Originally posted by Deen Lee:If the government closed all the ports and the enemy is on Singapore island, the people will fight no matter what, that is if they want to survive, so where's the reluctant soldiers?
Our operational readiness in defence is dependent on the X number of soldiers that we have. During peace time, these X numbers are reassuring to our defensive needs. However in times of war, it could be much more lesser, crippling our defensive capability. This is because many reluctant NSmen and his family would have gone out of the country at the first sign of trouble. The government can closed all immigration point, but it wouldn't be of much use if soldiers are not willing to fight.
So what's the alternative then? A fully professional army? We simply don't have enough manpower to create a professional army. The full strength of the SAF is to the order of 300000++ men. If you want a professional army of that size, not only is it going to cost lots, but it's going to drain massive manpower from the economy.Originally posted by Deen Lee:National service conscription was introduced in 1967 to basically produce a military defence force for the country. Later it was expanded to include the police and civil defence force. In the Enlistment Act, all male Singaporean citizens, upon reaching the age of 18, are required to serve two years of full-time national service in one of these forces. Which forces one is conscripted to is decided solely by the government without any recourse. Females are not required to do national service. I shall focus maily on military conscription.
Recently, draft dodger Melvin Tan, created a furore among ex and current national servicemen for the light punishment he received from the authorities. Unhappiness also started to surface about male foreigners who had obtained their PR and/or citizenship without having to serve a day of national service. Questions were raised about the value of citizenship, and the inconsistencies of national service liability.
National service is suppose to bond the nation, but instead it has inadvertently created divisions and frictions between citizens who are liable to be conscripted, and those who are not. Such division is compounded by the latter's lack of understanding and respect for national servicemen. Last year, a senior bureacrat and an ASTAR's female scholar passed unsavoury remarks on national servicemen, which causes much outrage and condemnation from ex and current national servicemen. This shows the underlying tension between both groups.
One of the most serious implication of national service conscription is that we are actually putting Singapore at risk. With conscription, we are just producing "reluctant soldiers". Many Singaporean male do not have the opportunity or finance to do what Melvin Tan did. They have no choice but to serve out their "liability", wishing for their 2 years of military service to be over as soon as possible. Realistically, in time of war, do you think these reluctant soldiers will actually carry their guns and put their life at stake for the country? Or do they readily offer to surrender to enemy forces battling in. During the US-Iraqi war, we witnessed conscripted Iraqi soldiers readily surrendering to the US army and chose to be POWs to preserve their lives. Will our NSmen do that? Yes if they are reluctant soldiers being conscripted to fight a war. Further, these reluctant soldiers could inevitably led to this problem of desertion. Our operational readiness in defence is dependent on the X number of soldiers that we have. During peace time, these X numbers are reassuring to our defensive needs. However in times of war, it could be much more lesser, crippling our defensive capability. This is because many reluctant NSmen and his family would have gone out of the country at the first sign of trouble. The government can closed all immigration point, but it wouldn't be of much use if soldiers are not willing to fight.
National service conscription for all its' noble purposes and objectives, is in fact counterproductive. It does not make our nation's defence stronger as previously thought. Instead of better bonding, it has divided our nation between those who are liable and those who are not. Conscription has put our male citizens at a disadvantage in the employment market as compared to the woman folks and incoming foreigners. This led to anguish and resentment. Conscription had also dented the creativeness of one-third of the nation's population. It has caused talents like Melvin Tan to migrate. NSmens' yearly duties has blunted the competitiveness of our companies and the economy. Resources committed to training conscripted reluctant soldiers are wasted and could be put to better use.
Therfore after 39 years, a re-think of our national service conscription is necessary, and not a moment too soon.
Think about it
Deen Lee
yeah, when u force a dog to an alley with a wall u bet the dog will fight back.Originally posted by abao:If the government closed all the ports and the enemy is on Singapore island, the people will fight no matter what, that is if they want to survive, so where's the reluctant soldiers?
You mean they actually say that air con range is more effective??? So what next time, our 5 tonners and 3 tonners will be all air con?Originally posted by Medicated Oil:If there is really a war, would you expect your NS men to be patriotic and defend the country ????
Most of the people are rich enough to book a ticket to get out of the country when there are any sign of crisis.
I really dun expect any one would stay back and defend Singapore.
Most of the people would be angry seeing the above sentence.
Please ask yourself whether you will stay or go and dun argue with a idealistic response.
The standard of NS have already been eroding with the reduction of training standard and NS years.
With the recent cases of NS men death, the demand for tougher training would be reduced greatly.
Dun give the lousy reasoning that having a range in a air-con range is more effective than the actual range.
Maybe next time your son can serve NS through playing strategic PC games in a air-con room.
The question was asked almost 40 years ago when NS was established. Will the men stay to fight in a war? The answer: when the enemy arrives at your door an you are not amond the elite who can get away, you will fight. Most will not be able or want to to go away. Most will remain to fight. NS is necessary to train our men so they know how to fight.Originally posted by ndsef:Ok ok let's do a poll here... who will stay behind and fight a war if it comes to our shores?
Since we are obscured behind our fire walls and fake nicks as well as clones, I do expect some real answers right?
As for me, I will stay and fight a war if it comes. Don't talk about the gahmen lah, talk about love for the country...
When you know that your enemy is going to kill you, basic human instinct is to fight.NS skills leverage on that instinct and make us lethal and more effective citizens.Originally posted by zheshi:Yes. I'm a "reluctant soldiers" being force to enter the Ns, have no choice. But come to think of it. Singapore is so small with so little population. Could we really can have a huge force of regular amry? If we did have a huge force of regular amry than how about the private sector? will we have enough people to run the econmy of the country? i Dun think so.
Yes most of the soldiers has the thinking of serving and faRK off. But at least we did learn some basic military skill in which in time of war as least we know how to handle the weapon that is handle to us.. rather than not serving and not even knowing about basic military stuff. When the end is near, do we have a choice? We have no choice, either surrender or fight. Some will fight, some will surrender. But it better than having a whole population of men not knowing how to handle their weapon and basic military stuff.
Most religion encourages peace.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I'll send my family abroad if war is imminent.I will defend them in any way I can, if it means staying with them, I will do so.
It's also about the guts to answer to your conscience and God at the defining moment.If it means I have to come back to fight, then so be it.
Sadly my interpretation of my religion is that I must defend myself and my loved ones.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Most religion encourages peace.
If you are very religious, and believe that there is heaven after death, there is no need to fight.
Just surrender, and if you are killed when u surrender, so be it. You know you will get to heaven and enjoy a better life there.
Why waste your energy defending properties that you don't own (aka HDB flats)?
Even if you friends are being killed, just tell yourself that they are going to better places.
In short, what you're telling us is:Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Most religion encourages peace.
If you are very religious, and believe that there is heaven after death, there is no need to fight.
Just surrender, and if you are killed when u surrender, so be it. You know you will get to heaven and enjoy a better life there.
Even if you friends are being killed, just tell yourself that they are going to better places.
ammo better spent distributed elsewhereOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Either you leave or you fight.It's simple really.If you don't have the guts, don't get in the way.
Please preach that to my enemies so they won't resist when I kill their children, rape their wives, seize their properties and send them to a better life in heavenOriginally posted by Cindyfeh:Most religion encourages peace.