it's their rice bowl leh... u see u fierce or not when ppl took ur rice bowl awayOriginally posted by laurence82:woah, but when the koreans start to protest, they look fierce wor![]()
Don't underestimate the global activism movement, and certainly don't lull ourselves into thinking we are the best.South Korea was a military state, and they still have problems controlling riot, so its best we prepare and not be arrogant in thinking it will never happen here.Originally posted by Salman:Singapore style works on prevention better than cure.
First of all, you can expect trouble makers barred from entering Singapore.
Secondly, like they said, IMF World Bank meetings are not prone to attract protestors so there is unlikely to be a show down.
Finally, even if they start making trouble, I'm sure it will be put down very quickly.
My guess is, they will be broken up even when they start gathering.
In other words, there will be no mass protest and violence or very little of it. What do you think those Gurkhas with their kukri knives are for?
In the event if mass violence to breakout, you can expect a baton charge that will send a warning to the rest of the world not to mess with Singapore. I say we cane the arrested protestors for rioting.
That's one aspect we are flawed, we seem to be putting too much effort into suppressing non-violent political and social activism when militancy is much more fearful.Originally posted by ObviousMan:Social activists are the least of the problems.
Terrorists are the more worrisome ones.
They carry banners don't they?Originally posted by RaTtY81:do rioters had the words "im a rioter" written on their forehead?![]()
They cannot paint the banners here meh?Originally posted by Salman:They carry banners don't they?
Why on earth would they do that?Originally posted by Salman:They can, but once they show up on the grounds with the banner, the police will move in very quickly.
I think we should cane rioters or better still, issue warnings of caning before it happens. At least 3 strokes. I'm sure it will prevent rioting.
I say we cane the arrested protestors for rioting.Only cane them? I thought you are going to torture them...
think dat journalist now in Whitney there liao...hahaOriginally posted by charlize:If I recall correctly, there was an article by a ST journalist sometime back questioning the double standards of allowing foreign NGOs to stage protests in Singapore while Singaporeans could not.
Anybody remember that article?
Caning is good enough cos they are not terrorists.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Only cane them? I thought you are going to torture them...![]()
so u mean those rioter will carry banners and pass thru our immigrant check pts?Originally posted by Salman:They carry banners don't they?
so without banners or any equipment or watsoever the demostrators will not demostrate?Originally posted by Salman:Nope, those demonstrator will carry banners to where they want to demonstrate.
not true. I personally witnessed a demonstration outside my hotel in Seoul, 3 hrs latter, life there was back to normal. there were violent demonstration, but no riots.Originally posted by Salman:Korean demonstartions do turn into riots, all the time.