Typical cynicism.Originally posted by Kenashi:damn bo liao
if he is so gd, tell him to do it in the open seas, then it won't waste our money n he can break all the stupid record he want![]()
he can die there to prove his worth as if i care.Originally posted by BillyBong:Typical cynicism.
Performing such a feat in open waters requires even more resources to combat the ocean currents and to duplicate the controlled environment. You probably need a hyperbaric chamber, a support vessel and a crew with diving experience.
Then again, i guess you had no idea....
True, why stand in the way of a determined man?Originally posted by Kenashi:he can die there to prove his worth as if i care.
if a person want to seek death why stop him![]()
Wah... if every year he think of one stunt and got the sponsor then is he right on track.Originally posted by charlize:$150K could have gone a long way to pay for basic food / utilities for very poor residents living in NorthEast CDC.
NKF board anyhow approve durai's pay, you more dulan with NKF board or more dulan wih durai?Originally posted by SnowFlag:I dun u'stand why.....
CDC anyhow spend money, but u all blame khoo.
Judge did not jail the pianist for not serving NS, but the blame is on the pianist.![]()
Khoo applied for the Dare to dream fund to do the underwater feat. The rules state that people who were successful in applying for the funds before cannot apply, but it seems that no one applied except Khoo, so they gave it to him AGAIN. If the money had been given to someone who wants to bring glory to the nation, by all means, do it. BUT he is doing it to get HIS name into record books, it doesn't benefit the nation at all.Originally posted by SnowFlag:I dun u'stand why.....
CDC anyhow spend money, but u all blame khoo.
Judge did not jail the pianist for not serving NS, but the blame is on the pianist.![]()
i think both parties are at blame.Originally posted by snow leopard:NKF board anyhow approve durai's pay, you more dulan with NKF board or more dulan wih durai?
i want to go to outer space.Originally posted by FireIce:the next thing he wannna conquer is the desert
It's narrow-minded to think everything that Khoo is doing is merely for the pursuit of self-glory alone.Originally posted by snow leopard:cashing in on your fame aren't you?
so it's all about money isn't it?
as you've admitted earlier, it's all about money isn't it? inspiration? that's part of the whole bullshit isn't it?
this is like someone who brags about having gone to some exotic country on an all expenses paid holiday with porters to carry his luggage.
the example you set for the rest of the country is this. self glorification comes above all else, including the lives of your comrades. they can rot and die or become paralysed later on but they won't stop you from achieving self glory.
if not for your sponsored trip up the mountains, you would still be a lowly employee. what else have you got to show for easier ways of making money? no gold awaited you at the top no doubt, but gold as you've shown us all, is for your taking that has everything to do with that one single deed.
well, you weren't there when your pregnant wife needed you the most. for your own selfish glory, you chose to forsake your family. what a father you are. contribute to singapore? sounds more like living off singapore.
Originally posted by BillyBong:
It's narrow-minded to think everything that Khoo is doing is merely for the pursuit of self-glory alone.
he is portraying himself to be a doer of good for singapore. i'm merely flipping the coin around to show what he is really up to, which is nothing more than self glory.
Just as honest folks earn a decent living through profitable work, so does Khoo earn his living by giving motivational talks, writing books etc. A man's gotta earn a living. Just because you disapprove of his line of work does not mean he's scum. The money he earns is legitimate and also through hard work. The way you preach sounds like you're the only honest-living person in SG.
a couple of hours of "motivational" or should i say self glorifying talk earns big bucks for him. that's hard work? using public funds to pursue his hobbies is an honest way of making a living? i may not be the only honest living person in the world, but i don't use public funds to perform clown acts in public.
And only a fool would self-finance himself for ardous trips to the south pole or to climb seven of the highest peaks. Unless you're a Donald Trump or Bill Gates, its not even feasible to consider such expensive enterprises. The fact that he actively seeks the necessary sponsorship for his endeavours indicates a form of entrepreneurship mind that few of us exhibit. Isn't that what our beloved gahmen is attempting to develop?
arduous to some extent perhaps but not extraordinarily so. south pole and highest peaks maybe. but cooped-in-a-tank gimmick? that deserves sponsorship? that's entrepreneurial endeavour? more like waste of public funds isn't it? you mean garmen is agweeable to sponsoring any kind of silly act?
And it seems that you're conveniently overlooked the difficulties and life-threatening situations each of his task requires. As he already mentioned, there is no 'medal or cash incentive' for each of his journeys, evidently a snipe at SSC's cash incentive scheme for sportsmen. He is clearly differentiating himself from the average sportmen that SG has developed.
what life threatening situation is there in the cooped-in-a-tank gimmick? any time he wants to he can surface right? it's not as if he is tied up and performing some houdini trick.
sports is something you can identify with, something you approve because it involves graceful skill or extraordinary human abilities. we all can run, but we can't run as fast as shyam so we respect him for that. we play badminton, but we're not as skillful or graceful as susilo so we applaud his achievements. cooped-in-a-tank act? who gives a damn? just about anybody can coop-in-a-tank, with oxygen, liquid food, sanitation provided, the whole gimmick is designed for any average joe to last in that tank. what testament to human spirit or ability is there?
If that isn't enough, he has proven that certain dreams don't require a a huge cash flow to realise, but merely requires the right approach through appropriate channels. Campaigning for sponsorship is a win-win situation for both the campaigner and the provider. After all, you think Lance Armstrong or Amelia Earheart held decent jobs?
that cooped-in-tank gimmick isn't exactly cheap and it uses public funds. win-win? he won, the public lost. he got his fame (which would lead to fortune), what did the public get in return? Lance Armstrong is a testament to human spirit and triumph. i don't know what that cooped-in-a-tank act signifies. Amelia earhart had to work hard to save for her adventures. our friend? open mouth only money pour in like rain. so easy, hardly the true pursuer of dreams and passion that amelia is.
And as to your cynical remark: so it's all about money isn't it?, my question to you is quite simply: What isn't?
cynical to you perhaps, but nevertheless appropriate. he sounded as if he's doing some wondrous good for singapore when in fact he is merely doing it for his own glory while hypocritically claiming to be contributing to the country. what good has he done for the country submerging himself in a tank? so to answer your question, why claim to be doing something noble when in fact you're actually doing it for your own selfish reasons? and if it is selfish endeavour why use public funds?
Originally posted by BillyBong:there was a recent record for the longest basketball game by a group of students. no sponsorship money, in fact that raised money for charity.
And as to your cynical remark: so it's all about money isn't it?, my question to you is quite simply: [b]What isn't?
how come thread starter didnt answer the question ?Originally posted by Kenashi:errr, please correct me if i am wrong, North East Community Development Council (CDC)'s Dare to Dream Fund -> where is the source??
Taxpayer money distributed by the govt?
Do i still need to answer? Isn't it already published for all to read (Straits times) ever since Robert Yeo indignantly wrote and accused Khoo of misuse of funds? The Northeast CDC had to vehemently defend itself from all kinds of accusations spilling over from the recent NKF debacle. Many even drew unfair comparisons between Khoo and Durai.Originally posted by crazy monkey:how come thread starter didnt answer the question ?![]()
There will always be comparisons to the 'cheapest/free' volunteery work vs the more glamourous/pricy productions designed to raise funds. Or attempts to break into the guiness book of records.Originally posted by snow leopard:there was a recent record for the longest basketball game by a group of students. no sponsorship money, in fact that raised money for charity.
there was also this biggest morning exercise group by our civil servants. that too wasn't about money.
i think there was also a longest pizza record that involved little more than some flour and other pizza ingredients.
these are not about money.
There will always be comparisons to the 'cheapest/free' volunteery work vs the more glamourous/pricy productions designed to raise funds. Or attempts to break into the guiness book of records.
The longest human chain (NTU in previous years) for example.
Then again, others will also scoff at the morning exercise (which requires minimal effort and preparation) by our civil cervants (and i never heard it it by the way).
And why would people be interested in a longest pizza record?
Get my drift?
exactly, they're all a bunch of boh liao records, including this khooped-in-a-tank act. however, while the former acts did not waste public funds, the khoo act did and that is fundamentally wrong. in those former acts, no single person benefited in any way whatsoever but this khooped-in-a-tank act benefited khoo solely. using public funds to benefit yourself while claiming to be doing good for all is just so hypocritical, selfish and unethical.
So what if staying underwater is no 'great' feat? Certainly its nothing compared to his completing the adventure grand slam. But with every new task, he's still trying for something special.
Would you put yourself in a wet suit and do the same? Would you campaign for funding or seek out opportunities to obtain legitimate sponsorship?
come on lah, some of the so-called grand slams are more like grand shams. climbing up kilimanjaro is actually a tourist activity, even lao ah pecks have done it.
let's say you walked through a pig sty and you think it's super great so you challenge me to walk through that pig sty as well. you think i kayu like you?
And since you're talking about Lance Armstrong's hard work, are you suggesting Khoo's past exploits needed zero training?
Are there risks in staying underwater? yes and you can include hypothermia, mild bends and psychological disorders among other things.
khoo's past exploits needed training no doubt, apart from everest, i think any reasonably fit person can manage the other peaks. as for everest itself, it shouldn't be unduly difficult for the average mountaineering enthusiast. hey, our NUS guys did it too. it's no superhuman challenge. only to those ill informed or suah koo ones do such "conquests" seem out of the extraordinary.
hypothermia? i really want to laugh. you soak yourself in a bath tub in warm, sunny singapore you get hypothermia? more like hypocrisy-mia.
Why didn't anyone slam him for doing a long distance cycling ride to China? Or fail in his attempt in swimming the English Channel? This isn't the first time he applied to the Northeast CDC for support. All this stinks of hypocrisy. And he's been given enough stick already. If you think it's 'wrong' for NE CDC to support him, then direct your displeasure at them.
people did slam him for abandoning his pregnant wife while cycling to china and yes if you want we can double charge him.
like i mentioned to someone earlier. to the general public, who is the more despicable? NKF board for sanctioning durai or duari himself? personally i think the CDC is crap for supporting such boh liao activity but khoo is the one that has been enjoying the limelight with public funds.
He doesn't deserve it.
this i agwee with you. he doesn't deserve to be living off his fame ...
You seem so eager to slam him for personal self-glory at the expense of 'public funds'. But again, who is the provider? Did he unscrupulously siphon funds? No. He applied for it and received it legitimately. Which part of this process do you not understand?
it is not i who am eager to slam him but you who are eager to defend his acts of shame. just because you have an accomplice doesn't make you any less guilty of a crime does it? the part that i don't understand is why people can be so shameless as to constantly apply and re-apply for public funds for seemingly personal adventures.
Everything was done with transparency and the documentation is open for scrutiny to the public. If you disagree with the ethics, then take it up with NE CDC. Your disappointment is misdirected.
so the CDC is screwed up and our friend has made use of its loop hole. does that make him any less guilty of using public funds for personal glory and worse still claiming he is doing it for the good of the country? misdirected? i don't think so. anyone with a little bit of shame would not use public funds for personal glory and even have the cheek to say "hey it's approved what?"
Oh so high altitude climbing is easy? You have the audacity to compare it with 'tourism'? Try scaling our regional kinabalu with average training and see how that works for you. Even the superfit go through weeks of arduous preparation, not to mention everest and the polar treks. Do you even know what the NUS 'boys' went through before they tried their ascent?
If you have no experience in mountain climbing, don't pretend its a walk in a 'pig's sty' and marginalise it for your convenience.
audacious? not at all, pretty reasonable comparison in fact. i did scale kinabalu. didn't go thru much training. along the way saw many ah pecks who reached the top too. the superfit go thru weeks of arduous perparation for kinabalu? my gosh, you know they have this kinabalu competition every year? people run up and down in one or two hours you know?
just because you find mountain climbing formidable doesn't mean it is. more likely than not, what you see as supreme and unconquerable is simply due to your own inadequacies.
It's sad you know little about diving rigours and the dangers that follow.
it's sad you can only regurgitate the so-called dangers that officials have used to exaggerate an underwise insignficant act.
And as his wife clearly pointed out, Khoo wanted to cancel the trip. His wife insisted that he proceed and not disappoint his sponsors.
convenient isn't it? to hide behind the wife ... as far as we know, he left his wife in pursuit of his own personal glory. nothing can be further from the truth.
With Khoo, it's about going for records and trying to make a difference in a stagnant society. Self-glorification comes as part package on the journey. It's neither asked for nor demanded. There is no greed nor 'mismanagement'. All the funds are spent on bottom-dollar equipment and are completely above board.
your sentence deserves a little refinement:
with khoo, it's about going for personal records and in order to get public sponsor for his personal adventures he has to at least appear to be making a difference to society when in actual fact nobody gives a damn. self glorification comes at the very core of the package. it is not asked, not demanded but comes implicitly and expectedly. in the eyes of the greedy, there is not such thing as greed, in the vocabulary of the mismanaged, there is not such thing as mismanagement. all funds spent are for the sole benefit of just one person.
If your misguided anger towards Khoo stems from his presumed 'self-glorification', why wait till his little 'fish tank experiment' before making your point? Why wait for someone to stir up 150K to taking you to an emotional breaking point? You've had plenty of opportunities since his 'sponsored' packages to the polar ends and his 7 peak conquests.
my anger appears "misguided" only in the eyes of someone who sees the entire episode from the perspective of just one person - khoo, for it is only through his eyes that self benefit makes sense. to the public at large however, such acts of self glorification can't be right and any resulting anger not misguided.
his prior adventures were at least adventures in their own right but this fish tank act is altogether boh liao and meaningless. furthermore, prior sponsors were mainly corporate but this time round he used so much public funds. also, we're getting a bit tired of his antics and lastly i'm merely responding to your post for otherwise i wouldn't even be bothered.
Incidently, all this comes at a time when the NKF issue degraded into a cesspool of greed with the release of KPMG's statement so i'm inclined to believe he's getting more than his fair share of stick simply becuase his hands are tied to the NE CDC funds.
you are entitled to think in any way you are inclined to. as far as i'm concerned, it is wrong to use public funds for personal glory be it the approver or the benefactor.
both are the same. they misuse public fundsOriginally posted by BillyBong:Do i still need to answer? Isn't it already published for all to read (Straits times) ever since Robert Yeo indignantly wrote and accused Khoo of misuse of funds? The Northeast CDC had to vehemently defend itself from all kinds of accusations spilling over from the recent NKF debacle. Many even drew unfair comparisons between Khoo and Durai.