I couldn't agree more with that.Originally posted by Atobe:During his National Service days, LHL had tried to soften his image and make himself more acceptable by being "humerous " - a joker.
It looks like he continue to be a good joker.
Is the PM trying to make himself look like some kind of hero, and reinforce the image of the opposition parties to be truly impotent idiots ?
Will the PM dare to let loose a LEVEL playing field to all Political Parties for the sake of the Best People to lead Singapore into the FUTURE ?
If the PM dare to " put his money where his mouth is " - he should dismantle the GRC system, release the tight leash on the Singapore Press and broadcasting media, remove the Police as a moderator in approving licensing to hold rallies, the Election Officer should be nominated and approved by all participating Political Parties in the Election Process, and the Government machinery should stay out of the election process.
Will the Elected Presidency, Civil Service, Judiciary, Attorney-General, and the Commissioner of Police be apolitical in the Election Process ?
Without the clearly stated removal of the unseen intimidation of the POWER OF ONE over these Public Institutions, the PM can say anything he wish - to make himself look grand and generous, but the hidden arm of the "mafia" is always stalking the ground - behind the scene.
Exactly, but does it take a First Class qualification in Mathematics to work out the statistics of winnning in an election with the GRC being the Main Election feature, and in a country with battle lines that dilute every possible large congregation of disenchanged and disillusioned people ?Originally posted by Fatum:you think he's stupid ? ... he's got a first class in Mathematics from Oxford after all, in only two years no less ....
the combined opposition does not have enough men nor resources to contest in all 84 seats at once ... it'd be stupid for them to really heed the PM's call and contest in all of them ...
a better strategy would be to concentrate forces on one or two shaky constituencies and try to pull it down ... I'm sure there are more "cheng sans" around this time ... especially some constituencies with rather aloof ministers and MPs whose shadows can't even be seen ....
in anycase ... this election shall be an interesting one ...![]()
he's from ocford? I thought he was from the other place..Originally posted by Fatum:you think he's stupid ? ... he's got a first class in Mathematics from Oxford after all, in only two years no less ....
oops, sorry, my bad ... he's from cambridge actually .... with a masters in public administration from Harvard I believe ....Originally posted by oxford mushroom:he's from ocford? I thought he was from the other place..
Originally posted by Fatum:Pragmatism towards the reality of a population that is no longer as gullible and so easily persuaded as the electorates of the past few General Elections.
I don't see it as solely voter frustration alone ... it's pragmatism on the part of the incumbent party ... the political landscape is changing, inexorably ... platforms are changing and evolving ... take this forum for example ? .... some of the comments are outright slanderous, but you hear of any forumnites being dragged off in the middle of the night ? ...
Can the incumbent Ruling Political Party "engage in this change, to prepare it's members for the new landscape" ?
if this is the case, it's a better idea for the party to engage this change, to prepare it's members for the new landscape, than to wake up one day and discovered that it has lost too much ground, no ? ...
Are our Singapore Members of Parliament superior to the Canadian MPs ?
that being said, having seen at first hand how elections are conducted in a liberal democracy (the recent Canadian elections), I'm not entirely sure it would be a totally good idea to go down that path, I'm not sure if I want my MP to be a better show man than a representative of me in parliament ... I want him to be good enough to sell himself and his case of course, but I don't think i want to see the political and electioneering process turn into a circus ...
With all forms of public media being in the control of the Government, and in a political climate that has little qualms in allowing the incumbent Ruling Political Party to abuse its long held powers to influence the outcome of the election process in its own favor - can there be any sensible debate seen in more mature parliamentary election process ?
It was a good experience to see federal and provincial candidates come to the school and sweat through brutal question and answer sessions on camera, i think it's good and healthy to see candidates actually actively canvassing for your vote and trying to sell their cause to you ... but what i don't hope to see, is that candidates become hostages to the narrow interests of small groups of people, promising the sky to everyone from single mother students, professors asking for more research funds, union janitors asking for more benefits, simply made some candidates loose all credibility ...
Can politics be a gentlemanly contest, when the Ruling Political Party sets all the rules in its own favor ?
I hope we can strike a balance between the two, and not let the whole process degenerate into a fracas, the antics of some opposition members still leave a bad taste in my mouth ... politics should always be a gentlemanly contest, let all parties remember that
Lwflee to PM: DIAM LAH! See Beh wayang. Army teach you so many things you learn to wayang?! Mei zong yong!Originally posted by LinYu:Extract from Sunday Time 5 Mar 2006 Page 1
PM to rivals: Contest all 84 seats
By Lydia Lim
Senior Political Correspondent
PRIME Minister Lee Hsien Loong yesterday challenged the opposition to contest all 84 seats that are up for grabs in the coming general election.
'I hope that when elections are called, the opposition will field candidates in all the constituencies, so that all the PAP candidates will be contested and we can test the strength of the voters' support for the PAP,' he told The Sunday Times.
The polls will be his first as Prime Minister and Secretary-General of the People's Action Party.
His comments, in an e-mailed reply to questions from The Sunday Times, follow Friday's release of the Electoral Boundaries report.
While many of the boundaries have shifted, the changes did not affect the maths: the number of single-seat constituencies remains unchanged at nine, and there are still 14 group representation constituencies (GRCs) with either five or six seats each.
The two opposition-held wards of Hougang and Potong Pasir have stayed intact.
'Whatever the boundaries, the PAP fights to win in every constituency, including Hougang and Potong Pasir,' Mr Lee said.
Some political observers said the lack of major changes reflected the Government's confidence. Mr Lee would only say the constituency contours were decided by the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee.
The panel of five civil servants is meant to be non-partisan and recommend adjustments based on population changes.
There is still no sign of when the Prime Minister will call the election. He would only say that in the lead up to the polls, the PAP will announce its line-up of new candidates - expected to number at least 20 - and its party manifesto.
His challenge to the opposition to take on the PAP in more wards has been a running theme of ministers' comments in recent months.
Over the past four general elections, the number of walkovers has risen steadily. It went from 11 or 14 per cent of seats in 1988 to 55 or about two-thirds of seats in 2001.
Some Singaporeans have expressed frustration at never having voted because they live in repeatedly uncontested wards.
The PAP itself has voiced misgivings about a growing number of its candidates entering Parliament without an electoral baptism of fire.
Judging from opposition activities yesterday, it seems likely that the focus will once again be on the single seats and, at most, a handful of GRCs.
The Singapore Democratic Alliance has laid claim to the two new single-member wards of Bukit Panjang and Yio Chu Kang, citing an earlier opposition pact.
But the Singapore Democratic Party is also eyeing Bukit Panjang.
As for the PAP's plans, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office and Jurong GRC MP Lim Boon Heng said yesterday 'the party has not finalised its list as to who stands where'.
Prime Minister Lee reiterated the significance of the coming election. 'This election is about choosing the team to lead Singapore ahead into a bright but challenging future. It is about staying together, and moving ahead,' he said.
[email protected]
PM could sense the fustration of voters not having a chance to vote due to the numbers of walkover during past elections. What could be done to avoid the same suitation again?
more like the "freak election results" whereby the opposition becomes the ruling party.Originally posted by charlize:I think this is a tactic to distract the opposition from contesting in some of the GRCs.
Some of the GRCs have more political significance than others and I think the government is afraid that the opposition might actually field candidates in those "politically significant" GRCs.
In asking them to contest all the 84 seats, the government thinks it can dissuade the opposition in contesting these GRCs and instead contest the single seats (of which importance are far less significant politically than those heavyweight GRCs) since they know the opposition has limited candidates and resources.
The opposition has got nothing to lose in this coming elections. But the incumbent party has lots to lose should one GRC fall into opposition hands.
ask goh meng seng la.Originally posted by cheem-.-:Yeah.. its a trap lah. They purposely issue the challange. If they take up to it, it will drain their resources and lose more deposit boxes. If they don't contest in all, then it make them appear very weak.
I think Opposition won't be so stupid to follow. They have not contested all seats since the 1991 by election effect strategy. I think they will fight very hard in single seat wards, plus Sembawang and Aijuned GRC. However, I heard WP is contesting in Ang Mo Kio leh! Thats where PM Lee is. True or not?
I somehow agree with LinYu's view to a extent. As a observer, I would not say it is a trap, it is only right for PM Lee and no other person to say it first. In chinese, it is called "making the first move". It would not be wrong if the other parties has the resources to take up his offer.Originally posted by cheem-.-:Yeah.. its a trap lah. They purposely issue the challange. If they take up to it, it will drain their resources and lose more deposit boxes. If they don't contest in all, then it make them appear very weak.
I think Opposition won't be so stupid to follow. They have not contested all seats since the 1991 by election effect strategy. I think they will fight very hard in single seat wards, plus Sembawang and Aijuned GRC. However, I heard WP is contesting in Ang Mo Kio leh! Thats where PM Lee is. True or not?
It's nothing more than an arrogant challenge.Originally posted by anonymouscoward:If the opposition would to contest for all 84 seats, they will face 2 issues...
1) They will post a higher chance of replacing the current PAP as the ruling party. The government is smart to know that majority of Singapore wants more opposition but wants the government to remain intact with PAP. Thus, resulting in less votes for them.
2) They will have problem fielding good candidates in the GE as they are today.
LHL is saying this because he knows the opposition cannot and will not do this.
wah if tis happen wat will happen to PM SM n MM ah?Originally posted by LinYu:more like the "freak election results" whereby the opposition becomes the ruling party.![]()