singaporeans should stand together. people power is stronger than the govt. if we are together, they cannot do anything. a country make up of people. if we all don't pay tax, they will not have pay. the problem with us is we don't support each other. we are not a democracy society. i think it is becoming more like communist. the govt say what, it is likely to implement. what we say is just for show, just to show we are a democracy society. the opposition party has so little members in parliament, it is more likely the bill will be implementedOriginally posted by reddressman:I am newbie.
Just want to say something.
I will always support and vote for the party that is Truthful to the People.
Any party that is untruthful about how money is spent can never get my vote.
I don't care how good this party is. As long as its not honest and truthful to reveal investments, I will not support it.
Why would I support dishonesty?
I rather support a less capable but honest garmen.
A lot of sinkaporeens scared about many things when they vote.
Their weakness will sabo the rest.
A liar is a liar and a leopard never change its skin.
To me, non-disclosure is a Big Turn-Off ! I will not support.
But if they get no pay.. who wants to lead?Originally posted by Battlecrusier:singaporeans should stand together. people power is stronger than the govt. if we are together, they cannot do anything. a country make up of people. if we all don't pay tax, they will not have pay. the problem with us is we don't support each other. we are not a democracy society. i think it is becoming more like communist. the govt say what, it is likely to implement. what we say is just for show, just to show we are a democracy society. the opposition party has so little members in parliament, it is more likely the bill will be implemented
Agree with you there, however i do believe that alot of people do not bother. Buying power in Singapore is dropping, partly due to China. They are faced with either voting PAP or vote for an almost non-existant opposition. I believe alot follow the concept of "better the devil i know than the devil i don't". Alot may believe that if they vote opposition their buying power will dwindle. They know (or i hope they do) that there is a severe imbalance in the gahmen but most want fast gains and they do not think a change in gahmen will affect them this generation till they are old and it does not matter too much. They go fer the carrot ie watever $ they give out or watever upgrading they do fer their beloved HDB. Let the others vote opposition i just want my HDB upgrading (selfish thinkingOriginally posted by Joey_Yeo:It is about being able to engage in the future of the country and knowing that you are holding onto something powerful - a cast of vote.
In turn, the majority cannot force their views down anyone's throats.Originally posted by chinese helicopter:Democracy is minority respect the wishes of majority even if it is 51% against 49%.
Wah, CSJ want to discuss about electoral reform but other opp. parties didn't want to attend the forum.
Originally posted by PRP:Wah, CSJ want to discuss about electoral reform but other opp. parties didn't want to attend the forum.
it's just like how u dun wanna b associated wif WKS and HPK now
Originally posted by Jamie Zawinski:
it's just like how u dun wanna b associated wif WKS and HPK now
HPK? I think he's stayed long enough in Yishun East. If only Poh Lee Guan of WP had won back in 2001.
Originally posted by PRP:Yes, u are quite right.One rarely get others to agree with him in this forum.It seem silence mean agreeing.
Are you the PRP from young pap forum?
Justdoit,
Yes,i think only one PRP in this world.
I hope in the coming GE 2010/11, all oppositions can form an alliance and contest all 84 seats. Don't let them walkover, in this way we can judge the popular votes they can achieve, the previous 66.6% is not accurate because some wards did not contest. If 51 to 49 , then somebody will get heart attack during post election press conference, ambulance must standby, hehehe
"Don't insult the intelligence of singaporean, they know how to think and know which Party can serve them well and which Party only talk big"
They know which Party always talk big n make their salaries even bigger. But still.
But really most of us don't vote anyway.
The irony is that so many people are happy about the free holiday.
I seriously like what the government have contributed to the growth of Singapore but recently, the standard really dropped like flies. Now Singapore have become a haven for the rich and hell for the poor. Middle class people is neither here nor there. Work hard just enough to pay for high living expenses.
Feedback to government and they tell you to downgrade your lifestyle if you can't manage. Haiz...
the most effective way to counter corruption is to have a credible check and balance in the system.
The problem is... the check and balance in Singapore is almost non-existent. Take note that you guys here complaining about PAP or individuals from PAP may be facing defamation charges if those PAP individuals want to. The way laws are made and enforced in Singapore needs to be improve. I mean even some aspects of our Constitution are not been followed. Part 2 14) of the Constitution states that all citizens have the right to assemble peaceably and without arms. However, if you gather with too many people, you risk facing illegal gathering charges. wow....