i dunno..feel very confused abt this topicOriginally posted by pearlie27:ceecookie, what make you think that racial riot gonna happen soon? i don't feel it at all you know?
segregation along ethnic lines among students is clearly visible in schools here in singapore. all one has to look for example is at schools like river valley high or hwa chong institution. how many friends from different ethnic groups do students from this IP schools have exactly? how often do they really interact with students from different ethnic groups? when do students from Bhavan international school ever intereact with chinese or muslim students. or when do students from the madarasahs ever interact with chinese or indian students?Originally posted by Atobe:With regards to the education policy, are you referring to Singapore or some other country ?
There is hardly a determined effort by the Government a.k.a the Ruling Political Party in segregating students along ehtnic lines but there are flaws in the education policies and programs that ascentuate the ethnic differences.
This has led us to the present problems being faced amongst teenagers, adolescent, and adults FROM THE MAJORITY ETHNIC GROUPS - having difficulties in handling inter-ethnic relationships, the vast ignorance of the language, culture, customs and traditions of the minority ethnic groups.
Is it not surprising that those in the minority ethnic groups do not seem to have a problem in understanding or knowing the language, customs, traditions, and culture of the Majority Ethnic Group in Singapore ?
Originally posted by gill_hfc:Your views seems to be narrow based from your blinkered interpretation of what you intend to see, and in the manner that you wish.
segregation along ethnic lines among students is clearly visible in schools here in singapore. all one has to look for example is at schools like river valley high or hwa chong institution. how many friends from different ethnic groups do students from this IP schools have exactly? how often do they really interact with students from different ethnic groups? when do students from Bhavan international school ever intereact with chinese or muslim students. or when do students from the madarasahs ever interact with chinese or indian students?
Should we blame the educational system for the inability of anyone to associate with others from different ethnicities ?
students from similar IP programme schools in london that come from ethnic minority schools graduate and enter a world where they have no idea what it is to be british. the same goes for singapore. how many of this students exactly leave their current IP schools in singapore and go out and have friends or understands people from different ethnic groups. how many can clearly say they are singaporeans and not chinese, indian or malays coming from this ethnic schools. the irony here we have HDB ethnic quotas but we split our kids along ethnic lines in singapore schools.
i think atobe is failling to understand what i' trying to say. NO there is no axe to grind. i am a singaporean and proud to be one. but i have been around the block and have seen similar programmes which are being implimented in singapore doing harm to this kids in their countries. if we live in a multiracial society there should not be any schools built solely along ethnic lines. Using river valley high schools as an example it probably produces the brightest among the graduating classes in singapore. student from RV will probably go on to be leaders. all i'm saying is if they dont interact with students from different ethnic groups sufficently how will they ever understand the problems faced by the minoritys when this same students from RV go on to be leaders. in america schools along ethnic lines are banned.Originally posted by Atobe:Should we blame the educational system for the inability of anyone to associate with others from different ethnicities ?
Your illogical statements seem to reflect a "chip on your shoulder" with the present education system in Singapore in its present form - perhaps even to the extent of having "an axe to grind" ?
Although the Singapore education system has its flaws, it is certainly far from being segregationist due to some form of ethnic discriminations.
We chinese aren't really racist, you see. Sure you have the odd "smelly indian" joke but then again you also have your chinese jokes too.. Most malays are fine, I feel, except a growing minority. And for some strange reason or another, it seems like the chinese are suffering the brunt of it.Originally posted by gUms:i dont understand why u guys got so much problems with races , i as an indian , since primary sch till now (23yrs old soon )never ever had any problem with other races b4 , non i care bout other races nor my own , i only see myself as a SINGAPOREAN , no higher no lower den other races , i got 2 main group of friends , 1st is my chionging (clubbing) kakis which are all chinese and i am de only indian , and my other group are my soccer kakis and relak down de blk kakis , which are all malay , and i again is de only indian , if i can so comfortly mix with them and have a bro bro relationship with all of them , i dont understand why u ppl got so many problem .
and also i have nv ever been treated differently from chinese /malay hawkers , and even in de army (my unit doesnt take malay) only chinese and indian , 99% chinese 1% indian , even then i was nv treated differently , and i saw my other indian friends also wasnt treated any differently , and most of de chinese guys were very close to me , would buy me makan , would always talk cock with me ,and always jio me to go outing together , i was nv a outcast or cast away even when there was like 3 indians drives and 30+ chinese drivers . , till now alot of my army chinese friends call me once in awhile to ask wat im doing and jio me go out .
i think most of u guys are just insenstive la
Originally posted by gill_hfc:One would have thought that having "gone around the block" that exposure would have developed a broader vision and understanding of historical values and sense of history.
i think atobe is failling to understand what i' trying to say. NO there is no axe to grind. i am a singaporean and proud to be one. but i have been around the block and have seen similar programmes which are being implimented in singapore doing harm to this kids in their countries. if we live in a multiracial society there should not be any schools built solely along ethnic lines. Using river valley high schools as an example it probably produces the brightest among the graduating classes in singapore. student from RV will probably go on to be leaders. all i'm saying is if they dont interact with students from different ethnic groups sufficently how will they ever understand the problems faced by the minoritys when this same students from RV go on to be leaders. in america schools along ethnic lines are banned.
I dun really think many people wanna be affiliated to china... we are Singaporeans... Not CHINA..Originally posted by NuLife:I believe the recent increase in racism issues, are really due to
1) event 911 and global terrorism problem
which we all know are linked to islamic extremist.
Malay Muslims are ultimately affected as many people around the world,
become more waring of malays/muslims.
More so in Sg with multiracial background with a sizeable muslim minority.
2) Rise of China
which indirectly causes more imports of PRC here.
Chinese majority Sg definitely feel affiliated to china.
Malays minority will nevertheless be affected to some extend.
What can we do?
Its really a test of our multicultural background and
how we tackle this global terrorism problem.
What i feel we know, at least, is that fights and riots are really a thing of the past.
We all need to move on as a more modern society now.
Yes a black person being lynched by a white mob is an unfortunate incident which we generally consider as racist. But it can also be considered as some primitive behaviour of people who have yet to complete their process of evolution from beast to human.Originally posted by protonhybrid:i disagree. this is oversimplification. racism is NOT all in the mind.
you surely would understand that if you were, e.g. some black person being lynched by a white mob in some other country. you wouldn't think racism is ALL in the mind!
to me the threadstarter had some valid points, maybe some ppl will disagree, some ppl will agree. without resorting to violence, threats or ugly name calling if ppl can discuss and resolve these issues rather than let them fester, it will help the community of singaporeans and nonsingaporeans too.
I seriously don't think racial problems are "bleedingly obvious" in Singapore. The replies to this thread also don't testify to that, do they?Originally posted by Pronewbie:I am an open-minded and forgiving person as my friends can testify. However, from your post, I can see that you seem rather oblivious to the bleedingly obvious racial problems we have here in Singapore. I was once like you, believing "racism can be overcome, it's all in the mind". I am actually chuckling to myself as I was typing that. Imagine everyday, especially in camp, you see preferential treatment meted out and stereotypical racism coming to life right in front of you, affecting you.
Maybe then you'd see this issue in a different light. I can just imagine many others suffering the same predicament as my platoonmates and I are.