Ya.. the culture in Singapore is like that in a factory. 18 go NS. 20 Uni. 24 Work.Originally posted by HENG@:now this is an oxymoron.
its not education. its crude mass production, its brainwashing, its impersonal cloning, its a lot of other things but its not education and its benefits are highly doubtful. Benefits for the individual being top priority or benefits for the individuals within being top priority.![]()
Being a Spore citizen never meant the citizen had to fully agree with every policies of the govt.Originally posted by sgdiehard:fully agree,![]()
So u are saying u are willing to fight for singapore? Hmm strange......Originally posted by sanitywong:We people from JB will be happy and willing to fight for it because we are given the jobs and able to feed our population on our side... and we are happy about our remittances to our home too..
That is just your opinion. Ask the many foreign students who come here for their education...Originally posted by HENG@:now this is an oxymoron.
its not education. its crude mass production, its brainwashing, its impersonal cloning, its a lot of other things but its not education and its benefits are highly doubtful. Benefits for the individual being top priority or benefits for the individuals within being top priority.![]()
I agreed to what LL said, copied here for your easy ref, "I feel the earth moving, preparing for another debate of Titanic proportions.Originally posted by will4:Being a Spore citizen never meant the citizen had to fully agree with every policies of the govt.
It has been like this n for guy to get work soon cause they felt they wasted their time serving in NS so they need to work to earn back money.Originally posted by lwflee:Ya.. the culture in Singapore is like that in a factory. 18 go NS. 20 Uni. 24 Work.
Anyone who wants to do otherwise, like say go backpacking for a year is labelled a bum.
Bloody hell. Why are these people so eager to work and get a mortgage? They have the rest of their lives to work. Life expectancy is now around 75 - 80. So there are decades of work left for the keen.
Because Singaporeans want the 6 Cs, the nice car and the yearly holiday to Europe...they want a comfortable lifestyle and so they have to work for it and many are willing to do so...Originally posted by lwflee:Ya.. the culture in Singapore is like that in a factory. 18 go NS. 20 Uni. 24 Work.
Anyone who wants to do otherwise, like say go backpacking for a year is labelled a bum.
Bloody hell. Why are these people so eager to work and get a mortgage? They have the rest of their lives to work. Life expectancy is now around 75 - 80. So there are decades of work left for the keen.
Spore is a conformist society more or less. If a person need to work so hard in order to get the 6 C which is for the time being except condominium in orderOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:Because Singaporeans want the 6 Cs, the nice car and the yearly holiday to Europe...they want a comfortable lifestyle and so they have to work for it and many are willing to do so...
If you are satisfied with a rented 3-room flat, take SBS and MRT and earn just above 1k a month, that's your choice. It's true that many girls may label you a bum but you won't be interested in them either...or would you???
Wah .. I'm being quoted again.Originally posted by sgdiehard:I agreed to what LL said, copied here for your easy ref, "I feel the earth moving, preparing for another debate of Titanic proportions.
If you want to leave, leave.
If you want to stay, stay and don't complain. "
Since when is LL's statement a policy of the govt??
Since when a singapore citizen cannot fully agree with somebody else?
you obviously have no idea what you are talking about.![]()
Labelled a bum by the ignorant.Originally posted by lwflee:Ya.. the culture in Singapore is like that in a factory. 18 go NS. 20 Uni. 24 Work.
oh well. the best way to compare this is like this:Originally posted by lwflee:Ya.. the culture in Singapore is like that in a factory. 18 go NS. 20 Uni. 24 Work.
and have a fighting chance against the fox...IEDsOriginally posted by HENG@:oh well. the best way to compare this is like this:
Singaporeans are like domestic fowls kept in a farm factory. They're protected from foxes but in return their entire life just goes towards being used for someone else's gain.
I would rather go out and live in the wild and face the fox. At least I am free and I can live for myself.
u compare what? people whose countries have an even worse system, and who are fooled into thinking singapore is a shining example of a democracy ah? please leh.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:That is just your opinion. Ask the many foreign students who come here for their education...
Call it what you will, but the fact that Singaporeans have found jobs in all parts of the world is testimony to its success. Not too long ago, one of the dons in Oxford University said that he would prefer to take a student from Singapore than some of the local British students from state schools because the Singaporean has a record of doing better..
Originally posted by lwflee:
Ya.. the culture in Singapore is like that in a factory. 18 go NS. 20 Uni. 24 Work.
[b]NS compulsory by law unless handicap.
Uni can don't go if your parent don't mind...unlikely right..
Work can don't do if parent can affort to feed you to death...[/b]
[b]If you have the financial capability, no one can stop. Parent don't mind and got no expectation by all means.
Parent loaded, can don't work or work later.
House no cheap, work aim't easy to find.
Older with not working experiences difficult to find job later.
Worklife is unpredicable these days, can retrench, pay cut, contract, jobless.. don't say too early.
No comments on the 75-80 still working, hope you still can have happy working, I go fishing...![]()
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Because Singaporeans want the 6 Cs, the nice car and the yearly holiday to Europe...they want a comfortable lifestyle and so they have to work for it and many are willing to do so...
If you are satisfied with a rented 3-room flat, take SBS and MRT and earn just above 1k a month, that's your choice. It's true that many girls may label you a bum but you won't be interested in them either...or would you???
I think to find work in Spore is not a problem but the ideal work. People left cause cannot get the ideal work. I agreed on the rest.Originally posted by king108:
Originally posted by will4:I think to find work in Spore is not a problem but the ideal work. People left cause cannot get the ideal work. I agreed on the rest.
I told u already, u wanna go n ask, then i want an answer. So how come so long no answer? I called yr bluff, so how? No guts to go and actually do what u said u are going to do right?What makes you think there was no answer? Why do you think the new law on NS dodgers was revised so soon?
got answer u never tell me meh? and it wasn't on NS dodgers mind u. U trying to smoke your way out?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:What makes you think there was no answer? Why do you think the new law on NS dodgers was revised so soon?![]()
But get back to the topic...save your flaming somewhere else
And when they do succeed outside sg, can sg please stop trying to claim credit. If so full of nationalistic pride, dun become begging dogs when people get glory outside. Its shameful.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:As for thise who would rather emigrate, there is nothing to stop them from leaving, provided others want them. In fact, if they cannot succeed in Singapore, it might be better for the country that they leave and not contribute to the social problems at home.
Yeah, like their HDB flats, CPF money held hostage by the gabrahment etc. I must say the men in white really know their stuff.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:People will fight if they have something worthwhile in Singapore to defend.
those glorified chicken farmers ah?Originally posted by av98m:Yeah, like their HDB flats, CPF money held hostage by the gabrahment etc. I must say the men in white really know their stuff.![]()