Read in a newspaper that China got too many talents, only the best are selected. The rest become "traitors", play for other countries like us.Originally posted by king108:If you are talking about games, I can't doubt chinese. Because chinese know how to play more than singaporean.![]()
Think about the actual chinese population, before coming to me on sports or game. In china, why people aimed to be premier sportmans. Good money and well treated after successful winning. (How many lefted behind handicapped never mention or become trainer)
One fast way to get rich and fame for sportmans for those not so well do. Singaporeans are more concentrated on making living for luxury lifestyle, hence not so much on sports. (Can't gamble, if cannot success, eat stone. Unlike your case, cannot success, back home may still got house and maid waiting to serve)
Don't bully us because you can run faster or know to play ball better. That is because we don't want our kids to learn from school only running and play ball only.
By the way, if you are so good in sport, should go America, or even stayed in China..better prospect there. Unless they don't required your talent.![]()
before you label them as "traitors" .... think about this:Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Read in a newspaper that China got too many talents, only the best are selected. The rest become "traitors", play for other countries like us.![]()
If they are so good, go for the top. Don't compete with us. Harvard, Cambridge, Oxford, Ivy League, you name it, they have it.Originally posted by thisismyaccount:yes, the point i'm saying is tt foreigner is better than local, so there is a need to subsidise to attract the foreigners to come to singapore.
yeah. thinking of it get alot of locals really boil up. one of the excuse is increasing of tuition fee do that these fee can be use for students going for GIP, URECA, double Majors, which represent a minority. UNFAIR!Originally posted by dreameryb:I am not in poly so I may not be making the accurate comments regarding the grants. But I heard that the government is subsidizing the tuition fees only to the extent that foreign students can pay such fees on the local rate. It's not like they are given free education and a monthly stipend , which by the way is indeed the case in NUS and NTU. Hope that does not disturb you too much though. Keep complaining, my dear...
I don't mean by the definition of traitors. In a way, they are being forced out of their country because there's simply more demand than supply. I saw this article somewhere also, and it's really bad. But I really don't mean traitors....Originally posted by Fatum:before you label them as "traitors" .... think about this:
a chinese chap showed me an article today on the net from a chinese newspaper; Chinese universities are graduating ~24million fresh grads this year .... but the economy has only a projected 2-4 million jobs for the whole army of them .....
how then ? .... and some people think they are having it bad ? ....
Man, this is the work of a top student.Originally posted by thisismyaccount:not i don wan to complete lo, is i don hav the wat thing edu-save or watever it calls, so i've nv granted any scholarship, despite many ppl around me hav poorer results but jus gotten the scholarship.
u see.
nothing wrong wif him. naturally most top students possess arrogance behaviour. wat's wrong wif u? u r behaving like a jealous freak.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Man, this is the work of a top student.![]()
if our government starts equating us to foreigners then as singaporeans we have come to a sad stage. what exactly then is the role of our government towards our own people? how could foreigners be paying school fees in line with the locals? thats ridiculous! i just fail to see any other governement out there who has a similarly ridiculous policy towards its local student populationOriginally posted by dreameryb:I am not in poly so I may not be making the accurate comments regarding the grants. But I heard that the government is subsidizing the tuition fees only to the extent that foreign students can pay such fees on the local rate. It's not like they are given free education and a monthly stipend , which by the way is indeed the case in NUS and NTU. Hope that does not disturb you too much though. Keep complaining, my dear...
it is bad ..... and it gives me nightmares ... cos that means you and I will be competing directly or indirectly against this talent "ocean" ....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I don't mean by the definition of traitors. In a way, they are being forced out of their country because there's simply more demand than supply. I saw this article somewhere also, and it's really bad. But I really don't mean traitors....
Originally posted by 798:if u think of foreign students having to serve 3 years bond to work in sg, it's quite tough for them.
Originally posted by 798:nothing wrong wif him. naturally most top students possess arrogance behaviour. wat's wrong wif u? u r behaving like a jealous freak.![]()
Didn't they justify the increasing university fees as "a global phenomenon"?Originally posted by gill_hfc:If we are handing out $millions in grants to all foreigners who study here, how do we justify increasing university fees for our local student population? we are giving cash to foreigners while local students have to bear the brunt of higher fees. It doesnt make sense to me! something is wrong here.![]()
I agreed cause they can withdraw CPF when they decided to go back to their country.Originally posted by king108:![]()
Sorry, first we didn't hold a gun pointing at them to come in the first place.
Secondly, come under scholarship, we welcome. Coming here, seeking grants..regret to say sorry.
Working 3 years are paid with Salaries and CPF, not free of charge. While your kids are struggling to find a decent jobs. No way!!! Go back still withdrawn CPF.
Tough on them, tougher on us....sighed.
Wanted to be generous to agree with your view, but can't bear to see fellow singaporeans suffering. Hence, it's no and truely no.
Tell me "why you so like, why you so like that hal, why you so like that", we got no other choices.
No offence.
Unfortunately, the amounts will make them to stay...sighed..Originally posted by will4:I agreed cause they can withdraw CPF when they decided to go back to their country.
I fely if they have trouble liking Spore, unlikely they can tahan to work here.
Ur opinion?
I happened to met one of ex camp mate just now over a cup of coffee..Originally posted by king108:Unfortunately, the amounts will make them to stay...sighed..![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:before you label them as "traitors" .... think about this:
a chinese chap showed me an article today on the net from a chinese newspaper; Chinese universities are graduating ~24million fresh grads this year .... but the economy has only a projected 2-4 million jobs for the whole army of them .....
how then ? .... and some people think they are having it bad ? ....
What kind of grant given to them? I happned to be in a lift one day with a group of local student n it happned the lift stopped. There is this Chinese national lecturerOriginally posted by king108:I happened to met one of ex camp mate just now over a cup of coffee..
He just realised that grants are given to foreigner.......getting mad...poor fellows..![]()
Eduation..Originally posted by will4:What kind of grant given to them? I happned to be in a lift one day with a group of local student n it happned the lift stopped. There is this Chinese national lecturer
came in together with his fren. I not sure what nationality is his fren but the
lecurer started to critized local man loudly saying like the local men here no manner knowing people entering the lift still refused to make room for person entering. He further added on luckily here got NS to teach these local men basic manner or else the manner could be more jialt.![]()
Originally posted by vito_corleone:i know prc students who are more well behaved than local students and way way more civillised than your average taiwanese pop influenced local teen.![]()
I also heard similar story from my fren during her poly days, there is a Chinese national lecturer n the lecturer said one thing if he had a choice, he rather not comeOriginally posted by equlus84:I have some experience with PRC students. There is a fren of mine from PRC stating that our govt provide them not onli tution fee for the 4 yrs in the Uni, but also 500 dollars a month living expenses, a free laptop each and free confirmed space in the Halls.......No wonder they were smiling all the way! That make me thing of this, why are our govt funding these guys to come here in THRONGS when there is no guarantee they will stay on? Would'nt it be better to give more chances to locals? In fact, that China fren of mine claims that he won't imagine that there is such 'carrot heads' like our govt, willing to let them be the "cuckoo" in the rich "Singapore nest". To make matter worse, NTU, NUS fees are going to increase 6000+ soon, despite heavy protest.
My experience with PRCs is ur contrary to the one stated above. They are not as "civilised" and "courteous" as the Lecturer in the above thread fantasize. Most of them are pretty in considerate, like for example, there was this PRC guy that always like to sing loudly his dialect song when near or in the hall. In fact, I once could even hear him sing 150+m away as he walked towards the hall. Ironically, many PRCs refuse to assimilate into the local culture, instead, they expect the local to follow their way and hope to turn here into a mini "China-pore". Once during chem tutorial, one PRC scholar actually swagger into the room despite being 40mins late. After a while he interrupted the tutor rudely and exclaimed "Sir, I think the way you locals pronounced the CH3. group is wrong. It is pronounced as 'methyl' as I learn it in China that way. I know you all Singaporeans learn English since very young but your people pronounciation is very poor, thus you should stick to my way." WAH LAU!!!!! Someone didn't tell him his way of saying is the American way, we learn the British pronounciation.
I once discuss project with a bunch of PRC ppls over MSN. Despite knowing that I am in the group chat, one of them arrogantly used strong words to critize me, despite others telling her that she is being veri vulgar.
I can jolly well imagine next time these PRCs who become Singapore citizens will be the ones voting out the incumbent party in elections because they have got nothing to lose. If they are not happy with the government, they vote against them in elections. If that cannot be done, they just pack up their bags, renounce their sg citizenship and go back home to China. No big deal for them.Originally posted by will4:I also heard similar story from my fren during her poly days, there is a Chinese national lecturer n the lecturer said one thing if he had a choice, he rather not come
here n another lecture, he openly critized local for blindly learning from the book instead of being able to apply.