In order to show our protest against the Singapore Government's approach in this regard, we urge all citizen groups to do the following:2.The site links to Call for Action: Boycott Singapore Airlines in protest against government repression during World Bank and IMF Annual Meeting. and this
- Immediately boycott Singapore Airlines (the national carrier) for all world travel
- Express our protest in front of the Singapore Airlines offices around the world calling on people to boycott the airlines in view of the policy of the Singapore government
We hope you will make all efforts to ensure that sufficient pressure is put on Singapore Airlines as a symbol of our collective protest against the Singapore Government.

Originally posted by Yi Peng:How much of the profits that SIA make actually filter into our pockets ?
Wait a minute. Won't boycotting SIA undermine our economy?
Originally posted by charlize:Don't you see - it is all up to PAPa ?
I'm always curious as to why SIA tickets cost more here than if I buy them overseas.
Anybody has an answer to this?
CSJ's approach in this case does him no favours, especially when his actions explicitly illustrate him as 'allying' himself to foreign interests intent on stirring trouble.Originally posted by sbst275:He's asking for more trouble
Now in court again
Originally posted by BillyBong:As much as I agree with your post, I guess CSJ had followed the philosphies of those whom you have quoted so eloquently:
CSJ's approach in this case does him no favours, especially when his actions explicitly illustrate him as 'allying' himself to foreign interests intent on stirring trouble.
Attacking SIA does not resolve the fact that it is the GOVT in question whom will not change the hardline stance of zero tolerance for trouble-makers.
His firebrand tactics are not helping his party's cause.
CSJ has thrown everythiing into the wind, and to 'normal' beings like us - it is absurd, even stupid.
Blind belief in authority is the single greatest enemy of truth~ Albert Einstein
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear - not absence of fear~Mark Twain
All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them~Walt Disney
Originally posted by Atobe:Unfortunately, he has chosen to take a rather extreme view of the quotes that i enjoy most.
CSJ has thrown everythiing into the wind, and to 'normal' beings like us - it is absurd, even stupid.
However, from those more illuminated and worldly wise - these are their comments:
[b]It is the duty of every citizen according to his best capacities to give validity to his convictions in political affairs.
Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955),
'Treasury for the Free World,' 1946
Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it whether it exists or not, diagnosing it incorrectly, and applying the wrong remedy.
Ernest Benn
Politics is the art of preventing people from taking part in affairs which properly concern them.
Paul Valery (1871 - 1945),
Tel Quel 2 (1943)
In politics you must always keep running with the pack. The moment that you falter and they sense that you are injured, the rest will turn on you like wolves.
R. A. Butler
(1902 - 1982)
Politics is supposed to be the second oldest profession. I have come to realize that it bears a very close resemblance to the first.
Ronald Reagan (1911 - 2004)
If they do so, those in Singapore can't go Australia, considering that Australia is a pretty popular destination for Singaporeans and other tourists. They won't do it because it will harm their economy.Originally posted by lionnoisy:exactly lah.Even Aussie dare not boycott SIA.
Well, why not?Originally posted by Shigemichi Take:I own SIA share leh...
That's a stupid thing to do. How can they urge Singaporeans to boycott their own National carrier??![]()
2.This is a indirect act of showing support boycott.SDP shall makeOriginally posted by Rexdriver:Why do you say SDP supports the call for a boycott? That article was not written by SDP. SDP merely reproduced it under their column "News and Articles". Is it not fair for SDP, who takes a keen interest in civil rights, to collect all articles under that topic which are relevant to Singapore?
Please don't be too quick to condemn.
Good point.Originally posted by countdracula:csj may be an idiot but then again, what has sia done for singaporeans? they don't sponsor anything really...their ticket prices are not local friendly...their services are geared towards the ang mohs...u want to fly, go take silkair.......
Could it be that CSJ's 'rather extreme view of the quotes' that you enjoy most is probably due to the fact that he is very focus in the energy that he applied for his cause in challenging the Politics that is practised by the Ruling Political Party ?Originally posted by BillyBong:Unfortunately, he has chosen to take a rather extreme view of the quotes that i enjoy most.
Pursuing the stuff of dreams must be balanced with a degree of focus.
Your observation is exactly the course that I believe CSJ has taken.
When it is determined that a course of action will only reap ruin or futility, the prudent choice is to disengage and attack from a different angle. There is no point continuing inconsequential battles if there is no light at the end of the tunnel.
Actually those people whom he sought to champion IS the 'rest of the pack' .
In your choice of R.A Butler, it is interesting to note that in Chee's case, because of massive character assassination by our ruling party and through his own self-styled beliefs, it is not the 'rest of the pack' that is turning on him, but the very people he sought to champion.
Originally posted by the Bear:Yes, he will "boycott oxygen if he thought it'll gain him some publicity" - but he will not be foolish if it brings him to the edge of death.
the idiot CSJ would boycott oxygen if he thought it'll gain him some publicity!