worth a fistfight tooOriginally posted by HENG@:hey that is true. the food is well good.
but some people seem to think u venture out le u are considered outside and u have no right to look back anymore.Originally posted by mistyblue:I think sometimes we all need to venture out to see the world
and then we would alsolook back and appreciate what we had
However, we might be enjoying the success in the new land
but also sometimes, its important to remember one's origin and journey
I guess you're the dickhead that you claimed to be after all. I don't need to draw any supporters, I've made my own stand on this issue unlike you who think that anybody who is against migration is automatically labelled by a defeatist, supremist, a snob or product of PAP brainwashing shows how skewed and prejudiced your thinking is.Originally posted by LazerLordz:worth a fistfight too
seems like having a nickname like KSJ, is not going to reflect well on his ability to draw supporters.Fellow must be really pissed about not getting any honey for his Geylang money.![]()
whatever stirs your fruitcake. Fine I'm not in a very calm mood tonight, I admit i'm flawed.Happy?Originally posted by KumSioJui:I guess you're the dickhead that you claimed to be after all. I don't need to draw any supporters, I've made my own stand on this issue unlike you who think that anybody who is against migration is automatically labelled by a defeatist, supremist, a snob or product of PAP brainwashing shows how skewed and prejudiced your thinking is.
Name calling and resorting to personal attacks to skirt the issue shows the shallowness of your intelligence and points out the insecure cowards that you really are.
are we supposed to applaud people making stands without considering what stand that is?? Hitler made a stand against Jews. KKK makes a stand against blacks. u make a stand so what? U also automatically consider anyone who migrates a "foreigner" and a "quitter". I suppose calling someone "pussy" is not name calling hor. dunno who say who coward. u suppose u think that makes u very deeply intelligent n secure n brave la. u want to put us at such a low level, can. i dun mind because u will forever be one level below us. why? because u are a hypocrite.Originally posted by KumSioJui:I guess you're the dickhead that you claimed to be after all. I don't need to draw any supporters, I've made my own stand on this issue unlike you who think that anybody who is against migration is automatically labelled by a defeatist, supremist, a snob or product of PAP brainwashing shows how skewed and prejudiced your thinking is.
Name calling and resorting to personal attacks to skirt the issue shows the shallowness of your intelligence and points out the insecure cowards that you really are.
labelling me a snob or anal first make you a saint hor, if a person migrates to canada or australia you consider him a canadian, australian or singaporean? If not call foreigner then call wat? btw I don't think you will find the word "quitter" in any of my previous posts I think you c.ocked it up with somebody elses or you assumed too much.Originally posted by HENG@:are we supposed to applaud people making stands without considering what stand that is?? Hitler made a stand against Jews. KKK makes a stand against blacks. u make a stand so what? U also automatically consider anyone who migrates a "foreigner" and a "quitter". I suppose calling someone "pussy" is not name calling hor. dunno who say who coward. u suppose u think that makes u very deeply intelligent n secure n brave la. u want to put us at such a low level, can. i dun mind because u will forever be one level below us. why? because u are a hypocrite.![]()
maybe u never head before the term "canadian-singaporean" or other hybrid citizens. i call u snob n anal is stating a fact. u calling ppl pussy is an insult. u can say "coward" but u say "pussy"Originally posted by KumSioJui:labelling me a snob or anal first make you a saint hor, if a person migrates to canada or australia you consider him a canadian, australian or singaporean? If not call foreigner then call wat? btw I don't think you will find the word "quitter" in any of my previous posts I think you c.ocked it up with somebody elses or you assumed too much.
As for being a hypocrite ... sama sama as the malays say.
aey hello you can insult me and call it a fact then I can do the same say is also a fact loh, you come here blast the our system, say this one no good that one no good from your nice little remote corner in UK very safe hor? Now election around the corner can try to influence as many as possible to against hor? If you not hypocrite then u wat? If more people become unhappy and migrate out of singapore how does that improve the system? If more foreign workers come in here to work because people like want to chao because of little little problem how does that improve the system? I say you all 'give up' wrong ah? isn't it stating the fact? you say you unhappy with garmen this or that I also have to go thru it what? Being a commoner salary man I don't get any special treatment. If you say here got no opportunities then how come 800,000 foreigners can find work?Originally posted by HENG@:maybe u never head before the term "canadian-singaporean" or other hybrid citizens. i call u snob n anal is stating a fact. u calling ppl pussy is an insult. u can say "coward" but u say "pussy"
just becos u dun say "quitter" dun mean u not insinuating. u say "give up" a lot u think we dunno what u trying to say indirectly?
n pls la. ppl say u hypocrite, u want to die die say others hypocrite also? until now i haven't say u shallow IQ or what hor. is u ownself say one when u also guilty of it. That very act is what makes u a hypocrite n not me. u want to say sama sama also can, but no proof, no basis for that, u're only adding one more thing u are guilty of to yrself only. sama sama? if i like u got nothing to say i will also say sama sama. never mind u want to say sama sama, u say loh. u will still be one level lower than everyone else here.![]()
round and round it goes.Originally posted by KumSioJui:aey hello you can insult me and call it a fact then I can do the same say is also a fact loh, you come here blast the our system, say this one no good that one no good from your nice little remote corner in UK very safe hor? Now election around the corner can try to influence as many as possible to against hor? If you not hypocrite then u wat? If more people become unhappy and migrate out of singapore how does that improve the system? If more foreign workers come in here to work because people like want to chao because of little little problem how does that improve the system? I say you all 'give up' wrong ah? isn't it stating the fact? you say you unhappy with garmen this or that I also have to go thru it what? Being a commoner salary man I don't get any special treatment. If you say here got no opportunities then how come 800,000 foreigners can find work?
Maybe from someone who claim to be one level higher than me you can explain your "theory" how an ex-citizen can continue to contribute tangibly to our system here other than giving "online" forum views what the other side looks like.
u bitter your problem ah. cannot take it u can dun read one. when i was in singapore i already say this no good that no good. u think im not returning to singapore soon ah? every year i still come back, safe what fuck? asking for system change got what to do with make people unhappy? people unhappy is govt make one, u blame us got use ah? go blame yr beloved garmen la u not happy with them u yell at us for fark? u dun want to make them change things, we want to make them change things, then u yell at us for wad? u happy with them, then what u going thru? if u not happy with them, then come here say us got use ah?Originally posted by KumSioJui:aey hello you can insult me and call it a fact then I can do the same say is also a fact loh, you come here blast the our system, say this one no good that one no good from your nice little remote corner in UK very safe hor? Now election around the corner can try to influence as many as possible to against hor? If you not hypocrite then u wat? If more people become unhappy and migrate out of singapore how does that improve the system? If more foreign workers come in here to work because people like want to chao because of little little problem how does that improve the system? I say you all 'give up' wrong ah? isn't it stating the fact? you say you unhappy with garmen this or that I also have to go thru it what? Being a commoner salary man I don't get any special treatment. If you say here got no opportunities then how come 800,000 foreigners can find work?
Maybe from someone who claim to be one level higher than me you can explain your "theory" how an ex-citizen can continue to contribute tangibly to our system here other than giving "online" forum views what the other side looks like.
not worth getting an ulcer.Originally posted by HENG@:u bitter your problem ah. cannot take it u can dun read one. when i was in singapore i already say this no good that no good. u think im not returning to singapore soon ah? every year i still come back, safe what fuck? asking for system change got what to do with make people unhappy? people unhappy is govt make one, u blame us got use ah? go blame yr beloved garmen la u not happy with them u yell at us for fark? u dun want to make them change things, we want to make them change things, then u yell at us for wad? u happy with them, then what u going thru? if u not happy with them, then come here say us got use ah?
i never ask ppl migrate hor. i only ask system to improve so that people wun want to migrate. lidat how wun improve the system? u tell me la. since when i tell people they should migrate? i only say if u want to tiam tiam live there, good or bad also dun make noise, then u continue dun make noise. u want to make noise, u go n make some constructive noise. u come n make noise because other people pushing for better things, then u go home sleep la.
as for job, you show me singapore got which job is work for a car company designing racing cars. C&C, Borneo motors this kind of sell car or service car dun count. im talking about proper car design and manufacture. u can show me have, i come back work. dun have u dun come n tok cock to me about abundent job opportunities, n u dun come n say people give up. u got no right to come n say this kind of bullshit just because u want to do something that is available in sg.
Actually, during the early 90s, Civil Engg was known as a dumping ground in NUS among the Engg Faculties. So, no surprise abt Civil engrs' misery.Originally posted by archon1234:When time are good, all the under grad in our university just take up Business studies or Accountacy. When biotech is in the heat, u see all go towards the bio sector. I still have a large pool of friends from Civil Engg were forced to change their job after our property bubble burst in 1999-2000. many are good engineers, some went overseas and found their second spring in China / Vietnam. Those who stayed, are switching to new jobs like finance consultants and insurance agents, tution teachers or school teachers. This add-on to many agonies as they found mismatching expection between their job and their personal goals. As pressure build up, more singaporeans decided to move on to other places for opporunities.
Dear lwflee,Originally posted by lwflee:I would suggest to everyone who can and have to inclination to leave Singapore and settle overseas to do so. Think about it. Do you really want your kids (if you intend on having any) to be born here? Singapore citizenship has become a curse and a burden.
Having siad that, recognise that it is not easy to rid yourself of bondage. Most developed countries will have immigration controls that far stricter than Singapore's and the job market in many developed countries are very competitive indeed.
This will probably be a shock to many Singaporeans because the employers in Singapore are very unsophisticated. An illustration, when I was 16 I got a job at a large department store in Singapore as a cashier/sales assistant. The selection process consisted of one interview with the recruitment agency. A couple of months ago, I applied for p/t work at a supermarket here (overseas). The selection process consisted of an interview, group discussion and presentation, and somekind of MCQ to test your suitability for the job. This is to stack shelves at a supermarket! They won't even consider allowing you to be a cashier w/o experience and good references!
I've found that the selection process outlined above is the absolute minimum bar a few exceptions (eg cleaner positions).
Originally posted by ShutterBug:Dear lwflee,
How true, what you said.
This is probably one reason why, up till now, I haven't a child after marriage.
I know SIngapore is safe and all that, but it's a gruelling lifestyle in meeting with all the tax, increasing costs, and the education system's idiosyncrasies. Not to mention the risk of losing my son in the ARMY during training, and being compensated peanuts.
Go to the army also kena forced to go SISPEC or OCS n need to serve liability until long.
The people who actually immigrate are local talents. Local talents are not being recognised for their contribution or potential, despite being the citizens, when they should be at least on par with foreign talents. So much for the "meritocratic" work culture in Singapore.. LOL.. Moreover, foreign countries are willing to pay more for our local talents. I am sure you all remember the PSC bond-breaker incident years ago. What goes unreported that the bond-breakers' compensation fee was paid by American headhunting firms. The hunt for talents is indeed more than ferocious. At least PSC is now smarter - they discourage their scholars to study in America.Originally posted by diggo:The jist of the argument is that those that migrate cannot find an equal opportunity in SGP.. so they choose to go. Equal opportunity can be work, play, political etc etc.
The oterh view is that these are the losers who gave up on SGP...
My take:
Do what is deem fit to get as much grains of rice into your rice bowl becos no govt / political party is going to give a damn if u do not the dough to survive. In this globalized world... no one really give a damn where u r from... onli wat u can bring to the table.
Have you made the effort to fit in with their culture? Or do you belong to those who refuse to get out of the Singapore mentality when abroad..Originally posted by NuLife:
Australia etc may be an affordable place to live.
I just wonder why no one mention anything about
the ridiculous Racism there.
It is afterall, an angmoh country.
Migrate there and be treated as second class citizen??
IMO, its much worse than sporeans see those China
migrates to singapore.
Or even worse than Chinese living in Malaysia.
Same for UK.
A damn racist country, from my 2 yr study there.
I just wonder, if it will be like living like a "rat" in these angmoh countries,
with your own rat-hole house and rat communities.![]()
And treated like rats by others.