I dun think it is.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Have you made the effort to fit in with their culture? Or do you belong to those who refuse to get out of the Singapore mentality when abroad..
I've family there for decades and they have faced none of that, and I can tell you that our silent racism and discrimination is worse than OZ.At least they have affirmative action legislation, which over the years have produced quite a true melting pot society.
We?We still have to harp on ethnic self-help.![]()
I agree only partially with you.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I only know that if you refuse to embrace the way of life, then you will naturally be seen as an outsider.
Same goes for most of our PRC nationals here.They choose to talk amongst themselves, behave in their old ways and generally tend to have this superior mentality.
Chinese influence is useless if they do not mature and realise the world does not revolve around them.And we are not all Chinese here in Singapore, remember that.
thats funny. maybe its because u just stuck to chinese people and never tried to fit in. Im living here now and I certainly haven't met any discrimination due to my race so far. Last I looked, I'm certainly not living like a rat. Sometimes YOUR own prejdices are what makes u think other people are racist. Hey I look at other Chinese people here, or even Singaporeans here, and sometimes I wonder: Whats the point of coming here to study if u're going to refuse to mix with the locals and just stick yo your little chinese communities and cliques?Originally posted by NuLife:
Australia etc may be an affordable place to live.
I just wonder why no one mention anything about
the ridiculous Racism there.
It is afterall, an angmoh country.
Migrate there and be treated as second class citizen??
IMO, its much worse than how some sporeans see those China
migrates here.
Or even worse than Chinese living in Malaysia.
Same for UK.
A damn racist country, from my 2 yr study there.
I just wonder, if it will be like living like a "rat" in these angmoh countries,
with your own rat-hole house and rat communities.![]()
And treated like rats by others.
Ya singapore accepts everyone. as long as they're not born in singapore, singapore will be damn nice to them. the only people singapore does not accept are those born in singapore. those born in singapore are just to be exploited.Originally posted by NuLife:Spore accepts PRCs, Angmohs, Indians, Filipinos
more than Australian accepts yellow-skinned asians.
Hm.. perhaps, they accept gay people more? haha...Originally posted by HENG@:Ya singapore accepts everyone. as long as they're not born in singapore, singapore will be damn nice to them. the only people singapore does not accept are those born in singapore. those born in singapore are just to be exploited.
and if u make an effort to fit in and not stand out in countries like UK, I seriously doubt if people would want to pick on you. I miight stay in London but I often go out of it to places like oxford, brighton, birmingham, leicester (and once to loughborough). I can safely say that I have NEVER been discriminated ever.
I dunno, maybe they like gay people, but since I'm not I can't tell.Originally posted by NuLife:Hm.. perhaps, they like gay people? haha...
I dunno how long u stayed there anyways, 1 mth?.
Perhaps, you haven't stayed there long enough.
Also, those cities u mentioned are the more well-known cities
with more commercialised universities, thus more asians.
The citizens there are used to sights of asians.
The lesser known cities, with more englishmen are not like that.
Besides, the news in BBC can't lie.
Also, its not just me, almost all asians will encountered such
in that city.
Moreover, i presume you only toured these places as oppose to live there.
Hm.. im not saying these becos i like singapore that much.
As a matter of fact, im looking for a place to migrate...
I would say the UK is not rascist. Never had any problems myself, and yes I have been to the smaller villages etc. In a country of 60 million, there are bound to be a few cases. Remember, this is not the strraits times. They actually have journalists that write news stories.Originally posted by NuLife:Hm.. perhaps, they accept gay people more? haha...
I dunno how long u stayed there anyways, 1 mth?.
Perhaps, you haven't stayed there long enough.
Also, those cities u mentioned are the more well-known cities
with more commercialised universities, thus more asians.
The citizens there are used to sights of asians.
The lesser known cities, with more englishmen are not like that.
Besides, the news in BBC can't lie.
Also, its not just me, almost all asians will encountered such
in that city.
Moreover, i presume you only toured these places as oppose to live there.
Hm.. im not saying these becos i like singapore that much.
As a matter of fact, im looking for a place to migrate...
Yes I agree very much with you on this. And yes, I agree that Singaporeans are one of the most racist people I've encountered. Just look at the number of threads which appear here on forusm where chinese slag off indians, indians slag off chinese, or both slag off malays. Its distressing to see. As a society, Singapore is rapidly turning into one where its people just cannot accept anyone else who is different from themselves in anyway. And honestly this has probably been the result of a government which, to have a proper career in politics, u cannot challenge their views or belong to any party other than their own.Originally posted by lwflee:I would say the UK is not rascist. Never had any problems myself, and yes I have been to the smaller villages etc. In a country of 60 million, there are bound to be a few cases. Remember, this is not the strraits times. They actually have journalists that write news stories.
Tbh, and many would disagree with me, Singapore is one of the most rascist countries I have been in. Look at the way we refer to bangeldeshis (or rather, small, dark skinned people) as bangalas. For your info, quite a number of these people are Singaporeans. Yes, shocking but true. They are not all foreigners. Look at the widely circulated "Ah beng vs Bagala" mp3 file. Not much consternation among singaporeans there huh.
edit: Not saying that The UK is perfect. Of course rascism exists, but it is not much more than to be expected of a democratic country where people are free to express their views.
You have to remember that just because someone was not nice to you does not mean he is a rascist. He might be an arrse hole period. Just look athe the happy slapping phenomenon. Seems to be perfectly non-discriminatory to me: They treat everyone with equal contempt.
My bike almost got stolen by a couple of kids. I certainly dun class that as a rascist attack because i know bikes are susceptoble to be stolen by kids.
By the way, what rascist incidents have you encoutnered?
Yeah, I thought Singaporeans were more cohesive and friendly towards each other regardless of race or religion 5 to 10 years back. Now, it seems like most of them have crawled back into their own shells.Originally posted by gill_hfc:what struck me the most since my return to Singapore is that the various communities seem to be gradually drifting apart. There was a time one used to see lots of interaction among the various communities be it the chinese, malays and the indians. But now it seems to be the other way around. there are clear signs of communities drifting apart. I suspect it has greatly to do with the governments immigration policies. In their rush to bring in all this foreign nationals into singapore the government has failed to see the negative social impact on the local population such large number of migrants bring. Lets be honest most of the migrants from china and india come from societys where they've probably never been to school with students from different cultures. i doubt chinese nationals from china have ever had indians or malays living in their towns or cities or even having gone to school with students from different cultures. The same goes for the indians that are moving in from india to singapore. i doubt any of these 'new indians' ever had chinese or malay friends in their neighbourhoods and communities back in india.
so how do we expect these foreign nationals who migrate here and take up our singapore citizenship to integrate overnight into our original vibrant and multicultural community here in singapore??? its taken us an entire generation to bond the various communities together. do we seriously expect these 'New Part Time Singaporeans' to integrate and understand the dynamics of our various communities overnight?
I understand what u meant.Originally posted by lwflee:I would say the UK is not rascist. Never had any problems myself, and yes I have been to the smaller villages etc. In a country of 60 million, there are bound to be a few cases. Remember, this is not the strraits times. They actually have journalists that write news stories.
Tbh, and many would disagree with me, Singapore is one of the most rascist countries I have been in. Look at the way we refer to bangeldeshis (or rather, small, dark skinned people) as bangalas. For your info, quite a number of these people are Singaporeans. Yes, shocking but true. They are not all foreigners. Look at the widely circulated "Ah beng vs Bagala" mp3 file. Not much consternation among singaporeans there huh.
edit: Not saying that The UK is perfect. Of course rascism exists, but it is not much more than to be expected of a democratic country where people are free to express their views.
You have to remember that just because someone was not nice to you does not mean he is a rascist. He might be an arrse hole period. Just look athe the happy slapping phenomenon. Seems to be perfectly non-discriminatory to me: They treat everyone with equal contempt.
My bike almost got stolen by a couple of kids. I certainly dun class that as a rascist attack because i know bikes are susceptoble to be stolen by kids.
By the way, what rascist incidents have you encoutnered?
hmm...Originally posted by charlize:Yeah, I thought Singaporeans were more cohesive and friendly towards each other regardless of race or religion 5 to 10 years back. Now, it seems like most of them have crawled back into their own shells.
Sometimes i wonder if such are cases of "ashame of your own skin color" problem.Originally posted by HENG@:ahahaha no singaporeans in my uni. Luckily.
The problem is most singaporeans... even though they mix with locals, ultimately still stick quite closely to their own sing soc clique. and when u have a clique like that, the locals feel like u're segregating yourself and don't belong amongst them. Thats why i make it a point NEVER to join any singapore society or chinese society thing. I don't have to. You don't see the whites start a "caucasian society" do u?![]()
If you think the whites do stick to themselves, if there is no "caucasian society" in Singapore, you are out of touch with Singapore. Such societies are already so in a society like Singapore where english is spoken as The language, go to a country like Thailand, Taiwan where english is not so commonly spoken, you will see the "caucasian society" more distinctly.Originally posted by HENG@:ahahaha no singaporeans in my uni. Luckily.
The problem is most singaporeans... even though they mix with locals, ultimately still stick quite closely to their own sing soc clique. and when u have a clique like that, the locals feel like u're segregating yourself and don't belong amongst them. Thats why i make it a point NEVER to join any singapore society or chinese society thing. I don't have to. You don't see the whites start a "caucasian society" do u?![]()
I doubt so. I have a good mix of friends here, chinese, white, black, whatever. The problem here is too many chinese people here have an imbalance of same race friends. Why should that be when race so diverse here in UK? It says something about who are the ones who are being race conscious and refusing to mix outside of their race.Originally posted by NuLife:Sometimes i wonder if such are cases of "ashame of your own skin color" problem.
Everyone have their own prefered groups of friends.
Why are people so afriad that locals see them as segregrations?
Does it have to be so just because one is afriad to be seen as something??
Are they afriad to be seen with their own same race friends?
I think many are, bcos they themselves despise those PRCs(for eg)
hanging out among themselves in spore.
I guess, its really up to ones own choice in these.
No wrong. Not racism issues here at all.
there is a chinatown in many major cities. name me famous englandtowns, whitetowns or americatowns that ACTUALLY have names like that in places like China or Asian countries.Originally posted by sgdiehard:If you think the whites do stick to themselves, if there is no "caucasian society" in Singapore, you are out of touch with Singapore. Such societies are already so in a society like Singapore where english is spoken as The language, go to a country like Thailand, Taiwan where english is not so commonly spoken, you will see the "caucasian society" more distinctly.
Find me a Brit who does not join the British Club, an american who automatically does not belong to the American club, a french who does not join the french business association in singapore.
Learn to look at things from both sides. Some angmohs are known to have little respect for other cultures and languages, especially those from the english speaking countries, america, uk and oz. The french, though proud of their language, generally speaks more than french, europeans generally speak english, french or german besides their own language. It is very rare to find americans or the brits who speak a different language. Ever saw an englishman who speak tamil or hindu??
fortunate for the US, there are now americans from the west coast in taipei, shanghai, beijing learning chinese. Look forward to a better world that have higher regards for non english speaking people.
In addition, scandinavian countries require their citizens to learn their mother tongue, and 2 other european languages. One of them is usually English. It is no surprise the people in these countries have a greater understanding of racial ACCEPTANCE (not tolerance) as learning the language often curtails immersion into the native cultures.Originally posted by HENG@:and i say u're out of touch with the world in general if u think the French generally speak more than French or that the Germans generally speak more than German. I can name u 2 countries where people actually speak their native language and another language for example english. Holland and Belgium, and belgium only because flemish is a mix of french,english, german and dutch.
And yes I've also met quite a few englishmen who speak other languages. Imagine my surprise when i heard someone speaking chinese in westminister abbey n turned around to find an englishman speaking. And many englishmen are in all honesty, of mixed blood nowadays, with many having asian blood, so they speak many different dialects of tamil or hindu. My flatmate is an englishman. he speaks gurjurati (or something. not sure how to spell it). So yes i know loads of englishmen who speak something other than english. perhaps u're the one who is more out of touch with the world as a whole than i am with singapore. i mean, afterall, how many ang mohs do you personally know?
I agree with what u said though.Originally posted by HENG@:I doubt so. I have a good mix of friends here, chinese, white, black, whatever. The problem here is too many chinese people here have an imbalance of same race friends. Why should that be when race so diverse here in UK? It says something about who are the ones who are being race conscious and refusing to mix outside of their race.
Too many Singaporeans I know socialise exclusively with the people from sing soc, and thats all. Why bother to go overseas to study when your social circle simply consists of your uni's sing soc? And the reason I'm glad my uni doesn't have a sing soc is simply because people are easy to predict. they find a clique they like and they start socialising amongst that clique, and won't bother to continue making more friends. Sure for someone arriving in the UK at 1st, he or she might not be lonely at the start, but soon he or she will just get drawn into the trap of being satisfied with a clique.
Seriously, if someone coming to UK to study still ends up with a huge percentage of their social circle being Singaporean, something is wrong with them. I mean, why bother studying overseas when they can have the same social circle in Singapore? And then the very same people blame their host country for being racist when, lets face it, they're the ones who fall into the trap of having a social circle exclusively of their fellow countrymen? It's ridiculous. Its even weirder to accuse anyone who mixes well with the locals as shunning their own race. I'm sorry but if doing well socially and fitting in fine seems like shunning one's own race to the racially-socially inept, then is just too bad.
Glad to know that.Originally posted by Gedanken:Buggered if I know what NuLife is talking about - been here in Oz for 12 years and had a great time so far.
Never had a problem stateside either.
No one's saying they're racist, it's just that when you fail to interact and live the life you could, then your perception becomes quite limited and anything unhappy you encounter might lead you and lull you into thinking that it might be directed at you, because you have not moved around in their culture to find out that it might just be a normal thing and not targeted at anyone in particular.Originally posted by NuLife:I agree with what u said though.
Ironically, let me share a story,
at that time, i choosed a little known uni,
Hoping to start a "new college life" aborad....
only that i bump into a fellow spore student sitting next to me
on my flight there who knew me but i dunno him,
and he was going to the same uni !!?!? WTF.
dann...so much for a start to overseas study then.
Most most sporean go overseas study purely for a degree,
not the experience. Sad case i see around me.
Defeat the purpose of studying overseas.
It ain't just about mixing around.
I find sporean students studying too much even over wkends, holidays etc
(excluding me of cos..heee)
Many work hard to get a first class
and missed out on a true overseas experience.
But do we have the right to say that they are wrong or racist??
They simply have different priorities, perhaps,
cos they are being paid for from their parents hardearned money, mind u.
Back to the topic, this ain't really considered Racism isnt it?
A little out of topic isn't it?