Thanks for your information. I am quite ignorant about MOM's jobless figure. If they classify jobless figure as anyone who is jobless for more than 25 weeks and still seeking jobs, then this group should not be called unemployed but more appropriately temporary unemployed or economically active unemployed group..Originally posted by TooFree:A1. According to MOM statistical data, Long-term Unemployed Persons refers to unemployed persons who have been unemployed for 25 weeks or more.
A2. Yes. They include persons who were not working but were taking steps to start their own business or taking up a new job after the reference period.
Sorry, what I meant was, Dell understood the need to be very competitive.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I didn't know Dell works this way. I thought they focus on lowering inventory costs, thus keeping cost low.
what can we Sin gaporean be?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I didn't know Dell works this way. I thought they focus on lowering inventory costs, thus keeping cost low.
All businesses understood that. Even Microsoft knows that, but I guess strategies aren't working well.Originally posted by Salman:Sorry, what I meant was, Dell understood the need to be very competitive.
And what's behind all this moving out?Originally posted by zaxis:what can we Sin gaporean be?
we aren't manufacturer? we aren't assembler?
we are mostly trader.
if DELL bypass all so call unnesseary trader aka middle man.
we in Singapore eat what?
you think we can be like china come out our own brand?
"Ranger" gone! used to be Singapore brand
"Twin head" is ROC brand
"Ben Q" also ROC brand
Seagate Hard disc mostly going into automation! cutting down the operator from 20,000 till now less than 12,000
MNC cut, so do SME supporting industries.
Sek sun moved mostly to Suzhou.
M M I also moved.
Juron g Hi tech also moved
Be yonics also moved
Hyflux took over last time Seagate building nothing much contribute to in term of work force
What causes high cost of operation? it mainly due to the increase of salary of the workers, so when workers salary increase operation cost increase, but cannot increase selling price as it will make them less competitve, so solution is to find a cheaper labour countries to manufacture their product.Originally posted by ShutterBug:And what's behind all this moving out?
High costs of operation!
What else?
Can you imagine how much a product will cost if manufactured entirely in Singapore? It's just not feasible.
Low salary how to pay for the 30 year mortgage loan for the HDB flat?Originally posted by strikefreedom:What causes high cost of operation? it mainly due to the increase of salary of the workers, so when workers salary increase operation cost increase, but cannot increase selling price as it will make them less competitve, so solution is to find a cheaper labour countries to manufacture their product.
So it like we the one that create this problem as we are the one that is asking for higher wages and higher standard of living, so we are partly to blame for it don't we?
Why is it that the nordic European countries, like Finland, Denmark do not have this problem? Have the economic strategies failed and the blame is pass on to the average Singaporean as them demanding high wages and high standard of living?Why are we competing on labour cost with China?Originally posted by strikefreedom:What causes high cost of operation? it mainly due to the increase of salary of the workers, so when workers salary increase operation cost increase, but cannot increase selling price as it will make them less competitve, so solution is to find a cheaper labour countries to manufacture their product.
So it like we the one that create this problem as we are the one that is asking for higher wages and higher standard of living, so we are partly to blame for it don't we?
hahhaha all i can say is if head not that big don't wear a big hat. buying a house should be based on what we can afford and not what we want. but not all ppl realised it. so who to blame? if a person do not earn much but go ahead and buy a 5 rm flat, isn't he himself asking for trouble?Originally posted by charlize:Low salary how to pay for the 30 year mortgage loan for the HDB flat?
talking about HDB, what I dont understand is why is there stil a household income ceiling of $8000?Originally posted by charlize:Low salary how to pay for the 30 year mortgage loan for the HDB flat?
Not all businesses do, just look what happened to Ford.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:All businesses understood that. Even Microsoft knows that, but I guess strategies aren't working well.
let me ask you, as a businessman, what is your main piority? making profit isn't it? if you can have a choice of cheaper labour and expensive labour who will you go to?Originally posted by Calvin86:Why is it that the nordic European countries, like Finland, Denmark do not have this problem? Have the economic strategies failed and the blame is pass on to the average Singaporean as them demanding high wages and high standard of living?Why are we competing on labour cost with China?
i guess i am too picky too.Originally posted by charlize:You are too picky lah.
According to the people at the top, there are cleaning and service jobs in abundance everywhere, all created just for unemployed people like you.
All you need is to be open minded, have some upgrading of skills and a willingness to accept a lower pay.
And if you can wait for a few more years, the IR will provided even more jobs for you to choose from.
hahhaha all i can say is if head not that big don't wear a big hat. buying a house should be based on what we can afford and not what we want. but not all ppl realised it. so who to blame? if a person do not earn much but go ahead and buy a 5 rm flat, isn't he himself asking for trouble?You should ask HDB why they stop building 3 room flats. There is a demand for 3-rooms but they are making people buying 4 rooms and tying them into bigger loans
it the same thing as credit card which many ppl are abusing it and in the end causes themselves to declare bankrupt. This are the ppl that should blame themselve rather then other becos they never bother to check if they can support their lifestyle. human nature is they will tend to blame circumstances rather then themselve for the hardship they are going through.A problem usually has two facets, the Macro factors like economy and goverment policies, and the Micro factors like personal decision. These two factors are usually intertwined.
When HDB first started the Homeownership for the people scheme. it knew its role as a government housing authority and knew that it task is to sell public housing at a low affordable rate of $6,500 for 3-room standard flat and $7,800 for 3-room improved flats in the early 1970s.Originally posted by Gazelle:talking about HDB, what I dont understand is why is there stil a household income ceiling of $8000?
Hey, I help the poor, the sick, the unemployed and run my own business too.Originally posted by dragg:if you read salman's posting carefully you will notice that he helps the poor, the sick, the unemployed and he runs his own business. YET he has time to come to this forum to talk to whiners like us.
who do you work for salman?![]()
yeah but too bad goverment are not perfect loh. but the main thing is we are partly at fault too can't blame it totally on them. also compare to many countries we should be glad to have our own shelter over our head maybe expensive but it better then nothing. life is not about smooth sailing, we can't expect everything to go as we wish it to be.Originally posted by Calvin86:Originally posted by strikefreedom:
[b]
A problem usually has two facets, the Macro factors like economy and goverment policies, and the Micro factors like personal decision. These two factors are usually intertwined.
Do you know bank policies have made credit more easily avaliable today?
Its like allowing pornography all over the place and when sex crimes increase, you say the problems lies with human, not the government policies
i agree on what you say that we shouldnt bow to obstacles but we should also try to understand how the enviroment works and influences us. It useless just to work hard in this new economy. The Indians and PRC are cheaper. The danes and the fins work smart by niching in areas, thats why they still command high wages. If we merely "work hard and overcome obstacles" Singaporeans can expect our pay to gravitate towards PRC levels.Originally posted by strikefreedom:yeah but too bad goverment are not perfect loh. but the main thing is we are partly at fault too can't blame it totally on them. also compare to many countries we should be glad to have our own shelter over our head maybe expensive but it better then nothing. life is not about smooth sailing, we can't expect everything to go as we wish it to be.
yeah singapore policy is getting lax, but compare to other countries we are still pretty good. the main thing is we are adults, we need to be responsible of our actions, we can't always expect to be spoonfeed on every issue. being a working adult and yet dunno how to handle own finance, who can we blame? no one but ourselves. goverment dun have the responsibility of telling you how to spend ur money.
there are many thing that can use "you reap what you sow" to explain. i myself came from a family that used to live in a 1 rm flat own by my uncle, but we don't blame circumstances, we work hard to make our life better no matter how hard life is. now we are not rich but we are still living happily in our 3 rm flat.
millionaire are not people that bow to obstacles, they are ppl that go the extra miles on how to go about making their life better by working hard and looking for opportunity.
remember we came to this world with nothing, so how much we gain in this life is all by our decision. if we want to live comfortable, we need to put in the amount of hardwork that is equal to the standard that we desire. there is no easy way out.
Replacement at the top is usually that of musical chairs. The same ol people with the same ol way of thinking get rotated for the various top positions.Originally posted by Calvin86:i agree on what you say that we shouldnt bow to obstacles but we should also try to understand how the enviroment works and influences us. It useless just to work hard in this new economy. The Indians and PRC are cheaper. The danes and the fins work smart by niching in areas, thats why they still command high wages. If we merely "work hard and overcome obstacles" Singaporeans can expect our pay to gravitate towards PRC levels.
but i pointed out facts that the economic strategies for Singapore have not succeeded. Thats maybe why EDB's Philip Yeo got replaced. Hopefully the new chairman brings in new ideas and lift Singapore.
yeah but we got to realise that policy and strategy don't always work because there are alot of factors that affect them. just go to any countries, take a look and ask the ppl there do their goverment policies and strategies always work?Originally posted by Calvin86:i agree on what you say that we shouldnt bow to obstacles but we should also try to understand how the enviroment works and influences us. It useless just to work hard in this new economy. The Indians and PRC are cheaper. The danes and the fins work smart by niching in areas, thats why they still command high wages. If we merely "work hard and overcome obstacles" Singaporeans can expect our pay to gravitate towards PRC levels.
but i pointed out facts that the economic strategies for Singapore have not succeeded. Thats maybe why EDB's Philip Yeo got replaced. Hopefully the new chairman brings in new ideas and lift Singapore.
but i pointed out facts that the economic strategies for Singapore have not succeeded. Thats maybe why EDB's Philip Yeo got replaced. Hopefully the new chairman brings in new ideas and lift Singapore.The new chief of EDB should learn from the past mistakes and make quick and effective decisions:
Run my own business, thats why I have the time and flexibility.Originally posted by dragg:if you read salman's posting carefully you will notice that he helps the poor, the sick, the unemployed and he runs his own business. YET he has time to come to this forum to talk to whiners like us.
who do you work for salman?![]()