If you cant take this as a joke.Originally posted by HENG@:excuse me, this is bordering on slander.
who i am does not have anything to do with my childhood. for u to try to win an argument by getting low and dirty like that is just cheap. it shows u obviously have no logic or reason behind your arguments. maybe thats why people seem racist to u. Look at the way u behaveThe reality is that they were acting disfavourably towards u because u're just dirty.
If u can't even debate without keeping it non-personal, then don't.
and stop saying i despise those who dun mix with angmoh. i only despise those who don't want to mix, and then blame racism for the way people avoid them. If u dun want to mix, that is fine. When u find the locals avoiding u, that is because u don't want to mix. Why should people be friendly to u when u are not being friendly to them? That sort of simple logic should be easy to understand. To blame all of that on racism alone is what i despise. Clear enough?
And apology from you is very much in order. U said UK is racist, i say i don't think so, and i tell u why other singaporeans might think so, and then u go off and accuse me of being racist, and start personal insults? This is totally uncalled for.
If u want to continue acting low and dirty, then this debate is ended. If u have any reason and logic at all u won't have to resort to cheap tactics like that![]()
a joke? no i can't take it as a joke.Originally posted by NuLife:If you cant take this as a joke.
How do you expect othes whom u had been name calling/labelling/insulting
to take them as one?? Im sure you got too personal on those infact.
I doing this for the sake of many others.
Alright...I apologise on this cheap trick
But i really hope you would do something about your foruming habits.
If anything I did wrong, others please pt out too.
I will accept and learn too.
cheers
to others: apologies for making this thread too out of topic.
shall stop here.
Old habits die hard. You don't even realise it.Originally posted by HENG@:who have i called names here during the debate about whether uk/usa/australians?
and please tell me if people who discriminate against gays are not called bigots, what do we call them? its like saying we can't call people who discriminate against race racists, or we can't call people who discriminate against women sexists.
no really. tell me how we should refer to people who discriminate against race, sexuality or women then.Originally posted by NuLife:Old habits die hard. You don't even realise it.
The terms are right.Originally posted by HENG@:a joke? no i can't take it as a joke.
and please tell me what i should call racists and sexists and bigots in future. what should i call them? i dunno. i never learnt other terms to refer to them. What should be the terms used for people who discriminate against women, sexuality or race then? Do tell. I looked thru the english dictionary and i can't find any other words to refer to them.![]()
You just wanna win every single argument isn't it?
And u still haven't acknowledge that u've mistakenly think that i am accusing those who don't mix of being racist.![]()
ok so if these forumnites discriminate against sexuality, i cannot label them bigots, then what do i label them?Originally posted by NuLife:The terms are right.
But you had been using such terms on fellow forumites..
labelling forumites as bigots, racist, hypocrites, etc.... Hello?
sometimes simply whoever that disagree with you.
thats great. u misunderstood and u can still show attitude somemore.Originally posted by NuLife:You just wanna win every single argument isn't it?
Okok u r right. u win. my mistake.
I really have no interest on these anymore. Hia..
I know HENG@ personally for many many years. I know HENG@ as a person and this is definitely more substantial than what you can infer about HENG@ from deciphering HENG@'s online comments. Singaporeans in general cannot accept beyond what they perceive as norm. Just because everyone (or most of them) is like that does not invalidate the problem. Instead, it magnifies the problem.Originally posted by NuLife:Hi geodome,
I did that with a purpose.
If you had been reading HENG msgs,
you will realise he had been name calling and labelling
many people in various threads.
Even in this current one, you can turn back few pages and read
for yourself
Nulife, what other labels can you think of?Originally posted by HENG@:and please tell me what i should call racists and sexists and bigots in future. what should i call them? i dunno. i never learnt other terms to refer to them. What should be the terms used for people who discriminate against women, sexuality or race then? Do tell. I looked thru the english dictionary and i can't find any other words to refer to them.![]()
I am just asking you to note that the angmohs in Singapore are doing the same things that the Asians are doing in UK. Forming cliques or do not mix with locals do not make anybody racist!!Originally posted by HENG@:I read to the bit highlighted in red and i dun need to read anymore. Clearly u have completely not gotten my point, and made up something on your own to tack onto me.
I will say again. I am saying that, ASIANS not mixing with the locals and bunching up amongst their own cliques 1st is what contributes to THEM thinking UK is a racist country. I'm saying if they took the time to mix around more, and did not stick right to their own communities right from the start, they would realise otherwise. They THINK UK is more racist than it actually is, because of what they did. When u're behaving cliquish, people tend to find u harder to approach, and these ASIANS then perceive the locals as being racist.
U clearly lost the plot a long way back in this debate.
I never knew anybody who knew you until this geodome said so in his post. I only know you from what you post. So it is that part of you that is racist.Originally posted by HENG@:
I AM chinese. so perhaps i am. although people who know me will tell u otherwise. i don't mind taking potshots at every race tho, whether white, black, oriental, asian or otherwise. sometimes people need to lighten up about their race![]()
no it doesn't. I never said that. u are not reading againOriginally posted by sgdiehard:I am just asking you to note that the angmohs in Singapore are doing the same things that the Asians are doing in UK. Forming cliques or do not mix with locals do not make anybody racist!!
sure. i said and i say again, everyone is allowed to choose not to mix. but that is their own bloody choice, they better remember that. Its this choice that makes them appear unfriendly to people. How u expect people to react to that? Don't anyhow blame racism. Its not racism. It's just how MOST people react to unfriendly people.Originally posted by sgdiehard:There are probably more reasons for the Asians to form cliques for financial reasons, and also not all the asians go to UK armed with powerful knowledge of english!! Besides, UK is more than half the way round the world away from Asia. I understand that because my uncle went to UK for studies and he came from a chinese school here. He took the cheapest flight, Aeroflot via Moscow, to get there. With UK famous for "wild cat" strikes those days, the helps he had came ONLY from the asians there, including Singaporean. There was no way he could mix with the angmoh there. If he were to label "racists" as liberal as you do, UK is racist.
i guess nobody is right, but u're doubly wrong. because i don't call them racist, and I am certainly not racist.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Today, all singaporean speaks english, and are all prepared financially, going to Uk and mix around is no problem. But there are other Asians who are like my uncle. If you don't mix around with them, you won't understand them. You call them racists, they call you racists. I guess you are both right.
Sure but how many ang moh u know accuse us of being racist just because they're cliquish?Originally posted by sgdiehard:When I look at the angmoh here in Asian, they are not students, they are working ppl, mainly, and you think they mix with the locals? far from it. They come here and criticise what we do based on their cultures and standards, that is the reason for being called racists.
well unfortunately there is no part of me thats racist. but of course, u don't care do u? u just WANT to insist im racist so u can win your argument. too bad i've laid the killer blow to it. So u can go on calling me racist all u want. The more u call, the more you discredit yourself.Originally posted by sgdiehard:I never knew anybody who knew you until this geodome said so in his post. I only know you from what you post. So it is that part of you that is racist.
You don't want me to dig out those exact wordsOriginally posted by geodome:
I know HENG@ personally for many many years. I know HENG@ as a person and this is definitely more substantial than what you can infer about HENG@ from deciphering HENG@'s online comments. Singaporeans in general cannot accept beyond what they perceive as norm. Just because everyone (or most of them) is like that does not invalidate the problem. Instead, it magnifies the problem.
[/b][/quote]
Hi geodome,
Does that really matter?
All i/we know is that "she" had been rather rude
online all the while, without showing much respect
for others and their views or even disagreement sometimes.
Im sure HENG is not that bad a person, maybe nice
in other sense. (and most every1 else here)
But sometimes, we shld watched our behaviour and words,
esp when talking to unknown individuals online.
I had already apologised on going overboard.
[quote]Originally posted by geodome:Nulife, what other labels can you think of?
no no no. i dun wanna win. you win. pls.Originally posted by HENG@:thats great. u misunderstood and u can still show attitude somemore.
well done. why don't we say u win? really. this kind of attitude really win le.
No one except you it seems.Originally posted by HENG@:Sure but how many ang moh u know accuse us of being racist just because they're cliquish?
Do you think the news media in Singapore will report local racist incidents?Originally posted by NuLife:
Guys, without digging exact news,
i did a quick search on bbc news website
and to my surprise, theres alot more racsim news/crimes in uk
than one would expect:
Hello...please read again:Originally posted by geodome:Do you think the news media in Singapore will report local racist incidents?
I think it would make more sense to compare Singapore to a city/town in the UK that has similar demographic distribution, and wealth per person. Maybe London..Originally posted by NuLife:"There were 423 incidents in Plymouth in 2005"
->One small city/town alone.
There must be even more unreported cases and silent cases.
Im sure all Singapore cases, reported/unreported add together
can't beat that.
cultural differences too great ... better compare with a nearer city like hong kong with similar cultural and economic backgrounds.Originally posted by geodome:I think it would make more sense to compare Singapore to a city/town in the UK that has similar demographic distribution, and wealth per person. Maybe London..
The debate was on whether UK is racist, isn't it?Originally posted by geodome:I think it would make more sense to compare Singapore to a city/town in the UK that has similar demographic distribution, and wealth per person. Maybe London..
The debate was on whether UK is a racist country, not hongkong.Originally posted by snow leopard:cultural differences too great ... better compare with a nearer city like hong kong with similar cultural and economic backgrounds.
What kind off thing should be appreciated about?Originally posted by NuLife:The debate was on whether UK is a racist country, not hongkong.
In Sg, one blogger remark is enough to hog Headlines.
Need we say more?
Somehow, even though there are things we dislike about the Sg,
we shld also appreciate Sg in other sense.