My cousin invested in India and got s h it s back to singapore.Originally posted by drawer:He say that India will be like China oneday n grow in an economic giant.But frankly speaking,i dont think so.Becoz India is a very slacking n complicated country.Their official languages got 100+,their culture n their government administration is lack of efficiency.
I think what Lou Goh's thought is that he see some Indians in Singapore attain some achievement,thats why he thought that India will also become super economic power someday.But he is wrong,whether a country can attain economy achievement that will greatly depend on their culture,their living habbits n their administation efficiency.
Just like Japanese who live in U.S,they will become more easy-going n flexible than those live in Japan.Indians who live in our country n other part of the world was influence by different environment.Thats why they can attain great achievement.But that doesnt mean that India itself will also attain great economy achievement.
By the way,Lou Goh uses 14 years reign just to prove that India will become a economy giant,i mean dont he has anything better to do?
what did he invested in?Originally posted by Lowclassman:My cousin invested in India and got s h it s back to singapore.
common lah, which developing country would simple allow foreigners to buy up their land? investing in land is not exactly that kind of investment that PM goh is talking about anyway.Originally posted by Fatum:the parents of one of my Indian Singaporean friends invested in land and property in India .... they recently went over to check on their investments, and discovered that squatters had legally taken over their land, and the houses they bought now belong to someone else ....![]()
Singaporeans only know how to invest in property lah..when comes to manufacturing, we always lost out to TW, KR and JP.Originally posted by claudetnt:whether China, India, malaysia etc, most singaporeans are suffering from mental blockages due to our education and the society at large. Therefore, not really prepared and geared to doing business outside singapore.
very Few of us can think out of the box and only the ones that can, are successful. There are many Taiwanese business men doing very well in Africa, India, Papua etc, these people are taking very high risks going into environments where culture, language etc are challenges and yet they venture in mentally prepared and work very hard to make these businesses boom. Singaporeans instead come back with lots of excuses why their businesses had failed.
Poor thing......Thats why we should not listen to what our government said.Last time when China was not so advance n their economy structure was not so good,our government keep encourage ppl to go China n invest.In the end,many businessmen,including our government,"burn their hands" n lost alot of money there.Originally posted by Lowclassman:My cousin invested in India and got s h it s back to singapore.
Even if got U.S and European countries help so what?If a person cannot help himself,even other ppl want to help him also very difficult.India is exactly this type of country,they lack of efficiency and also,they are very anti-western culture n investment.Originally posted by NuLife:You guys must not forget,
India has the backing of US and European countires.
Intel, Microsoft and many tech giants had invested
alot more in india than china.
They will help India rise in order to counter china.
China's current strength is manufacturing.
With the west tech companies investments
the engineers in India will have alot more latest technology
exposure than those in china.
Of cos, they have their own problems which will
work in the other direction.
I believe China is fast moving ahead, but india will
not be far behind.
Then what exactly is this "PM Goh" talking about.......I think we no need listen to what he or any PAP leaders say,they cant even take care of themselves or have the big heart to listen to our problem,how can they teach us anything?......By the way,the "PM Goh" u mention has already changed to "SM Goh" liao.He is no longer a PM n has no power anymore.(Hmm.....I wonder if he ever has any power in his politics career life!!!Originally posted by Gazelle:common lah, which developing country would simple allow foreigners to buy up their land? investing in land is not exactly that kind of investment that PM goh is talking about anyway.
Agree. And I don't think GCT is wrong about India.Originally posted by claudetnt:whether China, India, malaysia etc, most singaporeans are suffering from mental blockages due to our education and the society at large. Therefore, not really prepared and geared to doing business outside singapore.
very Few of us can think out of the box and only the ones that can, are successful. There are many Taiwanese business men doing very well in Africa, India, Papua etc, these people are taking very high risks going into environments where culture, language etc are challenges and yet they venture in mentally prepared and work very hard to make these businesses boom. Singaporeans instead come back with lots of excuses why their businesses had failed.
Yup,better be cautious when doing business,especially when the business u are doing is across to other countries.Afterall,we are not as rich as Temasek Holdings or PSA or Singtel who money are "rob" from we civilians.And they can venture n afford to lose money n need not have to answer to the parliament!!!Why?Becoz the loser PAP are controling the government!!!!Originally posted by snow leopard:while i agwee that india has distinctive advantages like good command of english it's progress may be hampered by political quagmire, much like the philippines. even if growth is spectacular, it does not always translate into good investment opportunities. in all likelihood it might end up a bigger black hole than suzhou. if singaporeans cannot help being eaten up by the chinese, i wonder how much better they would fare against the crafty indians?
friend of mine was working for this joint venture between an ang moh and an indian firm. the ang moh firm provided the money while the indian firm provided the manpower (from india of course). the project kept dragging and dragging so the ang moh firm had to keep pumping in money. finally towards the end of the project, the indian firm decided to terminate the project and so they split up. since the project wasn't officially completed, there was no product to speak of so the ang moh firm got nothing back. the indian firm simply took back all its programmers and continued on from there to finish the product and keep everything to itself ...
better look twice before jumping in ...
I think the reason is local already used to the comfortable life in here. People inOriginally posted by claudetnt:whether China, India, malaysia etc, most singaporeans are suffering from mental blockages due to our education and the society at large. Therefore, not really prepared and geared to doing business outside singapore.