While you are right, employers need to be less chossy too.Originally posted by Salman:40 and above employees need to be less choosy. They may indeed have to settle for job sthat are less pay and glamorous.
The govt can train them but if the private sector do not employ them all, there is little that the govt can do more.
Personally, I have had problems with older workers. Some are not willing to learn and some have attitude problems. Its not that I didn't tried hiring them.
Perhaps the longer term change needed is for older workers to be more adaptable and professional. I'm sure that if they are willing, there is a market for their skills.
those poor & needy qulify for CDC social service = less than 3000 unit aka whole Singapore, amount each receiving minimum S$ 260 / month.Originally posted by SilverPal:I noticed that firstly Salman assumes that other forumers want welfare from the govt (even though no one said so) and went on to attack this "welfarism" with righteous indignation.
Perhaps Salman can show us figures substatiating how the poor in sg have benefitted from the packages that the govt gives us? Instead of replying with another question (ie show me how the poor in sg did NOT benefit) or assuming that the rest of the forumers want welfare.
So you are blaming the Singapore Government a.k.a the Ruling Political Party for something ?Originally posted by Salman:Thats just my experience with older workers. Lots of attitude problems. I blame the govt for spoiling them. Nothing unprofessional on my part.
I prefer locals anytime. Never hired foreigners before.
Can you be more professional in your own attitude towards Singaporeans - and stop whining about the 'whining culture' ?Originally posted by Salman:Gotta make business work and make profit man. If the senior worker sabo I just cannot accept lah. I treat young workers the same and it seems younger people are not so stubborn. Basically I am fair to all and I respect elders.
I have seen how Americans work. They are professional even when they are close to retiremen. Perhaps its because they have a more mature economy with better work ethics. There's something I noticed about singaporeans and its that once a guy hits 30 plus, he seems to be less interested to learn and more focus on playing politics.
Basically, I think Singaporeans are too pampered.
Are there good senior workers? Yes! I am impressed with some and I think we are slowly and surely getting there as a whole country in the midest of global competition. If only we stop all this whining culture, it will be faster.
Big DEAL and I am surprisedOriginally posted by Salman:Ever seen how Americans work? Singaporeans better learn from them so that we can work well into out 50s and even 60s.
Quite a remarkable improvement from your 'no brainer, one-liners' - at least there is some dim light coming out of the tunnel.Originally posted by Salman:Yes, you are right, I do blame Singaporeans more than the govt.
We do need to grow up and take personal responsibility. Its always easy to blame others, any fool can do that.
that makes you the only sensible and capable person in singapore.Originally posted by Salman:I am always very fair, as always and I criticise anything and anybody whom did what I feel is no good.
The govt has made such a blunder making Singapore such a comfortable place in order to attract investors and votes, it made singaporeans soft and whining. Thats the biggest mistake of PAP.
the result is that we have a bunch of old workesr who are not adaptable, arrogant and young people like you who whine more than anything. That I think is the biggest problem facing Singapore today.
Originally posted by Atobe:Have you bought any wanton noodles from them? what did you do to help?
The two old women took personal responsibility to look after their own needs by selling wonton noodles at a hawker center, but was forced to buy the stall at an atrocious market price due to a change in HDB policy
The plight of these two old women was resolved not by any change of heart by HDB, but they were forced to take up a loan to service an impossible debt size beyond the ability of their wontan noodle business to sustain.
They were both made bankrupt by the Finance Company that loan them the amount needed to purchase the stall - everyone walked away leaving the hapless women to tend to themselves.
Who is responsible for their situation ?
Singaporeans ?
When everything goes up and not down, it will be hard to take personal responsibility. We can barely support ourselves, and it is natural human reaction to blame others.Originally posted by Salman:Yes, you are right, I do blame Singaporeans more than the govt.
We do need to grow up and take personal responsibility. Its always easy to blame others, any fool can do that.
Singapore is ineed a comfortable n good place to live in. Speaking about theOriginally posted by Salman:I am always very fair, as always and I criticise anything and anybody whom did what I feel is no good.
The govt has made such a blunder making Singapore such a comfortable place in order to attract investors and votes, it made singaporeans soft and whining. Thats the biggest mistake of PAP.
the result is that we have a bunch of old workesr who are not adaptable, arrogant and young people like you who whine more than anything. That I think is the biggest problem facing Singapore today.
The real problem is, they have put off taking personal responsibility and blaming everything they don't like on the govt. And they start to conjure up lies abt the govt. This is unhealthy and unproductive.Originally posted by will4:Singapore is ineed a comfortable n good place to live in. Speaking about the
local complaining, it had always been a habit for the local to complain about everything.
Somehow there is this idea that by repeating their words over and over again, Singaporeans will buy into their ideas and rhetorics.Originally posted by BillyBong:It's curious to note that if help for the needy is INDEED a long term plan, why did PM LHL find it necessary to EMPHASIZE that it is NOT an election ploy?
Originally posted by Salman:You maybe surprised that I did - and so did many Singaporeans - but is this the issue ? Why are you fudging on this subject ?
Have you bought any wanton noodles from them? what did you do to help?
I don't think its the govt's fault. Govt cannot micro manage businesses and cannot be expected to subsidise businesses.
Exhorbitant? Just because they cannot pay for rent? so why others can? You want to help them cook better wanton noodles?
Atobe, you are treading on a dangerous ground with your "FEELING" on the COE "bidding" process.Originally posted by Atobe:You will be surprised that the Singapore Government is MICRO-MANAGING every aspect of LIFE in SINGAPORE - take COE for example, they are tweaking the COE prices to stimulate the buyer's to pay when demand is down, or dampen the market with higher COE, when demand goes out of control.
Why did they tweak the COE system to prevent successful $50 bids ?
Wah ,u so smart ,can analyse it well.I same age as u oso nt so knowledegeableOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:While I agree with you on upgrading, the courses are not cheap. You expect the retrenched to use more than half their savings to upgrade themselves? Look at the trend now. Most of the retrenched are 40 years old and above. Even if they passed the course with flying colours, employers will find reasons not to hire them, like saying they are too old. With more than half their savings gone, how do expect them to survive?
Don't tell me got subsidies. They only provide subsidies if you are working with a company that supports the program. Otherwise, nothing.
When you run blindly and aimlessly in circles - can we blame you for thinking stupid about anyone, as if your stupidity is not prominent enough ?Originally posted by Salman:Atobe really sounds stupid to me. More and more stupid. He has fallen from a whiner to a whining nut.