This is the figures that is showing there.Originally posted by Gladiatos:really meh?did the other countries missed out a zero at their salary figure?George Bush oni gets 200k?
Good question. Many people also like to know what figure they getting now. How to know what figure they are getting?Originally posted by Gladiatos:oh ya...didnt see the date...year 2000...so whats the figure now?
Not always true, some greedy people cannot get satisfied by 200k/mth. It just reduces the probability...Originally posted by Clementneil:The rationale behind the pay is that ministers who are underpaid will become corrupted.
Or so says the gahmen.
If the solution to solve corruption is to stuff money into their pockets,
then the solution to robbing and theft is to give them money as well.
Give all of us,200k a mth,would we be robbing anyone?
OBVIOUSLY NOT!
How to prove thay are making Corruption Legalised through Salary? They can always argue that they are trying to eliminate corruption. Anyway Medicated oil i think you are quite brave to express this view. I salute you.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Singapore - Make Corruption Legalised through Salary.
That is why we are the least corrupted country in Asia.
We do it openly and without shame.
Thanks for expressing your view in this fashion. I don't believe performance can be measured when there is no transparency. Lets say if a minister is getting US$10 million a year, will you still feel this is to ensure a corruption-free government?Originally posted by BillyBong:The official stand from our leaders has always been that a minister serving national interests must be paid a commeasurable salary package to ensure a corruption-free government.
It was also decided to peg the salaries of top ministers with top serving executives from leading corporations as an indication of the level of performance demanded and expected by shareholders.
These figures will never be released no matter how the people cajole and lobby for transparency. PM LHL has often continuously refered to a formula to calculate the pay of ministers; this formula is also unlikely to be released.
The crux of the matter is no longer whether ministers are overpaid, but whether there is any form of indicator to measure the true-put of a minister's performance.
In the end, if one can prove this with a certain degree of satisfaction, then we should no longer contest the issue.
Then it depends whether there is any indication to account for every dollar value he is contributing. Since you brought up such a incredible figure, there must be a equally feasible method to track the performance indicator of such a minister to account for every dollar he earns?Originally posted by grandeur:Thanks for expressing your view in this fashion. I don't believe performance can be measured when there is no transparency. Lets say if a minister is getting US$10 million a year, will you still feel this is to ensure a corruption-free government?
Originally posted by grandeur:Singaporeans who have got their Salary and CPF cut in 2002 - 2004, remains with their cut salary and CPF UNRESTORED.
How to make government to report to us the figure that the ministers are getting and show us what they had gotten in the past few years? Any genius there?