Originally posted by 105090:There may be field where it is new or cold that no singaporean wanted to go for PHD. If you say singapore got no PHD, I think it is not right.
Hello people.
..at a institute/ in the life science sector..
here, in this lab, i estimate theres 50 workers in this particular lab. [b]48 are foreigners. out of the 48, at least 35 are from China, usually Shanghai. with the rest a mixed incluiding, india, ang moh, malaysia etc. all are on contract, fortunately.
the 2 singaporeans are on scholaship bond or temporary status.
i asked why the large number of foreigners. its because singapore has too little PhD holders, so bo pian, hire foreign people. when SGP got enough PhD ppl, the foreingers may get out.
still, this is still a sign of job competition, some more this sector is a very high-paying job
In the first place, why should they be given grants.Originally posted by gill_hfc:Still I do not see why foreign students should be entitled to 80% or more grants on their total tuition fees payable. Why cant foreifn students be entitled to only 50% or 60% grants? Does it not occur to the government that the couple of thousands more collected from each student would go towards education investments for its own citizens. Why should students at universities pay higher fees each year when the government is handing out huge subsidies to foreign students who come here to study? It doesnt make sense to me. Do we the citizens come first or foreigners who use our system to improve themselves?
I was saying all these without whatever expenses. Just purely school fees. Which is around there.Originally posted by king108:![]()
I had never realised that newton's law not working here. "What ever go up must come down li"
Unless due to losses, such as parent's support. else I don't think so easy to settle oversea. No just 40K, for your information. It's 100K cash not CPF.
"God know, I don't know, You don't know and he know"![]()
LOL, wrong.Originally posted by gill_hfc:If we are handing out $millions in grants to all foreigners who study here, how do we justify increasing university fees for our local student population? we are giving cash to foreigners while local students have to bear the brunt of higher fees. It doesnt make sense to me! something is wrong here.![]()
Originally posted by 105090:Even Singaporeans aren't interested in our life sciences sector. They are staying because of the bond.
Hello people.
..at a institute/ in the life science sector..
here, in this lab, i estimate theres 50 workers in this particular lab. [b]48 are foreigners. out of the 48, at least 35 are from China, usually Shanghai. with the rest a mixed incluiding, india, ang moh, malaysia etc. all are on contract, fortunately.
the 2 singaporeans are on scholaship bond or temporary status.
i asked why the large number of foreigners. its because singapore has too little PhD holders, so bo pian, hire foreign people. when SGP got enough PhD ppl, the foreingers may get out.
still, this is still a sign of job competition, some more this sector is a very high-paying job
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:LOL, wrong.
When fees increase, they get the brunt too. You think they will still pay 6k when our fees are going up to 8k? No way man. All go up. In Singapore, law of gravity doesn't work or rather, our lifestyle isn't like the stock exchange.
Originally posted by 105090:yeah. singaporeans, my angmoh supervisor said, dont want work in life science. need a post-doctoral, work for 10 years, salary only like $8000 to $10,000. some more lifescience people all no outside life one le. who to blame?
now got the A*star thing, but i see also cant do much, except waste $
Many doctors who work for 10 years also get between 8k to 10k what...and they have a bigger study loan to repay..Originally posted by 105090:yeah. singaporeans, my angmoh supervisor said, dont want work in life science. need a post-doctoral, work for 10 years, salary only like $8000 to $10,000. some more lifescience people all no outside life one le. who to blame?
now got the A*star thing, but i see also cant do much, except waste $
Maybe next time, the foreign students will make up the whole of the student population in the Sg universities.Originally posted by headset:I'm from a Local uni (NUS). Im doing an engineering course. In my first year i was taken aback by the number of forigners enrolled in my course. Its baffles me. I had the impressions that most of our students were simply unable to enter local universities because of the lack of sets and as such have been forced to leave the country to pursue their tertiary education.
There certainly isnt a lack of seats. The problem is, that the govt and the universities seem to had out a large portion of these seats to forigners. Ill be the first to admit that these forigners are accedimically very talented. However, National universities should stay true to their core function, to educate its population. With one less singaporean in a local university, goes one less singaporean's right to a tuition grant.
The goverment seems to have no qualms handing out scholarships and tuirion grants to forigners. What then is the privilage of being singaporean? Now with fee hikes, and reduction of tuition grants, i cant help but wonder, if we stopped handing out free rides, would there be a need to strain the locals' pockets.
cause we foreigners aer smarter than u locals. as a foreigner myself, i've been among tops in all the schools i've studied for. now in poly i'm also among the top students. and i gotten the best record for a module for the whole year when i was year 1. and most of the time, other top students i've seen are also foreigners, mostly from china. the reason is that they are more mature in terms of thinking. since they are away from their homeland, they have to grow up, and be responsible for their future. tt's y they noe they hav to study hard. unlike many locals, they take everything for granted. tt's y foreign talent is impt for singapore.Originally posted by gill_hfc:While undergoing enrolment for a Part Time course at the Singapore Polytechnic, I was surprised to learn through the Poly's enrolment guidebook, that foreign students studying at the Polytechnic were entitled to tuition grants of $9,850 annualy for 3 years (almost $30,000!). The foreign students annual tuition fees was only $2,260per year if they took up the tuition grants from the Ministry of Education. In order for foreigners to receive Tuition Grants at the Poly, the governments only condition is that foreign students had to work in Singapore upon graduation for a period of 3 years.
I dont recall governments in Australia, England and America handing out tuition grants to foreign students who came to study at their universities from Singapore.
Are these Tuition Grants to foreign students being handed out at the expense of local students in terms of higher fees being paid by our students at tertiary levels? Why are we being so generous in subsidising heavily foreign students at the Polytechnics? On the other hand for my Part Time course at the Poly; I being a Singapore Citizen, have to pay my tuition fees fully up front. I'm not even entitiled to any loans or grants.So on what grounds are these foreign students entitiled to all the taxpayers money?
I fail to understand how the government is providing such huge subsidies to foreign students studying here when the local students have to raise money through loans to pay for their tuition fees.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If we are handing out $millions in grants to all foreigners who study here, how do we justify increasing university fees for our local student population? we are giving cash to foreigners while local students have to bear the brunt of higher fees. It doesnt make sense to me! something is wrong here.
Woo hoo.Originally posted by thisismyaccount:cause we foreigners aer smarter than u locals. as a foreigner myself, i've been among tops in all the schools i've studied for. now in poly i'm also among the top students. and i gotten the best record for a module for the whole year when i was year 1. and most of the time, other top students i've seen are also foreigners, mostly from china. the reason is that they are more mature in terms of thinking. since they are away from their homeland, they have to grow up, and be responsible for their future. tt's y they noe they hav to study hard. unlike many locals, they take everything for granted. tt's y foreign talent is impt for singapore.
P.S. in the recent don noe wat world games, singapore gotten some gold and first place, in which singapore is so happy about, those who won the games are foreigners from china. they are only the PRs. wat do the local hav to offer back to the government?? anyway, i don understand y sg is so happy that china ppl won the games on their behalf??
Originally posted by thisismyaccount:cause we foreigners aer smarter than u locals. as a foreigner myself, i've been among tops in all the schools i've studied for. now in poly i'm also among the top students. and i gotten the best record for a module for the whole year when i was year 1. and most of the time, other top students i've seen are also foreigners, mostly from china. the reason is that they are more mature in terms of thinking. since they are away from their homeland, they have to grow up, and be responsible for their future. tt's y they noe they hav to study hard. unlike many locals, they take everything for granted. tt's y foreign talent is impt for singapore.
P.S. in the recent don noe wat world games, singapore gotten some gold and first place, in which singapore is so happy about, those who won the games are foreigners from china. they are only the PRs. wat do the local hav to offer back to the government?? anyway, i don understand y sg is so happy that china ppl won the games on their behalf??
Originally posted by king108:And the flaming begins.
[b]Forgive me for pouring cold water, but must really wake you up. If you are so smart. Go for scholarship, not grant..(name yourself talent - pleasessss)
[b]Real talents, everyone will offer you scholar. Taking grant...very normal only.. What there to be smart. I seen 17 singaporeans out 18 1st class and 1 angmo during my uni oversea![]()
Angmo only put singaporean in their eyes more then other nationalist, when come to results.![]()
Originally posted by king108:since when did i mention angmo?? i'm refering to the general foreigners.
[b]Forgive me for pouring cold water, but must really wake you up. If you are so smart. Go for scholarship, not grant..(name yourself talent - pleasessss)
[b]Real talents, everyone will offer you scholar. Taking grant...very normal only.. What there to be smart. I seen 17 singaporeans out 18 1st class and 1 angmo during my uni oversea![]()
Angmo only put singaporean in their eyes more then other nationalist, when come to results.![]()
Wtf are general foreigners?Originally posted by thisismyaccount:since when did i mention angmo?? i'm refering to the general foreigners.
anyway for ur last point if sub the word angmo with foreigner which makes it 'foreigners only put singaporean in their eyes more when comes to results', can u explain to mi y singapore so happy when the china ppl won those games?? when none of the locals are in those games??
hMz...top in your studies? What a pity Harvard, Imperial College or MIT didn't offer u any scholarship......Originally posted by thisismyaccount:cause we foreigners aer smarter than u locals. as a foreigner myself, i've been among tops in all the schools i've studied for. now in poly i'm also among the top students. and i gotten the best record for a module for the whole year when i was year 1. and most of the time, other top students i've seen are also foreigners, mostly from china. the reason is that they are more mature in terms of thinking. since they are away from their homeland, they have to grow up, and be responsible for their future. tt's y they noe they hav to study hard. unlike many locals, they take everything for granted. tt's y foreign talent is impt for singapore.
If you are talking about games, I can't doubt chinese. Because chinese know how to play more than singaporean.Originally posted by thisismyaccount:since when did i mention angmo?? i'm refering to the general foreigners.
anyway for ur last point if sub the word angmo with foreigner which makes it 'foreigners only put singaporean in their eyes more when comes to results', can u explain to mi y singapore so happy when the china ppl won those games?? when none of the locals are in those games??
ouch.Originally posted by king108:If you are talking about games, I can't doubt chinese. Because chinese know how to play more than singaporean.![]()
Think about the actual chinese population, before coming to me on sports or game. In china, why people aimed to be premier sportmans. Good money and well treated after successful winning. (How many lefted behind handicapped never mention or become trainer)
One fast way to get rich and fame for sportmans for those not so well do. Singaporeans are more concentrated on making living for luxury lifestyle, hence not so much on sports. (Can't gamble, if cannot success, eat stone. Unlike your case, cannot success, back home may still got house and maid waiting to serve)
Don't bully us because you can run faster or know to play ball better. That is because we don't want our kids to learn from school only running and play ball only.
By the way, if you are so good in sport, should go America, or even stayed in China..better prospect there. Unless they don't required your talent.![]()
Well, in another thread, he was complaining non stop about his poly attachment.Originally posted by king108:If you are talking about games, I can't doubt chinese. Because chinese know how to play more than singaporean.![]()
Think about the actual chinese population, before coming to me on sports or game. In china, why people aimed to be premier sportmans. Good money and well treated after successful winning. (How many lefted behind handicapped never mention or become trainer)
One fast way to get rich and fame for sportmans for those not so well do. Singaporeans are more concentrated on making living for luxury lifestyle, hence not so much on sports. (Can't gamble, if cannot success, eat stone. Unlike your case, cannot success, back home may still got house and maid waiting to serve)
Don't bully us because you can run faster or know to play ball better. That is because we don't want our kids to learn from school only running and play ball only.
By the way, if you are so good in sport, should go America, or even stayed in China..better prospect there. Unless they don't required your talent.![]()
Foreigners not from the south east asian region.Originally posted by charlize:Wtf are general foreigners?
I am very straight type, intelligence may have been abused by some. But I only tried to lay down all I know for you guys out there to review. I may be a bit Kidpo, but it's good for singaporean to know things that may not be know to others. Can be easiler cheated by ill intentioned preacher.Originally posted by charlize:Well, in another thread, he was complaining non stop about his poly attachment.
Seems like all he did was surf the net and chat with his girlfriend while on attachment.
wao, u noe so much abt me. seems like u hav nth better to do other than surf the net too.Originally posted by charlize:Well, in another thread, he was complaining non stop about his poly attachment.
Seems like all he did was surf the net and chat with his girlfriend while on attachment.