serves as good reason why Chinese people should migrate out of geographical China - Civil Wars, Poverty, Lack of Opportunities, Cultural Revolution, etc. [/b]Originally posted by geodome:Grouping of immigrants is not exclusive to Chinese. Most immigrants group together in their new host countries for a simple reason, survival. This is especially true if they do not speak the local language. I once spoke to a Chinese couples in Paris. They arrived from shanghai with only US$ 50 each and spoke no French. It was the Chinese community there who trusted them and allowing them to raise money thru schemes similar to our “tontine” here. They finally settled down and were running a pizza restaurant.
Secondly, [b]they do not attempt to assimilate into their host country. This is demonstrated by the reluctance to engage into activities with people from their host country. When You are Rome, do what the Romans do. The PRCs like to group together socially and tend to exclude other nationalities. They appear to ignore people of other nationalities by being insensitive to these people. Try mixing 5 PRCs with 5 Taiwanese. See if the 2 groups can share a proper conversation together. This has nothing to do with the existence of a common language or a difference in standard for the common language. The exhibition of such insensitivity only reflects on their reluctance to assimilate. The insults the PRC make on our relatively poor mandarin standard reflects on the general relecutance to assimilate into the host society. On comparision with Japanese, the Japanese people feels flattered if someone from a foreign country attempts to speak their language to them. There is no sincerity in addressing to the host society. As immigrants or foreign students, they must remember that the interest of the society (or host society) is above the interest of the individual. This holds true even for a local citizen. The common good takes priority over individual interest. .[/b]
Talking about mixing with the locals, we see many women in HDB markets speaking China accent Chinese but we still donÂ’t see any angmoh in local wet market, do we?
Suggesting “mixing 5 PRCs with 5 Taiwanese” show total ignorance of the difference in cultures among people. Its like suggesting mixing 5 Sing Chinese with 5 HK Chinese” or putting “5 French and 5 Brits” and see if they share a proper conversation.
The suggestion itself is totally insensitive to the people.
To expect the PRCs in Singapore to assimilate is an ignorant and stupid assumption that all PRCs here will eventually settle here and become Singaporean. We donÂ’t make the same assumption about the Indians and other races.
To think that Japanese are appreciative of those who speak Japanese is again ignorant of the Japanese people, who are one of the few closed societies among the developed countries.Originally posted by geodome:If a Singaporean were to cheat, would you tell the invilgilator??
Thirdly, [b]they have questionable work ethics. Regardless if these ethics are applied on working/studying in Singapore, the philosophy of "the ends justify the means" is not in line with the general work ethics of Singaporeans. The difference between Singaporeans and PRCs is that: when a Singaporean bend a rule for his personal gains, the other Singaporeans will scruntinise on him; when a PRC bend a rule for his personal gain, the other PRCs will applaud for his ingenuity. Last year, I saw a PRC cheat during exam. He was making reference to sheets of paper rolled inside his pencil case during a close-book exam. I promptly reported him to the invilgilator. I was totally disgusted by such a cheat. I told one of my PRC friends about that cheat and all she felt for him was sympathy, instead of being disgusted that such a cheat exists in my university. She even said he was trying his best to score for the exams. She was defending him. She tell me how she used to let her classmates copy her answers during tests when she was in secondary school. She felt good in helping her classmates to pass the test with flying colours. This conversation with her only increases my disgust with PRCs with general.[/b]
[quote]Originally posted by geodome:
admit the growing nationalism in China is a worrying trend. Personally, I do not want to see the rise of Chinese military might in Asia. Chinese foreign policy towards Tibet (1962), Taiwan(2000-2002) and North Korea (1951) are worrying. If the PRCs indeed feel arrogant because their country is rising on the global platform, it is our duty as Singaporeans to remind them that it took 5000years to achieve this. China, as a country, has taken a step back in progress many a time. It is not hard to imagine that history will repeat itself, given the mentality of the PRCs. Prior to WWI, Shanghai was divided into 8 protectorates. Perhaps prior to WWIII, China will be divided into 8 protectorates. .
Originally posted by sgdiehard:The whole idea of discrimination definitely excludes the possibility if the positive traits can compensate the negative traits. This is akin to describing ourselves as a piece of white paper. All bad deeds are black dots whereas the good deeds are white spots. When we look at the white piece of blank paper, all we see are the black dots.
Can the positive traits of Singaporean make up for our negative traits??
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Chinese people are not necessary immigrants from China. From a Singaporean perspective, Chinese is a race. From a PRC perspective, Chinese is a nationality. To say that all Chinese people are immigrants from China would suggest that you (SgDieHard) put Chinese as a nationality, and not race.
Chinese people are immigrants from China. The difference is when did they migrate? Most of us are first generation Singaporean. The reasons for migrating should not matter, does it? How does their assumption that “all Chinese people are from China” stand up like a sore thumb??
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Grouping of immigrants is not exclusive to Chinese - this does not make it a lesser evil! Just because everybody does it, does not justify if it's correct. All immigrants are expected to assimilate into their host society, by following the laws and adjusting to the culture of their host society, regardless if these people are going to become citizens eventually. Unless you look forward to see the assassination of Theo van Gogh from Netherlands to be parallelled in Singapore, due to the failure of immigrant assimilation. When you are in Rome, you must do what the Romans do. This is for the sake of national security.
Grouping of immigrants is not exclusive to Chinese. Most immigrants group together in their new host countries for a simple reason, survival. This is especially true if they do not speak the local language.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Personally, I do not want them to rise furthur, for the sake of national security. Can you imagine the day when Guangzhou or Shanghai wants to become independent from Beijing? Would it not be fantastic? This will dilute the potential of their military and economic might. It is crucial to act before a threat becomes too powerful to stop. This is for the sake of national security.
PRC moved back in civilization for 30 years and move forward for the next 25 years to where they are today. What have you got to tell the PRC Chinese, not to rise further??
Originally posted by sgdiehard:This suggestion aims to highlight that chinese people from different geographical regions are different and cannot be regarded as one. There is NO central chinese identity.
Suggesting “mixing 5 PRCs with 5 Taiwanese” show total ignorance of the difference in cultures among people. Its like suggesting mixing 5 Sing Chinese with 5 HK Chinese” or putting “5 French and 5 Brits” and see if they share a proper conversation. The suggestion itself is totally insensitive to the people.
To think that Japanese are appreciative of those who speak Japanese is again ignorant of the Japanese people, who are one of the few closed societies among the developed countries.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:I adhor cheating to the core!!!! I will not hesistate to report, even if it's a friend. At least I am sure all my friends will not cheat for their exams. I select friends carefully.
If a Singaporean were to cheat, would you tell the invilgilator??
Originally posted by karn123:Perhaps, only the blacksheeps can AFFORD to come out of China, so we see alot of black sheeps. It goes to say how bad or how good (LOL) the elites of the PRC society is. Their behavior makes people all over the world (and from all walks of life) think of them in the same disapproving manner.
I work in an environment where I meet alot of PRCs. I dunno... I would say there are MANY (many black sheep) that behave selfishly. I dont know if its the "we are foreigners in a foreign land so lets stick together and protect ourselves" mentality or maybe thats how they behaved when they're back home... sometimes it just gets on your nerves. Being in service however, I maintain a firm but friendly stance towards them. A friend working in the States tells me it is the same over there, their behaviour as well as the people's thinking about them.
But on the other hand, to their credit, those nice, unselfish PRCs can become very loyal and good friends. Incidentally these share the sentiment and are ashamed of their countrymen. So I think its a matter of luck, if you meet very nice ppl, you have a good impression of them.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Shanghai was divided into 8 protectorates before 1914. WWI occured from 1914-1918.
What has the 8 protectorates in Shanghai got to do with WW1?? And on what basis do you say that China will be divided into 8 protectorates before WWIII?
I didn't think his posts were that hard to understand. He's saying that, its not as if the PRCs don't know how widely spread across the globe the chinese are, since the chinese have been migrating to other countries for a long time! So it seems weird to continue assuming all chinese are from PRC. Why would one assume that if u knew also that the chinese had been immigrating to other places for so long? I don't think he was talking about the reasons for migration at all.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Chinese people are immigrants from China. The difference is when did they migrate? Most of us are first generation Singaporean. The reasons for migrating should not matter, does it? How does their assumption that “all Chinese people are from China” stand up like a sore thumb??
The ones we have been talking about in London, hardly qualifies as not being able to speak the local language(english), nor are they the sort who "just arrived from shanghai with $50" we're talking about people who spend 400 pounds on a single shopping trip to oxford street.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Grouping of immigrants is not exclusive to Chinese. Most immigrants group together in their new host countries for a simple reason, survival. This is especially true if they do not speak the local language. I once spoke to a Chinese couples in Paris. They arrived from shanghai with only US$ 50 each and spoke no French.
1stly we're not just talking about Singapore. 2ndly even if u're not going to settle, its no excuse for being insensitive and excluding others from your conversations(such as speaking chinese when amongst non-chinese speakers, when u CAN speak english). Its plain rude.Originally posted by sgdiehard:To expect the PRCs in Singapore to assimilate is an ignorant and stupid assumption that all PRCs here will eventually settle here and become Singaporean.
Originally posted by geodome:Grouping of immigrants is not exclusive to Chinese - this does not make it a lesser evil! Just because everybody does it, does not justify if it's correct. All immigrants are expected to assimilate into their host society, by following the laws and adjusting to the culture of their host society, regardless if these people are going to become citizens eventually. Unless you look forward to see the assassination of Theo van Gogh from Netherlands to be parallelled in Singapore, due to the failure of immigrant assimilation. When you are in Rome, you must do what the Romans do. This is for the sake of national security.
1 PRC is not a problem. A lot of PRC is a problem.Originally posted by dreameryb:My flatmate is a Spanish guy who does not seem too mesmerized by the local culture. He eats only western food, listens to Spanish pop, does not know any single Asian artists or cares to, and hangs out mainly with other spanish expatriates. I never thought of him as a lunatic muderer before. But reading your post really puts me on high alert now. Should I report him to the police? After all, it is your NATIONAL SECURITY at stake!
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Shanghai was divided into 8 protectorates before 1914. All those happened due to the Qing Government's weakness to defend China from the invasion of Western Powers. In 1900, the USA, UK, France, Italy, Austria, Japan, Germany and The Netherlands combined their armies and invaded Beijing, and the Qing government was forced to sign the Xin Chou Tiao Yue...
What has the 8 protectorates in Shanghai got to do with WW1?? And on what basis do you say that China will be divided into 8 protectorates before WWIII?
are you discriminating against the PRCs?Originally posted by geodome:The whole idea of discrimination definitely excludes the possibility if the positive traits can compensate the negative traits. This is akin to describing ourselves as a piece of white paper. All bad deeds are black dots whereas the good deeds are white spots. When we look at the white piece of blank paper, all we see are the black dots.
if you read my previous posts on this issue, you will know that I make clear distinction between ethnicity and nationality. Chinese is one ethnic race but very many different nationalities. My grandparents were from China, I am a Chinese by race and Singaporean by nationality. Being born or brought up in Singapore does not necessarily guarantee that you are a Singaporean, but your parents are chinese, then you are a Chinese, you are not a malay, an Indian, or an angmoh, regardless where you were born.Originally posted by geodome:Chinese people are not necessary immigrants from China. From a Singaporean perspective, Chinese is a race. From a PRC perspective, Chinese is a nationality. To say that all Chinese people are immigrants from China would suggest that you (SgDieHard) put Chinese as a nationality, and not race.
Although the ancestors of the Chinese Singaporeans are from China, the modern Chinese Singaporeans are not from China - We are borned and and brought up in Singapore. What I meant by that a PRC assumes all Chinese are from China is that when the PRC meets a chinese person overseas, he assumes the person is from China, when it could be the person's ancestors are from China, and not him. What is worse is that display of disdain on the PRC's face after he discovered he did not meet a fellow PRC abroad. Have you experienced that? I live in the UK and I have to endure such obnoxious behavior here. Sgdiehard, you are probably fortunate to see less of this in Singapore, and not experience it yourself. Such display of disdain is not disappointment - if it is so, the PRCs will not socially exclude chinese (race) people of non-Chinese nationality from their gathering.
Not just immigrants, everybody, tourists and even transit passengers are expected to follow the local laws; whether you are host or guests, you also need to respect religions. Theo van gogh would have been put behind bars in Singapore for his attack on the jews and the muslims.Originally posted by geodome:Grouping of immigrants is not exclusive to Chinese - this does not make it a lesser evil! Just because everybody does it, does not justify if it's correct. All immigrants are expected to assimilate into their host society, by following the laws and adjusting to the culture of their host society, regardless if these people are going to become citizens eventually. Unless you look forward to see the assassination of Theo van Gogh from Netherlands to be parallelled in Singapore, due to the failure of immigrant assimilation. When you are in Rome, you must do what the Romans do. This is for the sake of national security.
A disintegrated china is the dream of American politicians. The days Guangzhou or Shanghai fight for independent we will see tens of millions of Chinese refugees heading in all directions, and if you think that is fantastic, you have no idea what you are talking about.Originally posted by geodome:Personally, I do not want them to rise furthur, for the sake of national security. Can you imagine the day when Guangzhou or Shanghai wants to become independent from Beijing? Would it not be fantastic? This will dilute the potential of their military and economic might. It is crucial to act before a threat becomes too powerful to stop. This is for the sake of national security.
The PRCs, the jap, the Koreans, the French, are all appreciative of you speaking to them in a common language, their language!!Originally posted by geodome:This suggestion aims to highlight that chinese people from different geographical regions are different and cannot be regarded as one. There is NO central chinese identity.
The PRCs are a close social group, just like the Japanese. They show no appreciation of people who can speak a common language with them, unlike the Japanese. Have you ever hang out with Japanese?
Good for you.Originally posted by geodome:I adhor cheating to the core!!!! I will not hesistate to report, even if it's a friend. At least I am sure all my friends will not cheat for their exams. I select friends carefully. .
Apparently you met only the blacksheeps from china, you are either very unlucky or is it a case of “wu yi lei ju”? but don't kid yourself by believing that you have met all the chinese who travel overseas.Originally posted by geodome:Perhaps, only the blacksheeps can AFFORD to come out of China, so we see alot of black sheeps. It goes to say how bad or how good (LOL) the elites of the PRC society is. Their behavior makes people all over the world (and from all walks of life) think of them in the same disapproving manner.
I know about the "ba guo lian jun", just am amused at the link between WW1 and the 8 protectorates in Shanghai.Originally posted by huaqing:Shanghai was divided into 8 protectorates before 1914. All those happened due to the Qing Government's weakness to defend China from the invasion of Western Powers. In 1900, the USA, UK, France, Italy, Austria, Japan, Germany and The Netherlands combined their armies and invaded Beijing, and the Qing government was forced to sign the Xin Chou Tiao Yue...
After 1949 all those humiliating Tiao Yues were invalid...so the 8 Protectorate in Shanghai also no longer exist since Mao chased them away...
If they continue to make the rest of us look bad, sorry to say, we'd rather forge our own identity as Straits Asians.Originally posted by sgdiehard:I know about the "ba guo lian jun", just am amused at the link between WW1 and the 8 protectorates in Shanghai.
but this i do know, the day anybody try to have "8 protectorates" in China again, it is WW3.
huaqing, understand this, PRC under the chinese communists presented a very bad image of the "zhong hua wen hua" to the world, including the many overseas chinese. The misunderstandings get deeper with many people outside of china knowing little about China and those inside knowing little about Chinese outside, and the image get worse and more complicated with the presence of foreign power who want continued domination of the world. You and your fellows students from PRC, shoulder the responsibility to correct and improve this bad image. the last thing you should do is to be confrontational. Take care.