YES, else I won't be posting anything here. Since a PRC ask me (a representative of some Singaporeans who despise PRC) why I despise/discriminate PRC, I won't hesistate to make my opinions public. You have no idea how insulting it is to me, to be labelled as a PRC. Isn't this the purpose of this thread?Originally posted by sgdiehard:are you discriminating against the PRCs?
Elites refer to people at the top of the hiearchical structure of society. It is not about how these people arrived at such a social status, but only that these people have arrived at this social status.Originally posted by dreameryb:Labelling children from criminal families as elites from China... It only betrays your standard of what elitism means...
The infamous "yu3 min2 zheng4 ce4".Originally posted by LazerLordz:It's what the CCP has drilled into its citizens through subtle and non-subtle means over the years..
Tell that to the PRC minority in Singapore. I speak fluent mandarin and still get that "display of disdain" due to my nationality. The PRCs are not appreciative even if I speak their language. On a simpler level, the PRCs are just being plain rude and insensitive. They always seem to expect us to adapt to them, and not actually BOTH PARTIES compromising with each other.Originally posted by sgdiehard:You should make clear to the PRC Chinese, the overseas Chinese are not the same Chinese as the PRC Chinese and the PRC Chinese are not The Chinese. You have to know the difference and they have to accept the difference. I travel in china on regular basis, my colleagues who are not fluent in Chinese ever told me of this “display of disdain”. I was often asked but I know enough to tell them in their face how little they know about their own history and about Chinese outside of china. If you don't know enough, then you can only be angry and do nothing.
The Singaporean chinese, malay and indian culture makes up the ethnical culture of Singapore. The Singaporean culture is furthur defined by our work ethics and meritocratic system. In this discussion thread, we are comparing Singaporean culture against PRC culture. The suggestion of Singapore turning into a monocultural soceity is irrelevant to this discussion thread. There is no meaning in contrasting Singaporean chinese culture with PRC chinese culture.Originally posted by sgdiehard:But I donÂ’t see the need to adjust your own culture to the local culture, I donÂ’t see the need for the Chinese, the Malays and the Indian (Tamil) in Singapore merging into one culture, but we respect each others cultures
Originally posted by sgdiehard:We need to learn to handle them. I believe the problem you have as a student in a foreign land is that there are just many of these PRCs around. You need to stay in a group with other Chinese from Taiwan, Hong Kong, MalaysiaÂ…but is it true that in UK, the HK, PRC, Singaporean/Malaysian Chinese are all far apart in each individual group? (apparently there are not many Taiwanese Chinese there.)Compare Indo-Chinese with Malaysians. It might give you an idea of how different the PRCs are from HK and Taiwanese.
since obviously the disdain is mutual, at least on your part, why all the whining?Originally posted by geodome:YES, else I won't be posting anything here. Since a PRC ask me (a representative of some Singaporeans who despise PRC) why I despise/discriminate PRC, I won't hesistate to make my opinions public. You have no idea how insulting it is to me, to be labelled as a PRC. Isn't this the purpose of this thread?
Originally posted by LazerLordz:
If they continue to make the rest of us look bad, sorry to say, [b]we'd rather forge our own identity as Straits Asians.[/b]
I agree to a certain extent.Originally posted by sgdiehard:You and your fellows students from PRC, shoulder the responsibility to correct and improve this bad image. the last thing you should do is to be confrontational. Take care.
And not forget our real roots here, we should never let any foreign culture take over us 100%.Originally posted by diggo:My 2 cents worth of opinions...
In my line of work,, i travel to china a lot and most of the time i am considered as one of them. ie, even in China, there are a lot of ppl that cannot speak proper "pu tong hua".
However, there are fantastic ppl there as well. Wat is being discribe by some of the formumites in this thread, are no doubt true as I have encountered it myself. However, it is the circumstances that make them this way.
Imagine if u r to mortage ur house, sell off your land (some even body) so that u can get an opportunity to go another place to better yourself. You will be very "kaisu" in getting everything. That is being displayed by most of the PRC students here. There are also a subtaintial amt who is here to work in the illegal "entertainment" industry.
So for us in SGP, we approach them with tinted glasses... and sad to say, treat all of them as potential whores. Tit for tat, most ppl will retaliate.
Treat everyone with respect and they will reciprocate "ren zi chu, xing ben shan". It is also ok to be proud of the chinese (race) culture, as no matter what, we also also part of it.
The Chinese High School was the first school in Singapore to have PRC scholars among the midst of their students. My cohort at Chinese High was fortunate to be among the first in Singapore to study/work with PRC students. During my secondary school years, I enjoyed working with the PRC scholars in my class. They were brilliant people who deserve our respect. Their drive for excellence and committment were unparalleled.Originally posted by YaoRockets:since obviously the disdain is mutual, at least on your part, why all the whining?![]()
Are these people being discriminated by Chinese (nationality) people who can speak "Pu Tong Hua"? It is not surprising if Chinese people from 1 province despise another. As far as I know, people in Northern China in gernal are disliked by people in South China for being overtly political. I am also aware not all of China speak "pu tong hua", so it is even more infuriating that the PRCs discriminate overseas Chinese who can't speak "Pu Tong Hua".Originally posted by diggo:even in China, there are a lot of ppl that cannot speak proper "pu tong hua".
Since the fall of Man in the Garden of Eden, man is inherently evil. It is common to see little kids telling white lies. Who teach kids to bully one another? Self-instinct, isn't it? We only become good through social conditioning while we grow up.Originally posted by diggo:Treat everyone with respect and they will reciprocate "ren zi chu, xing ben shan".
Who is taking advantage of PRCs in Singapore?Originally posted by dreamykite:We have to 'retaliate' when we are taken advantage of, which later is the traits of most PRCs.. havent you forgotten that there is another saying 'ren zi chu, xing beng er'?
We have this in the UK as well. There are always PRC dissidents passing out phamplets in public, asking for people to support their anti-CCP activities, eg. demonstrate outside the Chinese Embassy in the UK, sign their petitions, etc.Originally posted by guanyunchang:this is s'pore not china ... if u wanna help ur ppl in china, go back china n help them ... don't do it in s'pore n dirty my land ...
I am not whining - I am just answering mahuaqing's question why some Singaporeans despise PRC. If you (YaoRockets) don't look forward to see my posting, ask your fellow comrade not to post the question here. If nobody post the question, I won't post my replies. I don't like to be labelled as other nationalities. The only nationality I am proud to be labelled of is Singaporean.Originally posted by YaoRockets:since obviously the disdain is mutual, at least on your part, why all the whining?![]()
heck, if you are so insulted by being called a chinese, just pretend you are japanese next time. happy ending for everybody
Are you sure you are being totally factual about this? Once again, this is the recurring themes in this forum that somehow we belittle Singaporeans who cannot speak proper Mandarin. Well, I tell you, this is a misconception or an illusion on the part of those Singaporeans who are generally less confident when it comes to linguistic proficiency. The fact that the media is innundated with discussions on how to minimize singlish on one hand and to improve mandarin standard on the other, obliquely testifies to this sense of linguistic insecurity. When you are less confident youself, you become overly sensitive. Sometimes factual comments on your language standard get interpreted as discrimination. Therefore, don't let your own sense of insecurity distort honest comments from others, if any. Nobody thinks less of you simply on linguistic grounds. Thank you very much.Originally posted by geodome:Are these people being discriminated by Chinese (nationality) people who can speak "Pu Tong Hua"? It is not surprising if Chinese people from 1 province despise another. As far as I know, people in Northern China in gernal are disliked by people in South China for being overtly political. I am also aware not all of China speak "pu tong hua", so it is even more infuriating that the PRCs discriminate overseas Chinese who can't speak "Pu Tong Hua".
You are entitled to your own opinion. But when you expressly delcare your discrimination against Chinese nationals (as you did in your previous posting), whatever you say should be interpreted as tainted with your inherent bias. and your opinion shall not be taken seriously due to lack of objectivity. If you are mistakenly labelled as other nationalities, that is largly due to physical similarities shared among the same race. Sometimes, it's even hard to tell a Japanese from a Chinese, let alone a PRC Chinese and Singapoean Chinese. There is no need to be fussy when people make such mistakes. We know you are a proud Singaporean though.Originally posted by geodome:I am not whining - I am just answering mahuaqing's question why some Singaporeans despise PRC. If you (YaoRockets) don't look forward to see my posting, ask your fellow comrade not to post the question here. If nobody post the question, I won't post my replies. I don't like to be labelled as other nationalities. The only nationality I am proud to be labelled of is Singaporean.
Hierarchy of social structure is not defined solely according to the money you have. In reality, most societies take into accounts other achievements, and how you make the money BEFORE you attain the social status. Not all rich men are elites and not all elites are rich.Originally posted by geodome:Elites refer to people at the top of the hiearchical structure of society. It is not about how these people arrived at such a social status, but only that these people have arrived at this social status
There is no meaning contrasting a multi racial culture with a mono racial society like that of China.Originally posted by geodome:The Singaporean chinese, malay and indian culture makes up the ethnical culture of Singapore. The Singaporean culture is furthur defined by our work ethics and meritocratic system. In this discussion thread, we are comparing Singaporean culture against PRC culture. The suggestion of Singapore turning into a monocultural soceity is irrelevant to this discussion thread. There is no meaning in contrasting Singaporean chinese culture with PRC chinese culture.
Comparing Indo-Chinese and Malaysians with the Chinese from PRCs, HK, Taiwan, is completely out of context. You still have no idea what is the difference between the Chinese in PRC, Taiwan, HK and Singapore. I think Chinese as a race, is simply too large and complicated for your comprehension.Originally posted by geodome:Compare Indo-Chinese with Malaysians. It might give you an idea of how different the PRCs are from HK and Taiwanese.
PRCs Chinese are everywhere. Talk to the HK Chinese and you will know their impact there. If you think you have met the majority of PRC Chinese, you havenÂ’t seen anything yet.Originally posted by geodome:live in the UK now. The PRCs I met here in the UK totally spoilt my image of them. The sheer number of the obnoxious PRCs here make me think that the population of respectable PRCs is actually a minority
If you start discriminating somebody, you are not giving a “good social conditioning” for your children and those around you. Tit for tat is not a good social virtue here or anywhere, surely you did not learn that in Singapore, cause here we accommodate all kinds of people, the good the bad the ugly, and Singaporean are proud of that. Away from home too long is no good for you.Originally posted by geodome:I was nice towards PRCs in the beginning. I did not discriminate against PRC in the beginning. The PRCs made me discriminate them. I discriminate PRCs in general.
We only become good through social conditioning while we grow up.
Only those who had never been to school in china cannot speak pu tong hua!! It is true that the Beijing Chinese dislike the Shanghainese Chinese, the HKers dislike the Taiwanese, and in the same way, the Americans from the west coast dislike the those from Philadelphia or New York, even the Germans in the north looks down on Germans in the south. Geographical differences do bring about cultural and social difference. The Chinese are not even comfortable sharing each others food because the northern Chinese eat wheat and the southern Chinese eat rice. The world is not homogeneous. Know and accept the difference, tell them whatÂ’s wrong if you like, but discriminating those you dislike does not put you on higher ground, discrimination itself is an act from a lower ground.Originally posted by geodome:It is not surprising if Chinese people from 1 province despise another. As far as I know, people in Northern China in gernal are disliked by people in South China for being overtly political. I am also aware not all of China speak "pu tong hua", so it is even more infuriating that the PRCs discriminate overseas Chinese who can't speak "Pu Tong Hua".
Shouldn't the correct word be "explicitly"? The purpose of this thread is to know/understand why some Singaporeans despise PRCs. What better way is to get the answers straight from the horses' mouths? How can you not see that if you do have objectivity? I am more qualified to post in this thread, with regards to the question asked.Originally posted by dreameryb:But when you expressly delcare your discrimination against Chinese nationals (as you did in your previous posting), whatever you say should be interpreted as tainted with your inherent bias. and your opinion shall not be taken seriously due to lack of objectivity.
I scored A1 for Higher Chinese and studied Chinese Literature for O level. My mandarin standard is probably better than most Singaporeans. I am not being over-sensitive. I do not intend to give a PRCs an equal moral standing ground with us Singaporeans for 1 main reason - their horrible work/study ethics. The Singaporeans who had worked in China and posted their comments here all agreed that their quality of service and standard of production is terrible. My personal experience with PRC academic ethics is not much better too.Originally posted by dreameryb:Well, I tell you, this is a misconception or an illusion on the part of those Singaporeans who are generally less confident when it comes to linguistic proficiency. The fact that the media is innundated with discussions on how to minimize singlish on one hand and to improve mandarin standard on the other, obliquely testifies to this sense of linguistic insecurity. When you are less confident youself, you become overly sensitive. Sometimes factual comments on your language standard get interpreted as discrimination. Therefore, don't let your own sense of insecurity distort honest comments from others, if any. Nobody thinks less of you simply on linguistic grounds. Thank you very much.
In theory, I agree with you. Practically, if you are not rich, who cares if you regard yourself as an elite? If nobody treats you as an elite, you are practically not an elite. This is the ugly nature of our world - money can buy almost everything.Originally posted by dreameryb:Hierarchy of social structure is not defined solely according to the money you have. In reality, most societies take into accounts other achievements, and how you make the money BEFORE you attain the social status. Not all rich men are elites and not all elites are rich.
Are you sure about that? Which ethic group ruled China during the Qing Dynasty?Originally posted by sgdiehard:There is no meaning contrasting a multi racial culture with a mono racial society like that of China.
My point is there is no such thing as a central chinese identity. Your suggestion that I do not understand chinese as a race is geared towards the ideals that discrimination is not appropriate. Such idealism is irrelevant to this thread because this thread is about why some Singaporeans discriminate PRCs and not why discrimination is not appropriate.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Comparing Indo-Chinese and Malaysians with the Chinese from PRCs, HK, Taiwan, is completely out of context. You still have no idea what is the difference between the Chinese in PRC, Taiwan, HK and Singapore. I think Chinese as a race, is simply too large and complicated for your comprehension.
You had pointed out that I am biased towards them. I do make friends with PRC on a case-by-case basis. I regard each PRC as bad until proven not. I do not see how Singapore is a very accomodating soceity, on the grounds Singapore is very consevative and our political climate stiffles opinions.Originally posted by sgdiehard:If you start discriminating somebody, you are not giving a “good social conditioning” for your children and those around you. Tit for tat is not a good social virtue here or anywhere, surely you did not learn that in Singapore, cause here we accommodate all kinds of people, the good the bad the ugly, and Singaporean are proud of that. Away from home too long is no good for you.
That's the whole idea. There is so many bad PRCs around, that it's hard not to discriminate them in general.Originally posted by sgdiehard:what i want to say is.. i've had my share of PRCs for abt 4yrs now.. seen the good ones and the bad ones..but i meet more of the bad ones. so i have a bad impression upon them
Well said well said.Originally posted by dreameryb:Staying in enclaves of one's own kind seems to be a universal human trait and certainly is not something Chinese alone are guilty of. I doubt the Singaporeasn in Australia or America mix easily with the locals. People have an innate tendency to regard with suspicion others from different racial and cultural background. On the other hand, you may know that some Londoners are quite xenophobic and would not like to mix with foreigners to begin with.
Sounds like something from CNN or Asahi Shimbun.Originally posted by geodome:I admit the growing nationalism in China is a worrying trend. Personally, I do not want to see the rise of Chinese military might in Asia. Chinese foreign policy towards Tibet (1962), Taiwan(2000-2002) and North Korea (1951) are worrying. If the PRCs indeed feel arrogant because their country is rising on the global platform, it is our duty as Singaporeans to remind them that it took 5000years to achieve this. China, as a country, has taken a step back in progress many a time. It is not hard to imagine that history will repeat itself, given the mentality of the PRCs. Prior to WWI, Shanghai was divided into 8 protectorates. Perhaps prior to WWIII, China will be divided into 8 protectorates.
If there's one thing I know, it's never discount anything.Observe and be prepared for all angles.Originally posted by phua joo kang:Sounds like something from CNN or Asahi Shimbun.
Unfortunately observation is sometimes coloured and when the real enemy strikes we find our guns pointed the wrong way, just like what happened here in Singapore before WWII under the stupid British. That's why we have Fort Siloso instead of Fort Senoko.Originally posted by LazerLordz:If there's one thing I know, it's never discount anything.Observe and be prepared for all angles.
Scum.That place, food aside, is a symbol of what's wrong beginning from a few years back.Originally posted by anonymouscoward:Let me speak from a close experience (although I have many from my years of travel)...
A close relative of mine recently got married to a Chinese girl who works in a KTV. Since then, this close relative has cut off all contact with ALL relatives.
He used to be cash rich.. earning more than S$100k per annum, has a fully paid HDB, cash reserves and huge CPF which he invested wisely.. Now, he's heavily in debt, busted all his credit cards limits and the only thing he has now is his HDB (which may not be his soon if the girl divorce him) and CPF.
Here is a few of the ridiculous things the girl impose..
1) She has to continue to work in KTV because he cannot sustain her lavish lifestyle now
2) She may need to spend nights elsewhere and he is not to question her
3) He cannot tell anyone they are married or her clients may not be interested
.... the all have the same plot.. poor PRC arrives in Singapore, come from good traditional family but force into current situation.. needs bright shinny armour men to save them..
Stupid Singaporean falls for their trap and feels responsible after bedding them, gave them a chance to a new lease of lfe but yet.... they yearn for more stupid Singaporeans who can give them money (while they are still young and beautiful)...
Personally, I really, really despise PRCs.. take a walk around Geylang and I nearly suffocated with irks.
Sadly, our government is doing nothing about this!!
Hehe, your closed friend is obviously one of those STUPID, tupid, tupid singaporean. Knowing that the girl is from KTV, ...... yet prepared to give her everything,...... tiot kong tao liao.Originally posted by anonymouscoward:Let me speak from a close experience (although I have many from my years of travel)...
A close relative of mine recently got married to a Chinese girl who works in a KTV. Since then, this close relative has cut off all contact with ALL relatives.
He used to be cash rich.. earning more than S$100k per annum, has a fully paid HDB, cash reserves and huge CPF which he invested wisely.. Now, he's heavily in debt, busted all his credit cards limits and the only thing he has now is his HDB (which may not be his soon if the girl divorce him) and CPF.
Here is a few of the ridiculous things the girl impose..
1) She has to continue to work in KTV because he cannot sustain her lavish lifestyle now
2) She may need to spend nights elsewhere and he is not to question her
3) He cannot tell anyone they are married or her clients may not be interested
.... the all have the same plot.. poor PRC arrives in Singapore, come from good traditional family but force into current situation.. needs bright shinny armour men to save them..
Stupid Singaporean falls for their trap and feels responsible after bedding them, gave them a chance to a new lease of lfe but yet.... they yearn for more stupid Singaporeans who can give them money (while they are still young and beautiful)...
Personally, I really, really despise PRCs.. take a walk around Geylang and I nearly suffocated with irks.
Sadly, our government is doing nothing about this!!
Sigh.. actually, my this is friend is not that innocent. He's been to China more than myself and frequent their KTVs and 400 RMB-a-night-actress-lookalike hostess... stillOriginally posted by sgdiehard:Hehe, your closed friend is obviously one of those STUPID, tupid, tupid singaporean. Knowing that the girl is from KTV, ...... yet prepared to give her everything,...... tiot kong tao liao.
Don't expect government to do anything like that, but I just wonder where were his closed friends, who should give him a help. Just bring him to another KTV and meet more pretty girls and pretty china girls would mean nothing at all.
Can't imagine guys like this landed in China, with cheaper and more beautiful girls....