I agreed on this statement n no offence, what u hink of those local argue for the sake of the argument?Originally posted by Yi Peng:There will always be poor people anywhere you go.
Singapore's poor are considered rich elsewhere.
He(CSJ) was an Honorary Research Associate at Monash Asia Institute, Melbourne, Australia (1997),
Human Rights Fellow at University of Chicago, US (2001),
and the Reagan-Fascell Human Rights Fellow at the National Endowment for Democracy, Washington DC, US (2004).
Chee was given the Defender of Democracy Award in 2003 by Parliamentarians for Global Action.
In 2005 he was awarded the Hellman-Hammett grant for persecuted writers by Human Rights Watch. Chee is also the author of five books.
His books focus on the government's anti-free speech policies. Most of them are not allowed to be sold in Singapore,
Originally posted by geodome:not letting singaporeans demonstrate ensures peace.....n for such a small country like singapore, wad happen if so many singaporeans demonstrate?....the whole country can fall into a v jia lat crisis, if u allow demonstration, pple's mood are v easily raved up and in a small country like singapore, news travel v fast......further more when a country is not stable, tourism n many other industries are affected.......do u wan to see money being drained away?....n especially when we are a city country with no natural resources to fall back on, survival is at stake........
Poverty should be measured within a country, and not on an international basis.
To measure poverty on an international basis in the case of Singapore only serves to undermine the plight of the poor people in Singapore. By absolute standard, it's true that they are not that bad, [b]but their poverty state is the result of relatively high living standard in Singapore. Their income is not sufficient to compensate for the standard of living in Singapore. By saying they are not as bad as their overseas counterparts, it's akin to saying that these fellow Singaporeans do not deserve financial aid. These fellow Singaporeans deserve a better life.
BTW I do not see how boycotting SIA has anything to do international talks held in Singapore. Our government is no doubt a bas-tar-d if they do not let international groups to demonstrate here. The fact is they are already a bas-tar-d to not let us Singaporeans demonstrate. Intolerance begets intolerance.[/b]
Originally posted by hiphop2009:When you listen to a 'fairy tale' for so long, you will believe that the 'fairy tale' is a true life event - as you cannot know of any other tales.
not letting singaporeans demonstrate ensures peace.....n for such a small country like singapore, wad happen if so many singaporeans demonstrate?....the whole country can fall into a v jia lat crisis, if u allow demonstration, pple's mood are v easily raved up and in a small country like singapore, news travel v fast......further more when a country is not stable, tourism n many other industries are affected.......do u wan to see money being drained away?....n especially when we are a city country with no natural resources to fall back on, survival is at stake........
freedom of speech is important, i recognise dat, but maybe u wan to tink abt wad the reason behind dat our government does not wan to allow demonstration.....this is juz like why government build expressway but regulates speed on the vehicles travelling on it.....u can say: hey look, why should dere be speed limit on these expressway when i am a taxpayer n i wan to travel wad speed i wan coz this is my rights.........but tink, wad will happen if dere are no speed limits and pple can travel as fast as they can??.........
as for international groups demonstrating here, actually is the same....our government is afraid dat our own pple would participate and causes disruption to the society......u tink singapore govenment does not faces international pressure on freedom on speech??.....i nt defending the government but tink from the government's view of point yeah?...........
Originally posted by Yi Peng:For once your brilliance shine through the smoke that always seem to shroud the Salman's mind.
There will always be poor people anywhere you go.
Singapore's poor are considered rich elsewhere.
the mentality of hongkong n singapore citizen's mind are not the same....hongkong was once ruled by the britiish which emphasized on democracy.......demostrations are allowed in the past in hong kong and results is dat it has not showned or affected the economy.......the demostrations are usually peaceful and does not cause any problems.....Originally posted by Atobe:When you listen to a 'fairy tale' for so long, you will believe that the 'fairy tale' is a true life event - as you cannot know of any other tales.
When you watch only 'horror movies' and nothing else, you will believe that life is but a 'horror movie' - as you know of no other events.
If demonstrations are always disorderly, how do we explain for the 'wild Orchard Road Swing Party of the late 1990s' ?
If constant demonstrations can affect economic growth and progress, surely Hong Kong should already be in an economic slump now ?
What is the reason for the Singapore Government a.k.a the Ruling Political Party for discouraging Singaporeans from being pro-active in demonstrating to publicize the issues which is in the Public Interest ?
Is it not logical that the Ruling Political Party a.k.a the Singapore Government is fearful that Singaporeans will become familiar with their political rights and their political power as a united and organised group of Singaporeans ?
Is it not true that the Ruling Political Party is afraid that others will usurp the PRO-ACTIVE Political Role which they intend to monopolise for themselves ?
Originally posted by hiphop2009:If you remember history, Singapore was a British Colony, and was ruled by a British Colonial Government from 1819 till our own internal self-rule in 1951, and full independence through Malaysia in 1962.
the mentality of hongkong n singapore citizen's mind are not the same....hongkong was once ruled by the britiish which emphasized on democracy.......demostrations are allowed in the past in hong kong and results is dat it has not showned or affected the economy.......the demostrations are usually peaceful and does not cause any problems.....
i am sure you studied singapore history before and i tink u cant blame why the government does not allow demostrations to be allowed here.... racial riots, hock lee bus riot...remember, the first generation of leaders in PAP are still in the parliment today...they hav seen more den us so definitely they would object to demostrations here and their words carry lots of weight......i personally feel that to a certain extent demostrations should be allowed but den wad the government tinks might not be the same as the citizens.....
maybe the future generations of our govenrment may change the laws....who noes....
yes, hongkong n singapore are once ruled by the british, but i m sure u do noe dat hongkong was ONLY returned to china in 1997 while we gained our independence in 1965 (1959 for self-independence)...Originally posted by Atobe:If you remember history, Singapore was a British Colony, and was ruled by a British Colonial Government from 1819 till our own internal self-rule in 1951, and full independence through Malaysia in 1962.
Malaysia also was a British administered country, similar to Hong Kong and yet in these two countries political freedom is widely available to their respective Citizens than what is available to Singaporeans.
Whose History are you studying ?
The real history as happened, or the history that is written to fit into the shoe box objective of the Ruling Political Party ?
The racial riots also occurred in Malaysia, as it occurred in Singapore.
Must all political demonstrations lead to bloodshed and riots ?
This is the paranoic and myopic reasons for banning demonstrations and public display of any political beliefs.
This is part of the POLITICAL PROCESS of disenfranchising the political minds of Singaporeans - numb the minds and fill the stomachs, so that the Politicians have a free hand to do as they please.
Was there any effective protests in the passing of legislations that allow the Ruling Political Party to pay their Ministers the MILLION DOLLAR WAGE PROGRAM ?
A population of Singaporeans that is fully awaken to our Political Rights and actively exercising those rights can be troublesome to the Government aka the Ruling Political Party, who has gotten use to FORTY YEARS of unopposed rule, with little need to explain their actions, let alone their failures.
Political work now takes up most of his time.--Singapore opposition may be jailed for
He(CSJ) is the author of four books about politics and
another about parenting, and says he earns
an income by selling them on the street.
Originally posted by hiphop2009:Whether Singapore gained 'Internal Self Rule' in 1957 or Hong Kong returned to China in 1997 - the fact remained correct that British Influence was present in both these City States up until their respective 'Self Rule'.
yes, hongkong n singapore are once ruled by the british, but i m sure u do noe dat hongkong was ONLY returned to china in 1997 while we gained our independence in 1965 (1959 for self-independence)...

:Unfortunately, history can be re-written with a slant that mould young minds with 'new facts' - as evidenced by the efforts in Japan with their school history books being generously inaccurate in Japan's war time records.
it doesnt matter whose history we are studying, as quoted by YOU dat the political party so called"wrote" the history in their own style......history are facts, nobody can runaway from it....if u dun mind, take a look at secondary 2 history textbook....the things and facts are similar to the history books that are written somewhere else or found on the internet....
:What were the events of the 1960s that were seen to be unstable ?
the fact dat the freedom of speech and stuff like dat are not deeply incalcuated during the 60s....during the unstable times of 60s especially after independence and throughout the 70s, if government were to allow juz any demostrations, wouldnt the country be so unstable?........remeber, singapore has NO natural resources to fall on, we nid outside investments to help our economy.....again, dun compare us to hongkong, inthe 60s and 70s, hongkong IS STILL a british colony and dey hav the british to fall back on but do we hav??....
:Did the Singapore history textbook for students include the reasons for Singapore Ministers' high wages ?
as for the MILLION DOLLAR WAGE programme, i admit dat our history textbook did nt runaway from stating dat ministers nid to be paid highly to prevent corruptions among the government....however nth much was emphasizec....but den u tink abt it this way, if our ministers wasnt paid so high, who will come and work for the government?....not many pple who are willing to do so......the the ministers' workload in our government i can say is relatively heavy.......if dey do a gd job, yes, a a taxpayer i wont mind the ministers get a high pay...n the fact is dat singapore now is a country with successful economy.....though dey r much more areas which nids improvement, yes, ministers are nt god and u do nid to give dem time......
wooosh ok........Originally posted by Atobe:Did the Singapore history textbook for students include the reasons for Singapore Ministers' high wages ?
Do we need to be surprised that the young minds need to be conditioned in its early age to accept highly paid ministers; and also to equate high wages to prevent corruptions ?
Are you aware that each Minister is supported by at least one or two Permanent Secretaries, with accompanying Deputy Permanent Secretaries, and Administrative Secretaries No 1 and-or No 2 ?
In some Ministries, the Minister will hold two portfolios and in each porfolio there will be a duplicate set of keys.
Is it necessary to "create work loads " to burden the Ministers ?
With the Ministers so burdened, can they still perform their tasks as Members of Parliament to serve their constituents ?
Is Singapore's economy a success, or is it a stack of card piled up - one on top of the other ?
Will the next economic sneeze affect the environment and spread 'death and destruction' to all ?
Originally posted by hiphop2009:While no system can be a perfect one, at least any other system that is based on some International Standards of Human Development will be better than the present 'monopolistic grip' by the POWER OF ONE in all spheres of Human Endeavours in Singapore.
wooosh ok........
nice arguments.....
but u see, no system is a perfect one......dere are bound to be loopholes in every system.....singapore's press freedom is ranked one of the last few if nt wrong....i maybe a bit materialistic but our economy has been quite ok......dere will always be a nid to press fer changes but tink abt it, nt every country can fit into one system....this can be traced back to each country's histories and geographical facts....
see wad happens when u keep toking abt press n speech freedom, the recent cartoon controversie in europe has caused so much uproar in the middle east, no respect for other's religion.....and yet in a multi-religion country like singapore, u cant afford to hav such a thing happening.......
somehow, i tink dere is a indirect link between politics and racial issues.....
PAP propaganda?.....no comments but singapore now is still a relatively stable country.....
maybe u may wan to take a look into upper secondary's textbook and tell me how u feel =).........
The problem now is that prosperity for many is not forthcoming despite their best efforts. I don't think Singaporeans just want to voice out for the sake of making noise, but it has come to a point whereby the people at the top is not listening to the people they are supposed to serve.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Opposition parties must always remember that for most Singaporeans, it is prosperity first, democracy second...
we shall not complicate the situation but den it is basically the same thing.....Originally posted by Atobe:While no system can be a perfect one, at least any other system that is based on some International Standards of Human Development will be better than the present 'monopolistic grip' by the POWER OF ONE in all spheres of Human Endeavours in Singapore.
Let us not complicate the discussion with the recent 'cartoonic events' that is basically a result of a determined behaviour of a small group of ambitious politicians disguised as 'fanatical zealots' that is bent on achieving their Political Agenda by any means - religious, racial, communal, political - so as to stoke up the irrational behaviour of the larger group of less sophisticated, lesser educated masses.
The politics and racial characteristics of Malaysia is about the closest that one can find to qualify some comparison to be made with Singapore.
Malaysia also has a miulti-racial community as Singapore - although the ethnic composition ratio maybe different in the respective country, there is little difference in diet, languages, ethnic nuances, culture and traditions.
Yet we can see in Malaysia, a high level of tolerance towards dissenting voices, opposition politics, alternative views from Non-Government Organisations, and a more generous propensity towards mistaken remarks.
With the same set of laws left behind by the British Colonial Government, the Malaysian have opted for a more liberal form of democracy.
Can this be said of Singapore ?
Intolerance and impatience is the hallmark of the Singapore Ruling Elites towards all with dissenting and opposing views.
Is Singapore stable, or is it in a constant state of flux, held together by the constant admonition of the Citizens to tow the line, or risk Singapore being collapsed into the outer sea.
Originally posted by hiphop2009:If you will care to discern - 'Demonstrations' can be in many forms and do not necessarily always need to be the violent and destructive types as has always been the well used reason by the Singapore Government aka the present Ruling Political Party to prevent any public expression of protests.
we shall not complicate the situation but den it is basically the same thing.....
malaysia??........look at it this way, and i hav emphasized this again n again, look at the country size of malaysia, it is many times bigger den singapore. one city having demostrations wont not affect reallie much and spread to the rest of the country, n certainly not reallie causing too much trouble.....but in singapore, singapore is sooo many times smaller den malaysia!!!.....juz tink, a demostration in orchard road would reallie spread to the whole singapore, given in today's technology n media, news spread fast n wildy.....wad would happen if the whole country juz fall into a crisis.......we simply juz cannot afford to hav the whole country down.....
now look, i am nt defending the government but i juz feel dat dere are reasons behind certain actions taken by the government.....no doubt dere might be some political reasons behind, dat i dunnoe, but den wad a government can do is to keep a country stable n life of its citizen stable........we hav elections dun we?..........
Silkair is oso under SIAOriginally posted by countdracula:csj may be an idiot but then again, what has sia done for singaporeans? they don't sponsor anything really...their ticket prices are not local friendly...their services are geared towards the ang mohs...u want to fly, go take silkair.......