at least public transport in JB is cheaper then SingaporeOriginally posted by sbst275:Are you sure wages in JB are going up? Property prices up does not mean wages goes up!
our temasak bought certain % share of City Square in JB?Originally posted by RaTtY81:wait a moment, u said wages in JB are going up. can u show as the proof? as in any articles, links or reliable sources to support wat u say?
why not?Originally posted by RaTtY81:in malaysia, with RM 500 per month, u can survive. convert 500 ringgit to singapore dollar n c how u survive in singapore
Originally posted by sbst275:Yes, POLITICS is about POWER - the POWER to be able to influence events responsibly for the benefit of those who elect one into this Office of POWER - as was so eloquently stated by the late Robert F. Kennedy
You have exposed this prob...
If WP were to take power, they put in their ideas... And years later another party takesover, policy changes again...
It is all because the POWER
The money for NSmen is to appease those NS men disgruntled at the handling of the runaway pianist lah.Originally posted by reyes:when WP has no manifesto, PAP complain they have no future plan. when WP has a manifesto, they say its a time bomb. i thini PAP should learnt to respect Opp manifesto and let them run their own election.
what about PAP idea for this coming election, all i know they are tryin to give money to buy the heart and mind of the 700000 NS men.
i sure PAP look into area to take care of the more unfortunate ones. everytime i see channel 8 or U showing the stories of the unfortunate ones un singapore i wonder why singapore govt not helping enough and yet use millionns to give NS men $100-$200. i aint complaint that its a small sum but rather thee money can be better use to help the more needy
Cheaper?Originally posted by zaxis:at least public transport in JB is cheaper then Singapore
with Diesel and petrol heavy subsi by Feder
every item is cheaper than singapore![]()
I have already mentioned their GST promise will never workOriginally posted by Salman:Notice that nobody actually discussed the items of the manifesto at all. People are only intersted to twist things and throw mud at the govt.
See how shallow you people are?
correctionOriginally posted by sbst275:Whatever it is, there will be ppl that say ruling party have held power for too long
But ppl voted for them for those contested areas over these 40 years
Well, if ruling party dun win all the contested SMC seats, something is not right to themOriginally posted by zaxis:correction
major are walk over
many singapore eligable voter do not know their member of pali![]()
who eat is not that important to passenger? we are passenger not police man!Originally posted by sbst275:Cheaper?
JB buses are less efficent as in SG and in road worthyness... In fact some of the buses still uses conductors, there could be corruption whereby the conductor 'eats' the fare
Diesel is cheaper? Yes you have said govt subsidise it, but is it meant for Singaporeans? Also, there are cost for KL to subsidise petrol, the money could have been spent to improve road infastructure
Sometimes we can feel cheated, the fares is meant for the bus co...Originally posted by zaxis:who eat is not that important to passenger? we are passenger not police man!
any way the transport worker draw commission from the fare we put into the box, if they can pocket the money? you think the supervisor is blind? they also has a piece of cake too. their salary is basic plus commission,
as passenger we will not complain, as long as we arrive from point A to point B.
you can purchase their pre paid card, but you get more, and balance still can exchange for new value with top up additional money.
what efficient you talking? empty buses moving from bedok to toa payoh?
JB buses are better, the driver can communicate with you telling you the actual situation of the day, if the total journey is about 1 hour they will know how long you need to waiting for thr next bus, worse is that you wait 1 hour?
I agree with you. Every time before election got lots of goodies. After elections, everything goes up. And the poor is always neglected. WTHOriginally posted by reyes:when WP has no manifesto, PAP complain they have no future plan. when WP has a manifesto, they say its a time bomb. i thini PAP should learnt to respect Opp manifesto and let them run their own election.
what about PAP idea for this coming election, all i know they are tryin to give money to buy the heart and mind of the 700000 NS men.
i sure PAP look into area to take care of the more unfortunate ones. everytime i see channel 8 or U showing the stories of the unfortunate ones un singapore i wonder why singapore govt not helping enough and yet use millionns to give NS men $100-$200. i aint complaint that its a small sum but rather thee money can be better use to help the more needy
As usual, they are trying to frighten the people into thinking that the opposition can only bring the people into chaos and only they can bring prosperity to the people.Originally posted by reyes:when WP has no manifesto, PAP complain they have no future plan. when WP has a manifesto, they say its a time bomb. i thini PAP should learnt to respect Opp manifesto and let them run their own election.
So let's start talking about the manifesto then. Stop throwing mud at others.Originally posted by Salman:Notice that nobody actually discussed the items of the manifesto at all. People are only intersted to twist things and throw mud at the govt.
Originally posted by Salman:SWALLOW THIS IF YOU CAN :-
Notice that nobody actually discussed the items of the manifesto at all. People are only intersted to twist things and throw mud at the govt.
It may do you good to take some advise from others who are more established in Life - so stop whining about those who dare to forth a view and who dare to think critically.
Originally posted by Atobe
Page 5 - 22 January 2006 - 03.38a.m.
" Half-Truths" when spoken often enough - can become " TRUTHS " - so said MM LKY.
Somehow the "Art of Speaking Half-Truths" has been perfected to the extent that "Half-Truths" spoken often enough by "CREDIBLE PERSONS - WILL BE ACCEPTED AS TRUTH"
1. GRASSROOT ORGANISATIONS : NON-POLITICAL ?
From a whole list of 'grass-roots' groups that include the Senior Citizens' Executive Committee, Women's Executive Committee, Malay Activity Executive Committee, Indian Activity Executive Committee, People's Association Youth Movement, Civil Defence Executive Committee, Consituency Sports Club - can it be truthfully said that the Residential Committee, Citizens Consultative Committees, Citizens Development Committee, Neighborhood Committee - APOLITICAL ?
Even MM LKY had stated that he acknowledged that he had depened on these groups to be the EYES and EARS of the Singapore Government, and was specifically set up by the Ruling Political Party, so as to allow them to have constant regular feed back of the rumbles on the ground.
All these grass-roots groups are under the umbrella of the PEOPLE'S ASSOCIATION, with its head being a political appointee, and its mission role spelled out to implement the Ruling Party's vision of social engineering.
See reference sites:
PA Mission:
http://www.pa.gov.sg/aboutpa/About%20Us.htm
PA Organisation Chart:
http://www.pa.gov.sg/aboutpa/PA%20Org%20Chart%20010405.pdf
PA Website:
http://www.pa.gov.sg/
2. HDB ETHNIC QUOTA SCHEME
For over THIRTY YEARS, since the HDB began building houses for Singaporeans, it was only during the late 1970s - as a result of the manner in which concentrations of certain racial groups responded to certain electioneering candidates from a certain racial group - that the Government responded by diluting concentrations of any one racial groups that vote along ethnic lines.
This HDB policy was successful in dismantling the minority Malay Community, but it did not resolve ethnic politics practised by the larger and majority Chinese Community.
This policy had actually acted against the MINORITY ETHNIC GROUPS - in that the choice of buyers in the resale market is restricted only to members from the minority group.
3. GROUP REPRESENTATIVE CONSTITUENCIES
With the successful implementation of the ETHNIC QUOTA SYSTEM in controlling any one concentration of any minority group that can vote along ethnic lines, the GRC was implemented to ensure that the Minority Race will be proportionally represented in Parliament, and in Government when possible.
Unfortunately, the Ruling Party exploited the success of the GRC in ensuring a 'walk-over' for new and untested candidates from the incumbent Ruling Party, and began to expand the GRC - from its original four constituencies in one group - into six constituencies into one Group.
However, with all the supposedly good intention of having racial harmony and social integration, has the HDB ETHNIC QUOTA SYSTEM and the GRC actually achieve its goal of social integration, or has the gap between the different ethnic groups widen ?
With HDB neighbors seldom going beyond the courtesy greetings when meeting each other in the common areas, and with PRIVACY being valued more accutely amongst HDB residence, has there been any social integration amongst the races ?
Has the minority Member of Parliament in any GRC been any more effective in representing the views from their constituents, when it is Party Politics first over the Singapore Electorates and the Constituents.
4. THE ELECTED PRESIDENCY
This post was first created, it had its role clearly marked out as the KEEPER of the SECOND KEY that unlocks the National Reserves.
When this 'Second Key' concept was tested by the late Ong Teng Cheong it caused so much acrimony from within the Ruling Elite that it resulted in a RETHINK to the original role planned for it.
This was made necessary, as for the Elected President to perform its role conscientiously, it required the complete revelation in the accounting of the National Reserves - as managed by the Ministry of Finance, Government Investment Corporation, Temasek Holdings, and a string of Government Related Agencies, Statutory Boards, and Government Linked Companies operating with funds from the Singapore Government.
This resulted in inconvenience to the Ruling Elite, and it required a SECOND THOUGHT to the limited powers already given to the Elected Presidency - and further clipped his wings in having any authority to effectively perform his role as the Guardian of the National Reserve.
The Elected President will hold the KEY, but will not be in any position to seek any more information than what has been made known for him to look after.
The Elected President is no more then acting according to the will of the Ruling Elite.
What does this mean for the future of Singapore ?
Can the same Elected President be any more effective in being a GUARDIAN of the National Reserves - if ever a situation should arise that ANOTHER POLITICAL PARTY happen to replace the present RULING POLITICAL PARTY ?
The Ruling Party has not been infallible in their vision, and they have set off a few time bombs during their monopolistic arrogant grip on political power in Singapore.
The biggest time bombs are from their Family Planning Policy and the fact that they have removed competitive spirit of Singaporeans by the sheer dominance of the Ruling Party and its Government Linked Companies in wiping private enterprise and competition in Singapore.
It all depends on the INTEGRITY of the Members of Parliament - and the manner in which the Executive Body conduct its relationship with the Elected President.Originally posted by charlize:Correct me if I am wrong but should an opposition party somehow manage to beat the incumbent party in the elections and form the next government, will they not be able to change the constitution and the existing laws governing the EP and its role in protecting the reserves?
If that's the case, does the EP serve its purpose in being the check against the government in using the reserves since it ultimately depends on whims and fancies of the majority party in Parliament?
Anybody can enlighten me?