I can think is with mostly local singaporean will be Toa Payoh (now mixed), Patong Pasir, Changi - "Did I strike?"Originally posted by Manager433:Can someone name a a housing estate whereby the flats are more than 35 yrs old.
I nearly wanted to crack a joke..after seeing that particular message written. But conscientiously, with due reespect, I reserved.Originally posted by LinYu:Can someone tell me what the fu*k is he trying to say? Has the man gone senile?
Let it collapse.Originally posted by charlize:This tactic is starting to piss Singaporeans off.
I am sure even some PAP members are against using this as an election tactic but what to do?
Have to tow the party line.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:
It is still a political issue cos' it does work...Your property is your most valuable asset and money always counts in Singapore. Would anyone wish to buy a resale flat from from Potong Pasir unless the selling price is way below the market value? Without upgrading, your investment will only depreciate in value..
not true, appreciating property prices would only make singapore a more expensive place to live in. upgrading for the sake of jacking up property prices is not healthy.
The government's policy is not fair but why should residents in Potong Pasir continue to suffer for choosing the Opposition? Those who want to keep Opposition MPs in Parliament should help defray the costs of upgrading for flats in Opposition wards. Unless you are prepared to put your money where your mouth is, we will have fewer, not more Opposition Party MPs.
in the first place, the money for upgrading is the nation's money, not PAP's money. hence it should be used for the people's interest, not the PAP's interest. if the people had control over the nation's money, it wouldn't have to be held ransom by any political party. or if it has the ability to make good the threat of tearing down the ruling the party, then the ruling party would not dare use upgrading as a threat for buying votes.
furthermore, upgrading every five years is simply wasteful, before the paint has dried up another fresh coat of paint is applied on it ...
Lots of people are unhappy with some government policies but at the end of the day, it's down to dollars and cents.
but at the end of the day, who foots the dollars and cents? still the people isn't it?
FYI, any flat that is more than 35 years, they will tear it down, who suffer, the ppl suffer becouse they have to shift again and buy new flat, how to pay becouse by that time they are old aiready and jobless no CPF, FYI those above 40, difficult to find job, i think all opposition parties should boycott the election, no point they cant winOriginally posted by Manager433:Can someone name a a housing estate whereby the flats are more than 35 yrs old.
What you expect?Originally posted by LinYu:Can someone tell me what the fu*k is he trying to say? Has the man gone senile?
You are probably too young to understand the concerns of your parents...most Singaporeans have little or no savings apart from their HDB flats. Their only hope of a comfortable retirement is to downsize and live off the profits from selling their flats. If the value of their flats drop, relative to those in PAP-controlled wards, how are they going to retire?Originally posted by snow leopard:not true, appreciating property prices would only make singapore a more expensive place to live in. upgrading for the sake of jacking up property prices is not healthy.
IF more Constituencies follow the Potong Pasir 'thinking' and take on the challenge of the Ruling Political Party, and vote in more Opposition into Parliament - can the Ruling Political Party afford to let more HDB Estates to look like ghettoes, or will they let HDB to manage the Estates as they are allowed to ?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:You are probably too young to understand the concerns of your parents...most Singaporeans have little or no savings apart from their HDB flats. Their only hope of a comfortable retirement is to downsize and live off the profits from selling their flats. If the value of their flats drop, relative to those in PAP-controlled wards, how are they going to retire?
AgreeOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Don't be caught in the trap of a loan for a HDB if you can.Renting it will free up your CPF for future retirement use.
and please do not try to live beyond your means.
The constituents in all Opposition Wards can take up a Test Case against the Government for withholding tax payers' monies to upgrade their estates, and for imposing politics on HDB in their day to day management of HDB estates.Originally posted by gill_hfc:NO big deal! Let the PAP have Potong Pasir and Hougang back if they desperately want to upgrade the estates. In return all we need to do is vote in an entire team of opposition members in a GRC from some other contituency for example maybe Ang Mo Kio GRC
Seriously if the government wants to play ball then the people too can play musical chairs with them.
Has it ever occured to residents of Potong Pasir and Hougand to sue the government collectively in the high courts on the upgrading issue? Tax payers money is being used to pay for upgradings. As citizens of the country residents of Potong pasir and Hougang are entitled to the same benefits as any other residents in any other contituency in the country.![]()
For example, Can you imagine if in the United States all states controlled by Democrats were denied budgets/funding and the cities become derelicts and run down just because the state voted in a Democrat governor against the current President and Congress which is controlled by the Republican Party. Mr Bush and his republican government would be sued left and right by the American people. You can have different parties controlling states BUT it doesnt mean the American people collectively are denid equal benefits for voting in a representative from the opposing party.
To build a democratic societyThe Test Case can be delivered to the World Court for judgment in view of the predominance of the POWER OF ONE in the Singapore environment.
Based on justice and equality
So as to achieve happiness, prosperity & progress for our nation
The problem is not whether HDB is privatised or not. The problem is using government money which is money belonging to the public for private political party ends. Take it anyway you want.Originally posted by Ponders:http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/199982/1/.html
This isn't the first time they are playing this card.
But isn't HDB now a corporatised entity? how has politics foudn its place here?