we are all part of singapore, there is no point complaining about thing when you dont even put in any effort to do something. PAP is run by human, and all human have limitation, what we need is for the people to be united and play our part and contribute to the community.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I agree, but some parts of Singapore are really screwed up.
If got use, long do already. But no effect. Give up liao.Originally posted by Gazelle:we are all part of singapore, there is no point complaining about thing when you dont even put in any effort to do something. PAP is run by human, and all human have limitation, what we need is for the people to be united and play our part and contribute to the community.
If you have a good suggestion for government, dont keep it to yourself, voice it out.
On classic example is all the FTA that we have established. In order for the FTA to benefit your business, you have to put in an effort to lobby the government to fight for you.
not true, the Singapore government today is very different from the government we had before the asia financial crisis. PAP has definite wake up from their honeymoon period and they are doing their best to make things happen. e.g. the casinoOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:If got use, long do already. But no effect. Give up liao.![]()
hey what happened to ur signy? gone?Originally posted by Gazelle:not true, the Singapore government today is very different from the government we had before the asia financial crisis. PAP has definite wake up from their honeymoon period and they are doing their best to make things happen. e.g. the casino
dun worry every countries have their own screw up parts so we are not the only one.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I agree, but some parts of Singapore are really screwed up.
This form of logic baffles me, and it seems to be used frequently by govt-supporters. This is an extreme False Analogy. Just because other countries have screwed-up parts, doesn't mean that we should let our screwed-up parts remain screwed-up.Originally posted by strikefreedom:dun worry every countries have their own screw up parts so we are not the only one.![]()
other people commit suicide so you go commit suicide also?Originally posted by strikefreedom:dun worry every countries have their own screw up parts so we are not the only one.![]()
lol tell me which country is perfect? every countries have their own form of screw up that a fact simply becos human are impefect and will make mistake even if they dun want to.Originally posted by pikamaster:This form of logic baffles me, and it seems to be used frequently by govt-supporters. This is an extreme False Analogy. Just because other countries have screwed-up parts, doesn't mean that we should let our screwed-up parts remain screwed-up.
no it two different issue. screw up by goverment is a fact as i mention in my reply to pikamaster. screwup can be avoided but it will still happen you don't choose to screw it up.Originally posted by mystiv:other people commit suicide so you go commit suicide also?![]()
i think he needs to stick around to make sure his true heir's claim to the throne is solidly cemented.Originally posted by Gazelle:Why?
LKY is rich enough to retire and own beach front houses all over the world.
However till today, LKY is still travelling all over the world and trying very hard to promote singapore and bringing investment to this tiny country with no resources.
Say all you want about how screw up is PAP etc, but at the end of the day,what we need is people that stick with you through good and bad times.
you sure?Originally posted by idwar:HongKong got no LKY
HK is better than Spore..........pay is so much higher........social services cheaper....more freedom.......cheaper cars......legislators more accountable to public...........people are more happy.......
yes i am sure for most of it....except that.. cars is cheaper but car park lot is not.....Originally posted by Ito_^:you sure?![]()
I see that in singapore, the wages are getting lower while the prices of our goods are getting higherOriginally posted by Libertarian:Wages in Hong Kong goes up as the living standard goes up and social services are cheaper because of the freer market there therefore there will be more competition and competition will only drive down prices and produce better quality goods and services
it only goes to show that no human being and no political system in this world is perfect.Originally posted by pikamaster:This form of logic baffles me, and it seems to be used frequently by govt-supporters. This is an extreme False Analogy. Just because other countries have screwed-up parts, doesn't mean that we should let our screwed-up parts remain screwed-up.
tell me which country in this world where you dont have people that have to struggleOriginally posted by snow leopard:i think he needs to stick around to make sure his true heir's claim to the throne is solidly cemented.
yes he should have retired long ago but yet is still drawing a very huge salary when his people are having a hard time coping ...
HK is better is not because of the government, it is because the people are more agressive and have a bigger appetite for riskOriginally posted by idwar:HongKong got no LKY
HK is better than Spore..........pay is so much higher........social services cheaper....more freedom.......cheaper cars......legislators more accountable to public...........people are more happy.......
I am sure it is up to you to make the difference. Singapore as a open economy with no resources, it is definitely not a place where you will find welfare and protectionismOriginally posted by SnowFlag:I see that in singapore, the wages are getting lower while the prices of our goods are getting higher![]()
I believe that I posted up a commentary by Phillip Bowring on the inaccuracy of the Heritage Foundation's classification fo Singapore and HK as economically free. Singapore does NOT have a free economy in practice. Notice the prevalence of the tripartite wage system which clearly shopws a government-controlled labour market. If you need further proof, turn to your adjustable CPF contribution rates - forced savings controlled by the government - and TLCs and GLCs. All these show massive government management of the economy, which does NOT feature in a free economy at all, or at least features in VERY SMALL amounts.Originally posted by Libertarian:Free market is the key to our economic success. Singapore is ranked number 2 in economic freedom while Malaysia is ranked 68 and indonesia is ranked 134. Therefore the less economic freedom explains why Malaysia and Indonesia are still so backward. By simply allowing people to trade whatever thay want to trade and produce what they want to produce. Singapore has turned into a first world country. The general rule is "the more the goverment controls the market, the worse it becomes". That is why socialism never worked at all(failure of USSR and the opening up of china's market by Deng Xiao Ping). By the way Hong Kong is ranked number 1 in economic freedom and it has since a long time. So it is not suprising to learn that Hong Kong is more developed than Singapore whether Hong Kong have LKY a not. Wages in Hong Kong goes up as the living standard goes up and social services are cheaper because of the freer market there therefore there will be more competition and competition will only drive down prices and produce better quality goods and services
This is the index of economic freedom and notice when the list goes down the countries are poorer.
http://www.heritage.org/research/features/index/countries.cfm