If ask most Singaporeans, i dont think anyone thinks that a war will break out.Originally posted by siaokao:Wat kinda signs you looking for leh?? 155mm flying over your head? You should start planning now.. you can bet there will be 6~7 mil here soon.. quick.. pack up!
What if one day may be the government becomes corrupted and Singapore being ruled by tyrant or dictator. And maybe another country like US claimed that they attacking Singapore is to liberate us. Will you still fight blindly for government or help the liberators?Originally posted by leo-kun:i WILL defend our LION CITY.
You can trust this siaokao and I'm telling you when most ppl know war is coming.. it will be too late, coz all these "pre war" signs happen away from public knowledge. By then, you wan to run like siaokao also cannot make it liao.. wahahaa!! So, the time is NOW.. get out before you have to beg US to protect your sorry ASS..Originally posted by Calvin86:If ask most Singaporeans, i dont think anyone thinks that a war will break out.
The real test should be when most Singaporeans think there will be a war and how many actually stay.
Somehow i think you choose your name for some significance, please dont be Siaokao and chase me hor
first country that comes to my mind is Israel ... it still has a large population of palestinians, yes, palestinians, that comes over the border every day, just like we do ... (why do you think it's so difficult to stamp out terrorists and suicide bombers ?) .. and if you think 2 years is tough, try Israel, 3 full years of NS ....Originally posted by Calvin86:The question is why should the local citizens sacrifice 2 years while foreigners do not have to?
If you look around countries that require national service do not have a large foreign work force, so the issue of unfairness does not arise.
Coutries like US which has a large foreign workforce, compensates its local citizens for addtional duties imposed on them.
Can you name a country that impose national service on its citizens, has a large foreign workforce and does not accord its citizens addtional benefits?
Morever Singapore has a short history and its roots are weak. We are a merchant city, and like traders, we move to the place that has most benefits.
Germany is a welfare state, so the Germans get better benefits that the foreigners.Originally posted by Fatum:many European countries, e.g. Germany, still impose National service, and they also have a large population of guest workers from last time (turkish, middle eastern guest workers)
if the task of defending what yourself and your loved ones and assets is just a job to you, like you implied, since you're weighting off the benefits and trade-offs here ... it brings us to my same old question, what if you migrate to another country, wouldn't you be, just like you said, be another leacher off that country, that society ? ... ... since I reckon, your roots are weak in that country ? ... and you probably wouldn't fight for them ?Yes the same problem would arise, that is why a country should never depend on foreigners to defend its country.
Those with food are normally those in the army who are given rations. These rations can barter trade for other things like rice or medicine that can help your familyOriginally posted by siaokao:Wah.. you stay becoz of food?? Like dat.. no difference from annimals leh..![]()
I reckon most countries are artificially created, no ? ... including the United States ... luckily for them, the "global economy" wasn't quite fashionable when she was born, that's why the young united states still have citizens willing to sacrifice themselves fighting for her during her formation years ... so how old do you reckon a country should be before it's worth fighting for ? ....Originally posted by Calvin86:Germany is a welfare state, so the Germans get better benefits that the foreigners.
In this global economy, the value of citizenship has gone down. Countries without historical roots like Singapore will be the most prone to the devaluation of the citizneship.
Because we are a young nation, an artificially created society, i do not feel any emotional attachment for the country. Bear in mind emotions, loyalty is an irrational response, something not within your control. There are many countries in the world where the citizens will fight for their country even if they are paid ten cents, but Singapore i doubt is one of those countries.
US was formed in a different context. The tyranny of the British Crown drove them to the revolution. US was a haven for religious freedom, its was an ideal that they were fighting for.Many immigrants were religiously persecuted back home in Europe, and the aristocrats have unfair priviledges. America was founded on the the princple - all men are equal. The Americans were fighting against the tyranny of their time. What are the Singaporeans of this generation fighting for today?Originally posted by Fatum:I reckon most countries are artificially created, no ? ... including the United States ... luckily for them, the "global economy" wasn't quite fashionable when she was born, that's why the young united states still have citizens willing to sacrifice themselves fighting for her during her formation years ... so how old do you reckon a country should be before it's worth fighting for ? ....
Fighting for jobs, fighting for gf and bf, fighting for more space, fighting for more money, fighting for more transparency, fighting for human rights, fighting for more welfare?Originally posted by Calvin86:US was formed in a different context. The tyranny of the British Crown drove them to the revolution. US was a haven for religious freedom, its was an ideal that they were fighting for.Many immigrants were persecuted back home in Europe, and the aristocrats have unfair priviledges. America was founded on the the princple - all men are equal. The Americans were fighting against the tyranny of their time. What are the Singaporeans of this generation fighting for today?
what are the americans of today fighting for then ? ...Originally posted by Calvin86:US was formed in a different context. The tyranny of the British Crown drove the to the revolution. US was a haven for religious freedom, its was an ideal that they were fighting for. It had nothing to do with age of the country. The Americans were fighting against the tyranny. What are the Singaporeans of this generation fighting for today?
of course ! ... if Singaporeans (that means you too) don't defend Singapore, who will ? ...Originally posted by Calvin86:Yes the same problem would arise, that is why a country should never depend on foreigners to defend its country.
I wont defend Singapore,(if i can flee in time) if the govt decide to open the floodgates but give local citizens simlar priviledges as foreigners.Originally posted by Fatum:of course ! ... if Singaporeans (that means you too) don't defend Singapore, who will ? ...
funny ... I'd think it's the other way around ... seems to me that younger nations have more people willing to shed blood for them ... e.g Eritrea, East Timor ....Originally posted by Calvin86:The americans have already developed their own culture and national identity so there is no problem. Singapore on the other hand has a weak identity, coupled with globalization, cannot instill loyalty in its people unlike the americans.
If Singapore plans to increase the foreigners in Singapore, i think the govt should seriously consider a larger paid local regular force.
Although i dont know much about these new countries, i believe they are united by religion or fighting against some form of tyranny. My original question still stands - What are Singaporeans fighting for that unites them? If there is none there must a developed national identity and values to hold us together like Americans but we have none.Originally posted by Fatum:funny ... I'd think it's the other way around ... seems to me that younger nations have more people willing to shed blood for them ... e.g Eritrea, East Timor ....
Let's put it this way:Originally posted by SilverPal:The burden of citizenship is fighting and dying for your country, but is there an advantage of citizenship? Isn't it very stupid to continue to sarcrifice time, money, effort and your entire life in service to an uncaring pap corporation?
hmmmm ... now I'm really confused ...Originally posted by Calvin86:Although i dont know much about these new countries, i believe they are united by religion or fighting against some form of tyranny. My original question still stands - What are Singaporeans fighting for that unites them? If there is none there must a developed national identity and values to hold us together like Americans but we have none.
my main issue is still benefits and priviledges. Yes, every country expects the same burden of citizenship from her citizens. Germany gives welfare, US gives money for Army Reserves. Taiwanese and Koreans are protected from foreign floodgate.Originally posted by Fatum:of course, if you like, or are able to, you can jabot somewhere else with all your assets, and all your loved ones (though i'd imagine shipping out all your friends and relatives would be a difficult task) and go somewhere else to live, which brings me back to my previous point; every country expects the same burden of citizenship from her citizens, and being an FT/migrant/refugee elsewhere would simply put you in the same position as the FT/migrant/bangla/maid/job-snatcher you've described here in Singapore too, won't it ? ...
it's pretty sad that after so many years in sg...Originally posted by Calvin86:Although i dont know much about these new countries, i believe they are united by religion or fighting against some form of tyranny. My original question still stands - What are Singaporeans fighting for that unites them? If there is none there must a developed national identity and values to hold us together like Americans but we have none.
What is singapore to you? if you don't own any assets, do you treasure your way of singaporean life? if you have nothing, I don't expect you to fight for my assets!Originally posted by Calvin86:Would you fight for Singapore if the Singapore Govt decides to increase to the population to 6-7 million?
I wouldnt stake my life for a place where there is little difference between foreigners and locals. Singapore is one of the few uniques places where it has a large foreign workforce and yet relies on a reservist army from citizens to defend it.
If the population increases to 6-7 million in future, i am not ashamed to say i would flee Singapore in times of war. Why should i defend the assets of foreigners?
http://www.singapore-window.org/sw06/060226st.htm